Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

J. S. Law - Author

About the Author

J. S. Law started in the navy as an apprentice engineer and worked his way up through the ranks. He has worked on helicopters, ships and towards the end of his naval career, submarines. He is a passionate advocate for education and now works providing nuclear training and education to the defence and civil sectors. James lives in Hampshire with his partner and his two children.

Author photo © Simon John

Featured books by J. S. Law

Other books by J. S. Law

The Coldest Blood

The Coldest Blood

Author: J. S. Law Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/01/2019

Patricia Cornwell called J.S. Law's first novel THE DARK BENEATH 'addictively readable' and now Lieutenant Dani Lewis returns in a gripping new thriller that fans of M.J. Arlidge and Elly Griffiths will love. A savage murderer taunts the police from his cell. Naval investigator Dani Lewis made her name by catching serial killer Christopher Hamilton, a master of manipulation who now lives to toy with the police. But when a stranger viciously attacks Dani, she fears Hamilton has one twisted game left to play. As the case spirals out of control, Dani realises Hamilton's deadly grip reaches deeper than she ever knew. With her sanity and family in peril, Dani has no choice but to confront pure evil - even if it drags up the darkest secrets of the past. PRAISE FOR J.S. LAW: 'J.S. Law's taut crime novel oozes authenticity. I read this in a day and can't wait for the next in what will undoubtedly be an explosive series' Clare Mackintosh, number one bestseller 'An impressive debut...gripping, entertaining reading' The Times 'Addictively readable, and memories of it linger like dreams' Patricia Cornwell

The Dark Beneath a completely gripping crime thriller (Lieutenant Dani Lewis series book 1)

The Dark Beneath a completely gripping crime thriller (Lieutenant Dani Lewis series book 1)

Author: J. S. Law Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/12/2017

The Dark Beneath was previously published as Tenacity. 'I read this in a day and can't wait for the next' Clare Mackintosh, number one bestseller 'Addictively readable'- Patricia Cornwell, number one bestseller An impressive debut...gripping, entertaining reading' The Times In this gripping crime thriller, Lieutenant Dani Lewis must uncover the truth behind a suspicious death in the navy. But will she survive long enough to uncover the answers? Full of twists and turns, this is perfect for fans of M.J. Arlidge and Elly Griffiths. A sailor is found dead but something doesn't add up... Although it's ruled a suicide, Lieutenant Dani Lewis - fearless star of the Special Investigations Branch - knows the man's wife was found brutally murdered only days before. Now she must enter the cramped confines of a submarine to interrogate the tight-knit crew. Trapped deep in the ocean - the only woman on board with a possible killer in tow - the pressure rises quickly for Dani Lewis. And she may need to choose between the truth and her own survival if she's to make it out alive. Two hundred metres below the surface, she will have nowhere to run and nowhere to hide... 'If Law manages to hold his course into nuclear noir, this series could go for as long as the atom-powered tenacity' The Sun Why readers are raving about THE DARK BENEATH: 'A claustrophobic, addictive and brilliantly constructed thriller that just won't let go... I really cannot recommend it highly enough' Liz Loves Books 'Such a high quality thriller with a fantastic and unusual location - tense and claustrophobic, it grips instantly' ***** Goodreads Reviewer 'A must read' ***** Goodreads Reviewer 'Absolutely loved this book right from the beginning. Gripping from start to finish, couldn't put it down' ***** Goodreads Reviewer

The Fear Within the gripping thriller (Lieutenant Dani Lewis series book 2)

The Fear Within the gripping thriller (Lieutenant Dani Lewis series book 2)

Author: J. S. Law Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/11/2017

'The relentless pace weaves in surprising, disturbing twists that teeter on the brink of horror.' The Sun Patricia Cornwell called J.S. Law's writing 'addictively readable' and now Lieutenant Dani Lewis returns in a gripping thriller that fans of M.J. Arlidge and Elly Griffiths will love. A young woman has disappeared without trace from a Navy ship - is it a missing person case or something far darker? Lieutenant Dani Lewis, star investigator of the Navy's Kill Team, must mine the shadows of the ship and the secrets of its crew to uncover why the girl might run, or what might motivate a predator to take her. But as Dani relentlessly pursues the truth, threads emerge which take her back to the dark conspiracy revealed aboard the submarine Tenacity. And closer to a killer who continues to taunt her from prison. Is this a simple missing person case, or is the hunter about to become the prey? 'A gutsy kick-ass heroine, fast-paced twisty plot and an unusual background make for a gripping read.' Woman & Home 'In his first Dani thriller...tension festered in the claustrophobic confines of submarine HMS Tenacity. The Fear Within moves up a level, hothousing the fears and urges of the warped and needy in the tighter spaces of the human mind' The Sun Further praise for J.S. Law: 'J.S. Law's taut crime novel oozes authenticity. I read this in a day and can't wait for the next in what will undoubtedly be an explosive series' - Clare Mackintosh, author of I LET YOU GO 'An impressive debut...gripping, entertaining reading' The Times 'J. S. Law is a powerful new voice, and his heroine Dan Lewis lives up to the title, Tenacity. She is fearless and doesn't quit in the faces of all odds. The murky world of submarines and murder make Tenacity addictively readable, and memories of it linger like dreams' Patricia Cornwell

Tenacity a completely gripping crime thriller (Lieutenant Dani Lewis series book 1)

Tenacity a completely gripping crime thriller (Lieutenant Dani Lewis series book 1)

Author: J. S. Law Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 27/08/2015

The debut novel from J.S. Law, featuring new series lead Lieutenant Danielle Lewis, has been heralded as 'addictively readable' by Patricia Cornwell, 'pacey, claustrophobic and utterly thrilling' by Eva Dolan and 'breathlessly plotted' by Emlyn Rees. Two hundred metres below the surface, she will have nowhere to run and nowhere to hide. A sailor hangs himself on board a naval submarine. Although ruled a suicide Lieutenant Danielle Lewis, the Navy's finest Special Branch investigator, knows the sailor's wife was found brutally murdered only days before. Now Dan must enter the cramped confines of HMS Tenacity to interrogate the tight-knit, male crew and determine if there's a link. Standing alone in the face of extreme hostility and with a possible killer on board, Dan soon realises that she may have to choose between the truth and her own survival. The pressure is rising and Dan's time is running out...