Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Colin Winnette - Author

About the Author

Colin Winnette is the author of several books, most recently Coyote and Haints Stay. His writing has appeared in numerous publications, including the Los Angeles Review of Books, the Believer, and Lucky Peach. He lives in San Francisco.

 

Author photo © Jennifer Yin

Featured books by Colin Winnette

Other books by Colin Winnette

Haints Stay

Haints Stay

Author: Colin Winnette Format: eBook Release Date: 06/03/2018

"e;In his astonishing portrait of American violence, Haints Stay, Colin Winnette makes use of the Western genre to stunning effect. But this isn't a chummy oater penned by the likes of Zane Grey or Louis L'Amour. Winnette's frontier feels more Homeric. His knack for tapping into scenes of primal fear and poetic violence serves as an indictment of our species' base nature and worst instincts. While the novel flouts most of the conventions of the traditional horse opera, the rewards of Haints Stay belong to the reader."e;Jim Ruland, Los Angeles Times"e;Striking and powerful... a Western as reimagined through the transgressive lens of Dennis Cooper. What Winnette does here is less about undermining the traditions of the Westerns and more about pushing them in unexpected directions."e;Tobias Carroll, Electric Literature"e;The most anticipated independent novel of the summer."e;Flavorwire"e;Winnettes already sharp prose is honed here to a razor edge. It rolls across the stark, lawless world he evokes like approaching thunder."e;Midnight BreakfastBrooke and Sugar are killers. Bird is the boy who mysteriously woke beside them while between towns. For miles, there is only desert and wilderness, and along the fringes, people.The story follows the middling bounty hunters after they've been chased from town, and Bird, each in pursuit of their own sense of belonging and justice. It features gunfights, cannibalism, barroom piano, a transgender birth, a wagon train, a stampede, and the tenuous rise of the West's first one-armed gunslinger.Haints Stay is a new acid western in the tradition of Rudolph Wurlitzer, Kelly Reichardt's Meek's Cutoff, and Jim Jarmusch's Dead Man: meaning it is brutal, surreal, and possesses an unsettling humor.

Job of the Wasp

Job of the Wasp

Author: Colin Winnette Format: eBook Release Date: 06/02/2018

The Job of the Wasp is a madcap mystery, a macabre coming-of-age story and an unearthly fantasybut it feels like childhood, like the world, like life. Daniel Handler, author of We Are Pirates and All The Dirty PartsA new arrival at an isolated school for orphaned boys quickly comes to realize there is something wrong with his new home. He hears chilling whispers in the night, his troubled classmates are violent and hostile, and the Headmaster sends cryptic messages, begging his new charge to confess. As the new boy learns to survive on the edges of this impolite society, he starts to unravel a mystery at the schools dark heart. And thats when the corpses start turning up.A coming-of-age tale, a Gothic ghost story, and a murder mystery all in one, The Job of the Wasp is a bloodcurdling and brilliantly subversive novel about paranoia, love, and the nightmare of adolescence.

Coyote

Coyote

Author: Colin Winnette Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/08/2016

Author Info

Author's Website

http://colinwinnette.net/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more