Martha Conway - Author

About the Author

Martha Conway's first novel, 12 Bliss Street, was nominated for an Edgar Award, and her latest novel, Thieving Forest, won the North American Book Award for Best Historical Fiction. Her short fiction has been published in The Iowa Review, The Carolina Quarterly, The Quarterly, Massachusetts Review, Epoch, Folio, and other journals. A recipient of a California Arts Council Fellowship, Martha teaches creative writing for Stanford University's Continuing Studies Program and UC Berkeley Extension. Born in Cleveland, Ohio, she is one of seven sisters. She now lives in San Francisco with her family.

Click here to read a Q&A with Martha Conway.

Author Photo © Noah Hawthorne

 

Featured books by Martha Conway

Other books by Martha Conway

The Floating Theatre This captivating tale of courage and redemption will sweep you away

The Floating Theatre This captivating tale of courage and redemption will sweep you away

Author: Martha Conway Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/09/2018

'Completely charming' Imogen Hermes Gowar, author of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock 'An engaging story with lovely detail and moments of comedy' Daily Mail Ohio, 1838. To save the lives of others, a young seamstress must risk her own. When young seamstress May Bedloe is left alone and penniless on the shore of the Ohio, she finds work on the famous floating theatre that plies its trade along the river. Her creativity and needlework skills quickly become invaluable and she settles in to life among the colourful troupe of actors. She finds friends, and possibly the promise of more ... But cruising the border between the Confederate South and the 'free' North is fraught with danger. For the sake of a debt that must be repaid, May is compelled to transport secret passengers, under cover of darkness, across the river and on, along the underground railroad. But as May's secrets become harder to keep, she learns she must endanger those now dear to her. And to save the lives of others, she must risk her own ... A gloriously involving and powerful read for fans of Gone With The Wind, Tracy Chevalier's The Last Runaway and The Essex Serpent.

The Floating Theatre This captivating tale of courage and redemption will sweep you away

The Floating Theatre This captivating tale of courage and redemption will sweep you away

Author: Martha Conway Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/06/2017

'Completely charming' Imogen Hermes Gowar, author of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock In a nation divided by prejudice, everyone must take a side. When young seamstress May Bedloe is left alone and penniless on the shore of the Ohio, she finds work on the famous floating theatre that plies its trade along the river. Her creativity and needlework skills quickly become invaluable and she settles in to life among the colourful troupe of actors. She finds friends, and possibly the promise of more ... But cruising the border between the Confederate South and the 'free' North is fraught with danger. For the sake of a debt that must be repaid, May is compelled to transport secret passengers, under cover of darkness, across the river and on, along the underground railroad. But as May's secrets become harder to keep, she learns she must endanger those now dear to her. And to save the lives of others, she must risk her own ... A gloriously involving and powerful read for fans of Gone With The Wind and Tracy Chevalier's The Last Runaway

12 Bliss Street

12 Bliss Street

Author: Martha Conway Format: eBook Release Date: 02/06/2003

"e;Short-story writer Conway's jump to novel length is as lean and sexy as her cardio-kickboxing heroine."e; - Kirkus ReviewsNicola is having a really bad day. She's tired of her job, her boss, and even her San Francisco apartment, which she's just heard she's being evicted from anyway. Her life's only excitement is fueled by fantasy - about the expensive lingerie she wears under her business suits, about a man she sees at lunch every day, a darkly handsome man she calls Chorizo, after the kind of pizza he orders. She's flat-out tired of her life, and nothing brings it home more than running into her annoying but harmless ex-husband, Scooter, on the way to work.But if ever anyone learns a lesson in "e;be careful what you wish for,"e; it's Nicola, because suddenly her life seems to be full of excitement. First she gets kidnapped after kickboxing class by two inept teenagers who, it turns out, aren't your garden-variety ransom kidnappers at all. But before she can resolve this situation, her innocent flirtation with Chorizo turns sinister. Suddenly Nicola's problem is no longer how to survive her boredom but how to survive, period. All in all, Martha Conway's debut is a deliciously hip, sexy, and suspenseful crime novel.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://marthaconway.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Martha Conway on Facebook