LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

J. S. Law - Author

About the Author

J. S. Law started in the navy as an apprentice engineer and worked his way up through the ranks. He has worked on helicopters, ships and towards the end of his naval career, submarines. He is a passionate advocate for education and now works providing nuclear training and education to the defence and civil sectors. James lives in Hampshire with his partner and his two children.

Author photo © Simon John

Featured books by J. S. Law

Tenacity

Tenacity

Author: J. S. Law Format: Paperback Release Date: 21/04/2016

A fascinating and captivating start to the new ‘Lieutenant Danielle Lewis series’ by a debut author who introduces in ‘Tenacity’, the stimulating and challenging world of a nuclear submarine. The feisty prologue introduces Dan who works in the Crimes Involving Loss of Life division, previous events have marked her as a loner, she is astute yet stubborn, and is brought in to investigate the crew of a submarine after a possible suicide on board. As I learnt more about Dan, my initial frustration with some of her decisions were washed away and left far behind. J.S. Law was in the Royal Navy and has worked on submarines, I immediately felt I was in reliable hands as I was transported into the working guts of the submarine. The enclosed, restricted space creates a tension that continues to tighten as the storyline pulses with gripping intensity. This is an exciting start to a series, and the ending most definitely leaves you wanting more! May 2016 Debut of the Month.

Debut Books of the Month

Other books by J. S. Law

The Coldest Blood

The Coldest Blood

Author: J. S. Law Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/01/2019

'I COULD NOT put this down! So, so, so tense.' Angela Clarke, Sunday Times bestseller 'OMG WHAT A BOOK!!!!!' A must read and an easy five stars' ***** Goodreads reviewer Patricia Cornwell called J.S. Law's debut 'addictively readable' and now Lieutenant Dani Lewis returns in a gripping new thriller that fans of M.J. Arlidge and Elly Griffiths will love. A savage murderer taunts the police from his cell. Naval investigator Dani Lewis made her name by catching serial killer Christopher Hamilton, a master of manipulation who now lives to toy with the police. But when a stranger viciously attacks Dani, she fears Hamilton has one twisted game left to play. As the case spirals out of control, Dani realises Hamilton's deadly grip reaches deeper than she ever knew. With her sanity and family in peril, Dani has no choice but to confront pure evil - even if it drags up the darkest secrets of the past. WHY READERS ARE HOOKED ON THE LIEUTENANT DANI LEWIS SERIES: 'I've LOVED this series so far but The Coldest Blood is by far the best...Fantastic. Highly Recommended.' ***** Goodreads Reviewer 'I devoured this book...a must read and an easy five stars.' ***** Goodreads Reviewer 'A highly enjoyable, fast paced drama...keeps you gripped from beginning to end.' ***** Goodreads Reviewer PRAISE FOR J.S. LAW: 'J.S. Law's taut crime novel oozes authenticity. I read this in a day and can't wait for the next in what will undoubtedly be an explosive series' Clare Mackintosh, number one bestseller 'An impressive debut...gripping, entertaining reading' The Times 'Addictively readable, and memories of it linger like dreams' Patricia Cornwell

The Dark Beneath

The Dark Beneath

Author: J. S. Law Format: Paperback Release Date: 21/12/2017

The Dark Beneath was previously published as Tenacity. 'I read this in a day and can't wait for the next' Clare Mackintosh, number one bestseller 'An impressive debut...gripping, entertaining reading' The Times Lieutenant Dani Lewis must uncover the hidden truth behind a suspicious death at sea. But will she survive long enough to find the answers? Full of twists and turns, this gripping crime thriller is perfect for fans of M.J. Arlidge, Will Dean and Elly Griffiths. 'Addictively readable' Patricia Cornwell A sailor is found dead on a submarine. But something doesn't add up... Although it's ruled a suicide, Lieutenant Dani Lewis - fearless star of the Special Investigations Branch - knows the man's wife was found brutally murdered only days before. Now she must enter the cramped confines of a submarine to interrogate the tight-knit crew. Trapped deep in the ocean - the only woman on board with a possible killer in tow - the pressure rises quickly for Dani Lewis. And she may need to choose between the truth and her own survival if she's to make it out alive. Two hundred metres below the surface, she will have nowhere to run and nowhere to hide... 'Pacey, claustrophobic and utterly thrilling' Eva Dolan Why readers are raving about THE DARK BENEATH: 'A claustrophobic, addictive and brilliantly constructed thriller that just won't let go... I really cannot recommend it highly enough' Liz Loves Books 'Such a high quality thriller with a fantastic and unusual location - tense and claustrophobic, it grips instantly' ***** Goodreads Reviewer 'A must read' ***** Goodreads Reviewer 'Absolutely loved this book right from the beginning. Gripping from start to finish, couldn't put it down' ***** Goodreads Reviewer

The Fear Within

The Fear Within

Author: J. S. Law Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/11/2017

Is this a simple missing person case, or is the hunter about to become the prey? Patricia Cornwell called J.S. Law's writing 'addictively readable' and now Lieutenant Dani Lewis returns in an edge-of-the-seat crime thriller that fans of M.J. Arlidge and Elly Griffiths will love. A young woman has disappeared without trace from a Navy ship - is it a missing person case or something far darker? Lieutenant Dani Lewis, star investigator of the Navy's Kill Team, must mine the shadows of the ship and the secrets of its crew to uncover why the girl might run, or what might motivate a predator to take her. But as Dani relentlessly pursues the truth, threads emerge which lead her to a dark conspiracy from the past. And closer to a killer who continues to taunt her from prison... 'A gutsy kick-ass heroine, fast-paced twisty plot and an unusual background make for a gripping read.' Woman & Home 'In his first Dani thriller...tension festered in the claustrophobic confines of submarine HMS Tenacity. The Fear Within moves up a level, hothousing the fears and urges of the warped and needy in the tighter spaces of the human mind' The Sun Why readers are raving about THE FEAR WITHIN: 'A very good read' ***** Goodreads Reviewer 'I really really loved THE FEAR WITHIN' ***** Goodreads Reviewer 'Fast paced and well plotted' ***** Goodreads Reviewer Further praise for J.S. Law: 'J.S. Law's taut crime novel oozes authenticity. I read this in a day and can't wait for the next in what will undoubtedly be an explosive series' - Clare Mackintosh, author of I LET YOU GO 'An impressive debut...gripping, entertaining reading' The Times 'J. S. Law is a powerful new voice, and his heroine Dan Lewis lives up to the title, Tenacity. She is fearless and doesn't quit in the faces of all odds....addictively readable, and memories of it linger like dreams' Patricia Cornwell