LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Kiran Millwood Hargrave - Author

About the Author

Featured books by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Other books by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Rollercoaster: KS3, 11-14. The Island at the End of Everything

Rollercoaster: KS3, 11-14. The Island at the End of Everything

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2019

Twelve-year-old Ami lives on Culion Island in the Philippines, the world's largest leper colony, with her mother who is 'touched'. The arrival of Mr Zamora, a sinister government official, brings the life-changing decree that all healthy children must leave the island and move to an orphanage. Banished across the sea, can Ami find her way home before her mother dies? With themes of prejudice, difference, segregation, family, friendship and loss, this stunning novel provides plenty of opportunies for classroom discussion and will grip 11-14 students.

The Way Past Winter

The Way Past Winter

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

From the bestselling author of THE GIRL OF INK & STARS comes a paperback edition of this gorgeous wintry folk tale for young and old alike - an exciting adventure to the frozen north, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman. 'This gorgeous story of bravery, sisterhood, goodbyes and beginnings is a must for everyone.' JESSIE BURTON 'The Way Past Winter is a masterclass in exquisite storytelling.' CATHERINEDOYLE 'Gorgeous, heartfelt and incredibly exciting. Her best yet, and that's saying something.' ROBIN STEVENS Mila and her sisters live with their brother Oskar in a small forest cabin in the snow. One night, a fur-clad stranger arrives seeking shelter for himself and his men. But by the next morning, they've gone - taking Oskar with them. Fearful for his safety, Mila and her sisters set out to bring Oskar back - even it means going north, crossing frozen wild-lands to find a way past an eternal winter.

The Deathless Girls

The Deathless Girls

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/09/2019

Gothic, intoxicating, feminist and romantic - this is the breathtakingly imagined untold story of the brides of Dracula, by bestselling author Kiran Millwood Hargrave in her much-anticipated YA debut. They say the thirst of blood is like a madness - they must sate it. Even with their own kin. On the eve of her divining, the day she'll discover her fate, seventeen-year-old Lil and her twin sister Kizzy are captured and enslaved by the cruel Boyar Valcar, taken far away from their beloved traveller community. Forced to work in the harsh and unwelcoming castle kitchens, Lil is comforted when she meets Mira, a fellow slave who she feels drawn to in a way she doesn't understand. But she also learns about the Dragon, a mysterious and terrifying figure of myth and legend who takes girls as gifts. They may not have had their divining day, but the girls will still discover their fate... The Deathless Girls is exquisitely written, as we have come to expect from Millwood Hargrave, but it is also riveting, intoxicating, and utterly unputdownable. - Louise O'Neill

The Way Past Winter

The Way Past Winter

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/10/2018

From the bestselling author of THE GIRL OF INK & STARS comes a gorgeous wintry folk tale for young and old alike - an exciting adventure to the frozen north, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman. 'This gorgeous story of bravery, sisterhood, goodbyes and beginnings is a must for everyone.' JESSIEBURTON 'The Way Past Winter is a masterclass in exquisite storytelling.' CATHERINE DOYLE 'Gorgeous, heartfelt and incredibly exciting. Her best yet, and that'ssaying something.' ROBIN STEVENS Mila and her sisters live with their brother Oskar in a small forest cabin in the snow. One night, a fur-clad stranger arrives seeking shelter for himself and his men. But by the next morning, they've gone - taking Oskar with them. Fearful for his safety, Mila and her sisters set out to bring Oskar back - even it means going north, crossing frozen wild-lands to find a way past an eternal winter.

La chica de tinta y estrellas

La chica de tinta y estrellas

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: eBook Release Date: 31/05/2018

Un maravilloso viaje a un mundo de fantasia, magia y grandes aventuras La joven Isabella suena con escapar a las tierras lejanas que su padre, un celebre cartografo, dibujo en mapas, pero no puede porque el Gobernador Adori oprime a todos los habitantes de la isla de Joya. Cuando su mejor amiga desaparece, se presenta como voluntaria para participar en la busqueda. El mundo que queda mas alla de su pueblo es una tierra baldia habitada por monstruos, y bajo los rios secos y las montanas humeantes, un demonio de fuego vuelve a despertar. Isabella seguira su mapa, su corazon y una antigua leyenda para dar con su amiga y, pronto, descubrira el verdadero fin de su viaje: salvar a toda la isla de un horrible destino. "e;Kiran Millwood Hargrave me recuerda a la mejor narrativa de fantasa clsica, como Philip Pullman. Es un libro que la gente seguir leyendo a lo largo de muchos aos."e;James Daunt, librero de Daunt Books y director de Waterstones"e;Una novela mgica con una hermosa y fascinante historia de mapas, mitos y amistad. Una lectura deliciosa."e;The Guardian"e;Hargrave posee el envidiable don de contar aventuras con un estilo narrativo lrico y cautivador."e;The BooksellerGanadora del premio Waterstones Children's PrizeGanadora del premio British Book of the Year de Literatura Juvenil

The Girl of Ink & Stars

The Girl of Ink & Stars

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/05/2016

Winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize & the British Book Awards Children's Book of the Year 'Absolutelyloved it from start to finish' TOM FLETCHER 'I read it, I loved it' MALORIE BLACKMAN 'Kiran Millwood Hargrave creates a spellbinding world of magic, myth and adventure' EMMA CARROLL Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella dreams of the faraway lands her cartographer father once mapped. When her friend disappears, she volunteers to guide the search. The world beyond the walls is a monster-filled wasteland - and beneath the dry rivers and smoking mountains, a fire demon is stirring from its sleep. Soon, following her map, her heart and an ancient myth, Isabella discovers the true end of her journey: to save the island itself.

Last March

Last March

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2012

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more