Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

J. D. Barker - Author

About the Author

J. D. Barker is the international best-selling author of Forsaken, a finalist for the Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a Debut Novel. In addition, he has been asked to coauthor a prequel to Dracula by the Stoker family. Barker splits his time between Englewood, Florida, and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Featured books by J. D. Barker

Other books by J. D. Barker

The Fifth to Die

The Fifth to Die

Author: J. D. Barker Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/12/2018

`J.D. Barker is a one-of-a-kind writer and that's a rare and special thing. Stephen King comes to mind and Lee Child, John Sanford. All one-of-a-kinds. Don't miss anything J.D. writes.' James Patterson Murder. It's a family affair. In the midst of one of the worst winters Chicago has seen in years, the body of missing teenager Ella Reynolds is discovered under the surface of a frozen lake. She's been missing for three weeks... the lake froze over three months ago. Detective Sam Porter and his team are brought in to investigate but it's not long before another girl goes missing. The press believes the serial killer, Anson Bishop, has struck again but Porter knows differently. The deaths are too different, there's a new killer on the loose. Porter however is distracted. He's still haunted by Bishop and his victims, even after the FBI have removed him from the case. His only leads: a picture of a female prisoner and a note from Bishop: `Help me find my mother. I think it's time she and I talked.' As more girls go missing and Porter's team race to stop the body count rising, Porter disappears to track down Bishop's mother and discover that the only place scarier than the mind of a serial killer is the mind of the mother from which he came. Perfect for fans of Helen Fields, Val McDermid and Jo Nesbo this gripping and twisted thriller will have you wondering, how do you stop a killer when he's been trained from birth? What readers are saying about J.D. Barker: 'This author is indeed devious for he has literally captured his audience , what a cliffhanger!' 'another dark , gritty story that's impossible to put down!' 'Genuinely shocking. Need more NOW...Did not expect THAT.' 'This is such an amazing series, you're missing out if you've not sprung on the wagon!' 'This was a crazily addictive read to me and J.D. Barker has so earned his stripes for me as a horror/thriller writer.'

The Fifth to Die

The Fifth to Die

Author: J. D. Barker Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/07/2018

`J.D. Barker is a one-of-a-kind writer and that's a rare and special thing. Stephen King comes to mind and Lee Child, John Sanford. All one-of-a-kinds. Don't miss anything J.D. writes.' James Patterson Murder. It's a family affair. In the midst of one of the worst winters Chicago has seen in years, the body of missing teenager Ella Reynolds is discovered under the surface of a frozen lake. She's been missing for three weeks... the lake froze over three months ago. Detective Sam Porter and his team are brought in to investigate but it's not long before another girl goes missing. The press believes the serial killer, Anson Bishop, has struck again but Porter knows differently. The deaths are too different, there's a new killer on the loose. Porter however is distracted. He's still haunted by Bishop and his victims, even after the FBI have removed him from the case. His only leads: a picture of a female prisoner and a note from Bishop: `Help me find my mother. I think it's time she and I talked.' As more girls go missing and Porter's team race to stop the body count rising, Porter disappears to track down Bishop's mother and discover that the only place scarier than the mind of a serial killer is the mind of the mother from which he came. Perfect for fans of Helen Fields, Val McDermid and Jo Nesbo this gripping and twisted thriller will have you wondering, how do you stop a killer when he's been trained from birth? What readers are saying about J.D. Barker: 'This author is indeed devious for he has literally captured his audience , what a cliffhanger!' 'another dark , gritty story that's impossible to put down!' 'Genuinely shocking. Need more NOW...Did not expect THAT.' 'This is such an amazing series, you're missing out if you've not sprung on the wagon!' 'This was a crazily addictive read to me and J.D. Barker has so earned his stripes for me as a horror/thriller writer.'

The Fourth Monkey

The Fourth Monkey

Author: J. D. Barker Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2017

`The Fourth Monkey has one of the most ingenious openings that I've read in years. This thriller never disappoints.' James Patterson `Superbly constructed and immaculately paced' The Daily Mail Two days to save her... They've found the killer. The killer that Detective Sam Porter has been hunting for five years. But it's too late to put him behind bars. He's already dead. One day to save her... But even death can't stop this murderer. His last victim is still alive, struggling to escape and the police have no idea who or where she is. Zero. Now Sam Porter must race against time, as her chances of survival slip away, to stop this serial killer from claiming his final victim... This stunning thriller is perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Jo Nesbo and Helen Fields.

Fourth Monkey

Fourth Monkey

Author: J. D. Barker Format: eBook Release Date: 27/06/2017

`The Fourth Monkey has one of the most ingenious openings that I've read in years. This thriller never disappoints.'James Patterson `Superbly constructed and immaculately paced'The Daily Mail Two days to save her... They've found the killer. The killer that Detective Sam Porter has been hunting for five years. But it's too late to put him behind bars. He's already dead. One day to save her... But even death can't stop this murderer. His last victim is still alive, struggling to escape and the police have no idea who or where she is. Zero. Now Sam Porter must race against time, as her chances of survival slip away, to stop this serial killer from claiming his final victim... This stunning thriller is perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Jo Nesbo and Helen Fields.

The Fourth Monkey

The Fourth Monkey

Author: J. D. Barker Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/06/2017

`The Fourth Monkey has one of the most ingenious openings that I've read in years. This thriller never disappoints.' James Patterson `Superbly constructed and immaculately paced' - The Daily Mail Brilliant. Complicated. Psychopath. That's the Four Monkey Killer or `4MK'. A murderer with a twisted vision and absolutely no mercy. Detective Sam Porter has hunted him for five long years, the recipient of box after box of grisly trinkets carved from the bodies of 4MK's victims. But now Porter has learnt the killer's twisted history and is racing to do the seemingly impossible - find 4MK's latest victim before it's too late...