LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Clare Fisher - Author

About the Author

Clare Fisher was born in Tooting, south London in 1987. After accidentally getting obsessed with writing fiction when she should have been studying for a BA in History at the University of Oxford, Clare completed an MA in Creative and Life Writing at Goldsmiths College, University of London, and now works as a bookseller in Leeds. An avid observer of the diverse area of south London in which she grew up, Clare's writing is inspired by her long-standing interest in social exclusion and the particular ways in which it affects vulnerable women and girls. All The Good Things is her first novel.

Featured books by Clare Fisher

All the Good Things

All the Good Things

Author: Clare Fisher Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/06/2017

Twenty-one year old Beth is in prison. The thing she did is so bad she doesn't deserve ever to feel good again. But her counsellor, Erika, won't give up on her. She asks Beth to make a list of all the good things in her life. So Beth starts to write down her story, from sharing silences with Foster Dad No. 1, to flirting in the Odeon on Orange Wednesdays, to the very first time she sniffed her baby's head. But at the end of her story, Beth must confront the bad thing. What is the truth hiding behind her crime? And does anyone - even a 100% bad person - deserve a chance to be good?

ebook of the month

Other books by Clare Fisher

How the Light Gets in

How the Light Gets in

Author: Clare Fisher Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/06/2018

How the Light Gets In is the debut collection from award winning short story writer, Clare Sita Fisher. A book of very short stories that explores the spaces between light and dark and how we find our way from one to the other. From buffering Skype chats and the truth about beards, to fried chicken shops and the things smartphones make you less likely to do when alone in a public place, Fisher paints a complex, funny and moving portrait of contemporary British life.

All the Good Things

All the Good Things

Author: Clare Fisher Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/04/2018

What if you did a very bad thing... but that wasn't the end of the story? Twenty-one year old Beth is in prison. The thing she did is so bad she doesn't deserve ever to feel good again. But her counsellor, Erika, won't give up on her. She asks Beth to make a list of all the good things in her life. So Beth starts to write down her story, from sharing silences with Foster Dad No. 1, to flirting in the Odeon on Orange Wednesdays, to the very first time she sniffed her baby's head. But at the end of her story, Beth must confront the bad thing. What is the truth hiding behind her crime? And does anyone - even a 100% bad person - deserve a chance to be good? 'Heartfelt, heartbreaking, and genuinely joyous' Francis Spufford, author of Golden Hill

All the Good Things

All the Good Things

Author: Clare Fisher Format: eBook Release Date: 01/06/2017

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of All the Good Things by Clare Fisher, read by Emily Atack. Twenty-one year old Beth is in prison. The thing she did is so bad she doesnt deserve ever to feel good again. But her counsellor, Erika, wont give up on her. She asks Beth to make a list of all the good things in her life. So Beth starts to write down her story, from sharing silences with Foster Dad No. 1, to flirting in the Odeon on Orange Wednesdays, to the very first time she sniffed her babys head. But at the end of her story, Beth must confront the bad thing. What is the truth hiding behind her crime? And does anyone - even a 100% bad person - deserve a chance to be good? All the Good Things is a story about redemption and hope for fans of Nathan Filer, Stephen Kelman and Emma Healey Praise for All the Good Things Heartfelt, heartbreaking, and genuinely joyous (Francis Spufford, author of Golden Hill) Compassionate and beautifully written (Carys Bray, author of The Museum of You) I raced through this beautiful novel, which oscillates between pain and hope, anger and joy. An important novel which celebrates the fact that good things exist inside every person, no matter how ignored or hidden. (Sarah Butler, author of Ten Things Ive Learned About Love and Before the Fire) A heartbreaking, vital and seamless insight into a life that might otherwise be ignored or judged. The voice of Bethany is perfect - compelling, whip-smart and deeply affecting. (Emma Jane Unsworth, author of Animals) If I could have given this book six stars I could. . So beautifully written and so insightful (5* Goodreads review) In this profoundly moving but surprisingly funny debut novel, Clare Fisher has given voice to people on the fringes of society, people with a story like any of us (5* Netgalley review) This empathetic beautiful story will have you bawling your eyes out (5* Goodreads review) All The Good Things is a well written and heartbreaking novel (5* Goodreads review) Utterly riveting, cunningly written and bursting full of character (4* Netgalley review) This really is a wonderful debut... a beautiful story about social exclusion, the vulnerability of women and girls, and the unfortunate ones who fall through the cracks (4* Goodreads review) [This] novel will challenge preconceptions about the kind of people who end up in care; the kind of people who end up in prison; the kind of people who do terrible things (4* Goodreads review)

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more