LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Amy Gentry - Author

About the Author

Amy Gentry is a book reviewer for the Chicago Tribune whose work has also appeared in Salon, LA Review of Books, and the Best Food Writing of 2014. Good as Gone is her first novel.

Featured books by Amy Gentry

Other books by Amy Gentry

Last Woman Standing

Last Woman Standing

Author: Amy Gentry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/08/2019

`A twisty and engrossing thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end.' Karin Slaughter, International Bestselling Author Humiliated by a man who held her career in his hands, Dana Diaz's life and reputation are in tatters. Drowning her sorrows one night in a bar, she gets talking to a stranger, Amanda - and finds that she, too, has a story to tell. Over a drink, Amanda proposes a plan: The women should take revenge on each other's behalf. Stalking and tormenting the people that wronged them carries a thrill - and one act of revenge soon leads to another. But while this may be an addictive game for two, only one can survive. WHO WILL BE THE LAST WOMAN STANDING? Readers love Last Woman Standing: `This book blew me away' Cosy Cat Reviews `A fantastic read' Rachel `What a page turner!' Jane `I highly recommend Last Woman Standing ... This novel does not disappoint ... FIVE-STAR' D.B. Moone `Timely and suspenseful' Ray J. `A unique story ... This one will stick with me' Courtney `A riveting page turner you'll stay up way too late to finish' SW

Last Woman Standing

Last Woman Standing

Author: Amy Gentry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/12/2018

`A twisty and engrossing thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end.' Karin Slaughter, International Bestselling Author Humiliated by a man who held her career in his hands, Dana Diaz's life and reputation are in tatters. Drowning her sorrows one night in a bar, she gets talking to a stranger, Amanda - and finds that she, too, has a story to tell. Over a drink, Amanda proposes a plan: The women should take revenge on each other's behalf. Stalking and tormenting the people that wronged them carries a thrill - and one act of revenge soon leads to another. But while this may be an addictive game for two, only one can survive. WHO WILL BE THE LAST WOMAN STANDING? Readers love Last Woman Standing: `This book blew me away' Cosy Cat Reviews `A fantastic read' Rachel `What a page turner!' Jane `I highly recommend Last Woman Standing ... This novel does not disappoint ... FIVE-STAR' D.B. Moone `Timely and suspenseful' Ray J. `A unique story ... This one will stick with me' Courtney `A riveting page turner you'll stay up way too late to finish' SW

Good as Gone

Good as Gone

Author: Amy Gentry Format: eBook Release Date: 06/04/2017

Eight years ago, thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night. In the years since, her family have papered over the cracks of their grief - while hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then, one night, the doorbell rings. Gripping, shocking, and deviously clever, Good as Gone is perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins - and will keep readers guessing until the final page.

Good as Gone

Good as Gone

Author: Amy Gentry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/03/2017

Eight years ago, thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night. In the years since, her family have papered over the cracks of their grief - while hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then, one night, the doorbell rings. Gripping, shocking, and deviously clever, Good as Gone is perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins - and will keep readers guessing until the final page.

Good As Gone

Good As Gone

Author: Amy Gentry Format: eBook Release Date: 26/07/2016

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice"e;So gripping you might start to question your own familys past."e; Entertainment Weekly[One] of the most anticipated summer thrillers . . . Gentry's novel isn't primarily about the version of the self that comes from a name and a family of origin; instead, it draws our attention to the self that's forged from sheer survival, and from the clarifying call to vengeance. New York Times Book ReviewAnnas daughter Julie was kidnapped from her own bedroom when she was thirteen years old, while Anna slept just downstairs, unaware that her daughter was being ripped away from her. For eight years, she has lived with the guilt and the void in her family, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night, the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. Anna and the rest of the family are thrilled, but soon Anna begins to see holes in Julies story. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she is forced to wonder if this young woman is even her daughter at all. And if she isnt Julie, what is it that she wants?So much about this novel is fresh and insightful and decidedly not like every other thriller . . . Good as Gone ranks as an outstanding debut, well worth reading. This is no mere Gone Girl wannabe. Dallas Morning News