Susan Beale - Author

About the Author

Susan Beale was brought up on Cape Cod and now lives in the UK. She is a recent graduate of the Bath Spa MA in Creative Writing. The Good Guy is her first novel.

Books by Susan Beale

The Good Guy A deeply compelling novel about love and marriage set in 1960s suburban America

The Good Guy A deeply compelling novel about love and marriage set in 1960s suburban America

Author: Susan Beale Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/03/2017

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016 'I fell into The Good Guy hook, line and sinker . . . utterly captivating' Last Word Review A summer of love and deceit in 1960s New England. Abigail has everything she's meant to want: a handsome, successful husband, a beautiful baby daughter, and a house in the suburbs. Inside, however, she's in turmoil: awkward with her neighbors, exhausted by the demands of motherhood, a failure at domesticity. Her husband, Ted, doesn't feel the same pressure. His professional life is on the up when a chance encounter with single-girl Penny offers a glimpse of the life he might have had, had he not blindly followed convention. Captivated, he tells a lie and then another. Lie by lie, he constructs a double life, convinced he can keep his two worlds separate, but can he? Brilliantly observed and deeply moving, The Good Guy proves that the worst lies are the ones we tell ourselves. 'A sparkling debut, with a lifelike depiction of a time and place, and piercing insights into the fabled, and often tarnished, American dream' Lady 'Extremely well-written, intelligent and perceptive, this also happens to be a novel that slips down like ice-cream on a hot day. I absolutely loved it' Shiny New Books 'A delicious, slightly gossipy summer read with a Mad Men feel to it. I'd especially recommend this to readers who enjoyed The Longest Night by Andria Williams and Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann' Bookbag

The Good Guy A deeply compelling novel about love and marriage set in 1960s suburban America

The Good Guy A deeply compelling novel about love and marriage set in 1960s suburban America

Author: Susan Beale Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/06/2016

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016 A deeply compelling novel with a Mad Men feel to it set in 1960s suburban America. For fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather. Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear. The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more