LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Steven Rowley - Author

About the Author

Steven Rowley has worked as a freelance writer, newspaper columnist, and screenwriter. Originally from Portland, Maine, he is a graduate of Emerson College. He currently resides in Los Angeles with his boyfriend and their dog. Lily and the Octopus is his first novel. Follow him on social media @MrStevenRowley.

Featured books by Steven Rowley

Other books by Steven Rowley

The Editor

The Editor

Author: Steven Rowley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/03/2019

`Delicately observed' Sunday Times `Laugh-out-loud funny and searingly poignant' Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of Daisy Jones and the Six One of PopSugar's `Buzzy Books to Read This Spring' `A sweet and charming novel, perfect for fans of Jackie O and Rowley's first novel, Lily and the Octopus, alike' PopSugar _____________________________________________________________ After years of struggling as a writer in 1990s New York City, James Smale finally gets his big break when his novel sells to an editor at a major publishing house:none other than Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. Jackie, or Mrs. Onassis as she's known in the office, loves James's candidly autobiographical novel, about his own dysfunctional family. As Jackie and James develop an unexpected friendship, she pushes him to write an authentic ending, encouraging him to confront the truth about his relationship with his mother. But when a long-held family secret is revealed, he realises his editor may have had a larger plan that goes beyond the page... ____________________________________________________________ Find out why readers have fallen in love with The Editor: `What an excellent read this is! Beautifully written, with a sad yet poignantly beautiful ending' Gillian F `I devoured in just a couple of sittings, only breaking for sleep and work!' Kath B `I loved it - I couldn't wait to find out what happened next' Katrina P `What a clever, gorgeously written story!' Kate H `With a delightfully quirky storyline, great characterisation, wonderful wry humour and warmth, this book is an intriguing, thoughtful read. I loved it!' Joy L `A beautiful book, full of characters to appreciate and care for' Lucy W `I absolutely loved this novel - funny, moving, interesting and always entertaining!' Yvonne C `Made me laugh, made me think and then ultimately made me cry!' Net A `I laughed so much throughout this book; it's beautiful and heartwarming' Michelle H `Bittersweet and charming!' Siobhan D

Lily and the Octopus

Lily and the Octopus

Author: Steven Rowley Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/07/2016

`Intelligently written, finely observed and surprisingly moving, this is a book you'll find hard to put down' Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project Companions come in all shapes and sizes. Companionship lasts forever. Lily and the Octopus is a novel about finding that special someone to share your life with. For Ted Flask, that someone is Lily, and she happens to be a dog. This novel reminds us how to love fiercely, how difficult it can be to let go and how the fight for those we love is the greatest fight of all. Reminiscent of The Life of Pi and The Art of Racing in the Rain, with spins into magic realism and beautifully evoked universal truths of love, loyalty and loss, a hilariously sardonic and not altogether reliable narrator, and one unforgettable hound who simple wisdom will break your heart and put it back together again, Lily and the Octopus captures the search for meaning in death and introduces a dazzling new voice in fiction.

Lily and the Octopus

Lily and the Octopus

Author: Steven Rowley Format: eBook Release Date: 07/06/2016

Named to the American Library Association's Reference & User Services (RUSA) Listen List! Combining the emotional depth of The Art of Racing in the Rain with the magical spirit of The Life of Pi, Lily and the Octopus is an epic adventure of the heart.When you sit down with Lily and the Octopus, you will be taken on an unforgettable ride. The magic of this novel is in the read, and we don’t want to spoil it by giving away too many details. We can tell you that this is a story about that special someone: the one you trust, the one you can’t live without. For Ted Flask, that someone special is his aging companion Lily, who happens to be a dog. Lily and the Octopus reminds us how it feels to love fiercely, how difficult it can be to let go, and how the fight for those we love is the greatest fight of all. Remember the last book you told someone they had to read? Lily and the Octopus is the next one.

Lily and the Octopus

Lily and the Octopus

Author: Steven Rowley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/06/2016

A revelatory literary novel reminiscent of The Life of Pi and The Art of Racing in the Rain, a struggling writer finds himself unable to open up to the possibility of love - except through the companionship of his aging dachshund Lily. But with the unexpected arrival of a small octopus that affixes itself to Lily's head, it soon becomes clear the invader is strangling the life from his dog and threatening the bond with his one true friend.

Lily and the Octopus

Lily and the Octopus

Author: Steven Rowley Format: eBook Release Date: 01/06/2016

';Intelligently written, finely observed and surprisingly moving, this is a book you'll find hard to put down' Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie ProjectCompanions come in all shapes and sizes.Companionship lasts forever. Lily and the Octopus is a novel about finding that special someone to share your life with. For Ted Flask, that someone is Lily, and she happens to be a dog. This novel reminds us how to love fiercely, how difficult it can be to let go and how the fight for those we love is the greatest fight of all. Reminiscent of The Life of Pi and The Art of Racing in the Rain, with spins into magic realism and beautifully evoked universal truths of love, loyaltyand loss, a hilariously sardonic and not altogether reliable narrator, and one unforgettable hound who simple wisdom will break your heart and put it back together again, Lily and the Octopus captures the search for meaning in death and introduces a dazzling new voice in fiction.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more