LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Kiran Millwood Hargrave - Author

About the Author

Featured books by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Other books by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

A Secret of Birds & Bone

A Secret of Birds & Bone

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2020

The perfect Christmas gift: a spellbinding new novel from the Sunday Times-bestselling author of The Girl of Ink & Stars, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. In an Italian city ravaged by plague, Sofia's mother carves beautiful mementoes from the bones of loved ones. But one day, she doesn't return home. Did her work lead her into danger? Sofia and her little brother Ermin are sent to the convent orphanage but soon escape, led by an enigmatic new friend and their pet crow, Corvith. Together they cross the city underground, following clues in bones up to the towers of Siena, where - circled by magpies - the children find the terrible truth ... PRAISE FOR KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE 'She is an outstanding talent' SAMANTHA SHANNON 'The new big gun in children's fiction' TELEGRAPH 'One of the most exciting emerging talents in children's books' OBSERVER

The Deathless Girls

The Deathless Girls

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/03/2020

Gothic, intoxicating, feminist, darkly provoking and deeply romantic - this is the breathtakingly imagined untold story of the brides of Dracula, by bestselling author Kiran Millwood Hargrave in her much-anticipated YA debut. 'A Chilling and breathlessly paced thriller... Feminism, spirituality, legend and desire are beautifully interwoven in this mesmerising tale of independence and resistance' - The Daily Mail They say the thirst of blood is like a madness - they must sate it. Even with their own kin. On the eve of her divining, the day she'll discover her fate, seventeen-year-old Lil and her twin sister Kizzy are captured and enslaved by the cruel Boyar Valcar, taken far away from their beloved traveller community. Forced to work in the harsh and unwelcoming castle kitchens, Lil is comforted when she meets Mira, a fellow slave who she feels drawn to in a way she doesn't understand. But she also learns about the Dragon, a mysterious and terrifying figure of myth and legend who takes girls as gifts. They may not have had their divining day, but the girls will still discover their fate... 'A feminist origin story of sisterhood, fate and survival certain to bewitch teenage readers and beyond' - Observer

The Mercies

The Mercies

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

The Sunday Times Bestseller and BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2020. For readers of Circe and The Handmaid's Tale, Kiran Millwood Hargrave's The Mercies is a story about a love that could prove as dangerous as it is powerful. Winter, 1617. The sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardo is thrown into a reckless storm. A young woman, Maren, watches as the men of the island, out fishing, perish in an instant. Vardo is now a place of women. Eighteen months later, a sinister figure arrives. Summoned from Scotland to take control of a place at the edge of the civilized world, Absalom Cornet knows what he needs to do to bring the women of the island to heel. With him travels his young wife, Ursa. In her new home, and in Maren, Ursa finds something she has never seen before: independent women. But Absalom sees only a place flooded with a terrible evil, one he must root out at all costs . . . 'Beautiful and chilling' - Madeline Miller, author of Circe 'Took my breath away' - Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl with a Pearl Earring

Rollercoaster: KS3, 11-14. The Island at the End of Everything

Rollercoaster: KS3, 11-14. The Island at the End of Everything

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/10/2019

Twelve-year-old Ami lives on Culion Island in the Philippines, the world's largest leper colony, with her mother who is 'touched'. The arrival of Mr Zamora, a sinister government official, brings the life-changing decree that all healthy children must leave the island and move to an orphanage. Banished across the sea, can Ami find her way home before her mother dies? With themes of prejudice, difference, segregation, family, friendship and loss, this stunning novel provides plenty of opportunies for classroom discussion and will grip 11-14 students.

The Way Past Winter

The Way Past Winter

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

From the bestselling author of THE GIRL OF INK & STARS comes a paperback edition of this gorgeous wintry folk tale for young and old alike - an exciting adventure to the frozen north, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman. 'This gorgeous story of bravery, sisterhood, goodbyes and beginnings is a must for everyone.' JESSIE BURTON 'The Way Past Winter is a masterclass in exquisite storytelling.' CATHERINE DOYLE 'Gorgeous, heartfelt and incredibly exciting. Her best yet, and that's saying something.' ROBIN STEVENS Mila and her sisters live with their brother Oskar in a small forest cabin in the snow. One night, a fur-clad stranger arrives seeking shelter for himself and his men. But by the next morning, they've gone - taking Oskar with them. Fearful for his safety, Mila and her sisters set out to bring Oskar back - even it means going north, crossing frozen wild-lands to find a way past an eternal winter.

The Deathless Girls

The Deathless Girls

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2019

Perfect gift for Christmas with beautiful foiled cover. Gothic, intoxicating, feminist and romantic - this is the breathtakingly imagined untold story of the brides of Dracula, by bestselling author Kiran Millwood Hargrave in her much-anticipated YA debut. They say the thirst of blood is like a madness - they must sate it. Even with their own kin. On the eve of her divining, the day she'll discover her fate, seventeen-year-old Lil and her twin sister Kizzy are captured and enslaved by the cruel Boyar Valcar, taken far away from their beloved traveller community. Forced to work in the harsh and unwelcoming castle kitchens, Lil is comforted when she meets Mira, a fellow slave who she feels drawn to in a way she doesn't understand. But she also learns about the Dragon, a mysterious and terrifying figure of myth and legend who takes girls as gifts. They may not have had their divining day, but the girls will still discover their fate...

The Way Past Winter

The Way Past Winter

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/10/2018

From the bestselling author of THE GIRL OF INK & STARS comes a gorgeous wintry folk tale for young and old alike - an exciting adventure to the frozen north, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman. 'This gorgeous story of bravery, sisterhood, goodbyes and beginnings is a must for everyone.' JESSIE BURTON 'The Way Past Winter is a masterclass in exquisite storytelling.' CATHERINE DOYLE 'Gorgeous, heartfelt and incredibly exciting. Her best yet, and that's saying something.' ROBIN STEVENS Mila and her sisters live with their brother Oskar in a small forest cabin in the snow. One night, a fur-clad stranger arrives seeking shelter for himself and his men. But by the next morning, they've gone - taking Oskar with them. Fearful for his safety, Mila and her sisters set out to bring Oskar back - even it means going north, crossing frozen wild-lands to find a way past an eternal winter.

La chica de tinta y estrellas

La chica de tinta y estrellas

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: eBook Release Date: 31/05/2018

Un maravilloso viaje a un mundo de fantasia, magia y grandes aventuras La joven Isabella suena con escapar a las tierras lejanas que su padre, un celebre cartografo, dibujo en mapas, pero no puede porque el Gobernador Adori oprime a todos los habitantes de la isla de Joya. Cuando su mejor amiga desaparece, se presenta como voluntaria para participar en la busqueda. El mundo que queda mas alla de su pueblo es una tierra baldia habitada por monstruos, y bajo los rios secos y las montanas humeantes, un demonio de fuego vuelve a despertar. Isabella seguira su mapa, su corazon y una antigua leyenda para dar con su amiga y, pronto, descubrira el verdadero fin de su viaje: salvar a toda la isla de un horrible destino. "e;Kiran Millwood Hargrave me recuerda a la mejor narrativa de fantasa clsica, como Philip Pullman. Es un libro que la gente seguir leyendo a lo largo de muchos aos."e;James Daunt, librero de Daunt Books y director de Waterstones"e;Una novela mgica con una hermosa y fascinante historia de mapas, mitos y amistad. Una lectura deliciosa."e;The Guardian"e;Hargrave posee el envidiable don de contar aventuras con un estilo narrativo lrico y cautivador."e;The BooksellerGanadora del premio Waterstones Children's PrizeGanadora del premio British Book of the Year de Literatura Juvenil

The Girl of Ink & Stars

The Girl of Ink & Stars

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/05/2016

The magical bestseller: perfect for Christmas Winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize Winner of the British Book Awards Children's Book of the Year Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award Shortlisted for the Jhalak Prize 'Absolutely loved it from start to finish' TOM FLETCHER 'I read it, I loved it' MALORIE BLACKMAN 'Kiran Millwood Hargrave creates a spellbinding world of magic, myth and adventure' EMMA CARROLL Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella dreams of the faraway lands her cartographer father once mapped. When her friend disappears, she volunteers to guide the search. The world beyond the walls is a monster-filled wasteland - and beneath the dry rivers and smoking mountains, a fire demon is stirring from its sleep. Soon, following her map, her heart and an ancient myth, Isabella discovers the true end of her journey: to save the island itself. Beautiful, thrilling and magical, Sunday Times bestselling-author Kiran Millwood Hargrave's debut novel has all the makings of a modern classic.

Last March

Last March

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2012

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more