LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Glenda Young - Author

About the Author

Glenda Young is a writer and a Coronation Street lifelong fan. She hopes one day to work for Rita and Norris as the paper girl in the Kabin.

 

Featured books by Glenda Young

Other books by Glenda Young

The Tuppenny Child

The Tuppenny Child

Author: Glenda Young Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2019

'In the world of historical saga writers, there's a brand new voice' My Weekly From the author of Belle of the Back Streets, a dramatically powerful saga of secrets, friendship, motherhood, love and betrayal, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin. 'She's not worth more than tuppence, that child!' Those are the words that haunt Sadie Linthorpe. She is the talk of Ryhope when she arrives there, aged seventeen, alone, seeking work and a home in the pit village. But Sadie is keeping a secret - she is searching for her baby girl who was taken from her at birth a year ago and cruelly sold by the child's grandmother. All that Sadie knows about the family who took her daughter is that they live in Ryhope. And the only thing she knows about her daughter is that when the baby was born, she had a birthmark on one shoulder that resembled a tiny ladybird. But as Sadie's quest begins, a visitor from her past appears - one who could jeopardise the life she's beginning to build and ruin her chances of finding her beloved child for ever... Praise for Glenda Young: 'Will resonate with saga readers everywhere...a wonderful, uplifting story' Nancy Revell 'I really enjoyed... It's well researched and well written and I found myself caring about her characters' Rosie Goodwin 'All the ingredients for a perfect saga' Emma Hornby 'Glenda has an exceptionally keen eye for domestic detail which brings this local community to vivid, colourful life' Jenny Holmes 'I enjoyed it enormously, being totally absorbed from the first page. I found it extremely well written, and having always loved sagas, one of the best I've read' Margaret Kaine

The Tuppenny Child

The Tuppenny Child

Author: Glenda Young Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/05/2019

'In the world of historical saga writers, there's a brand new voice' My Weekly From the author of Belle of the Back Streets, a dramatically powerful saga of secrets, friendship, motherhood, love and betrayal, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin. 'She's not worth more than tuppence, that child!' Those are the words that haunt Sadie Linthorpe. She is the talk of Ryhope when she arrives there, aged seventeen, alone, seeking work and a home in the pit village. But Sadie is keeping a secret - she is searching for her baby girl who was taken from her at birth a year ago and cruelly sold by the child's grandmother. All that Sadie knows about the family who took her daughter is that they live in Ryhope. And the only thing she knows about her daughter is that when the baby was born, she had a birthmark on one shoulder that resembled a tiny ladybird. But as Sadie's quest begins, a visitor from her past appears - one who could jeopardise the life she's beginning to build and ruin her chances of finding her beloved child for ever... Praise for Glenda Young: 'Will resonate with saga readers everywhere...a wonderful, uplifting story' Nancy Revell 'I really enjoyed... It's well researched and well written and I found myself caring about her characters' Rosie Goodwin 'All the ingredients for a perfect saga' Emma Hornby 'Glenda has an exceptionally keen eye for domestic detail which brings this local community to vivid, colourful life' Jenny Holmes 'I enjoyed it enormously, being totally absorbed from the first page. I found it extremely well written, and having always loved sagas, one of the best I've read' Margaret Kaine

Belle of the Back Streets

Belle of the Back Streets

Author: Glenda Young Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/03/2019

'I really enjoyed Glenda's novel. It's well researched and well written and I found myself caring about her characters' Rosie Goodwin 'Will resonate with saga readers everywhere...a wonderful, uplifting story' Nancy Revell 'All the ingredients for a perfect saga and I loved Meg; she's such a strong and believable character. A fantastic debut' Emma Hornby Belle of the Back Streets is a dramatically powerful and romantic saga of tragedy and triumph, perfect for fans of Dilly Court. 'Any rag and bone!' Everyone recognises the cry of Meg Sutcliffe as she plies her trade along the back streets of Ryhope. She learnt the ropes from her dad when he returned from the War. But when tragedy struck, Meg had no choice but to continue alone, with only her trusty dog Spot and beloved horse Stella for company. Now the meagre money she earns is the only thing that stands between her family's safety and predatory rent collector Hawk Jackson... Many say it's no job for a woman - especially a beauty like Meg who's noticed everywhere she goes. When she catches the eye of charming Clarky it looks like she might have found a protector and a chance of happiness. But is Clarky really what he seems? And could Adam, Meg's loyal childhood friend, be the one who really deserves her heart? 'Glenda has an exceptionally keen eye for domestic detail which brings this local community to vivid, colourful life and Meg is a likeable, loving heroine for whom the reader roots from start to finish' Jenny Holmes 'I found it difficult to believe that this was a debut novel, as brilliant was the word in my mind when I reached the end. I enjoyed it enormously, being totally absorbed from the first page. I found it extremely well written, and having always loved sagas, one of the best I've read' Margaret Kaine Look out for Glenda's next compelling saga, The Tuppenny Child.

Belle of the Back Streets

Belle of the Back Streets

Author: Glenda Young Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/11/2018

'I really enjoyed Glenda's novel. It's well researched and well written and I found myself caring about her characters' Rosie Goodwin 'All the ingredients for a perfect saga and I loved Meg; she's such a strong and believable character. A fantastic debut' Emma Hornby Belle of the Back Streets is a dramatically powerful and romantic saga of tragedy and triumph, perfect for fans of Dilly Court. 'Any rag and bone!' Everyone recognises the cry of Meg Sutcliffe as she plies her trade along the back streets of Ryhope. She learnt the ropes from her dad when he returned from the War. But when tragedy struck, Meg had no choice but to continue alone, with only her trusty dog Spot and beloved horse Stella for company. Now the meagre money she earns is the only thing that stands between her family's safety and predatory rent collector Hawk Jackson... Many say it's no job for a woman - especially a beauty like Meg who's noticed everywhere she goes. When she catches the eye of charming Clarky it looks like she might have found a protector and a chance of happiness. But is Clarky really what he seems? And could Adam, Meg's loyal childhood friend, be the one who really deserves her heart? 'Glenda has an exceptionally keen eye for domestic detail which brings this local community to vivid, colourful life and Meg is a likeable, loving heroine for whom the reader roots from start to finish' Jenny Holmes 'I found it difficult to believe that this was a debut novel, as brilliant was the word in my mind when I reached the end. I enjoyed it enormously, being totally absorbed from the first page. I found it extremely well written, and having always loved sagas, one of the best I've read' Margaret Kaine Look out for Glenda's next compelling saga, The Tuppenny Child.

Coronation Street: The Official Colouring Book

Coronation Street: The Official Colouring Book

Author: Glenda Young Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/09/2016

Lose yourself in the history of your favourite soap with this fun and fascinating colouring book, which is sure to delight Corrie fans old and new. Not just a relaxing and creative activity book, this also serves as a potted history of the show with your favourite characters from over 55 years of storylines and drama. The book is made up of 45 scenes to colour in, from Elsie Tanner in the very first show, through classic scenes and iconic title shots, and ending up with the stars of the current episodes. Coronation Street is Britain's longest-running and best-loved soap. Now you can pick up your colouring pencils and immerse yourself in the history of your favourite street.

A Perfect Duet - a Diary of Roy and Hayley Cropper

A Perfect Duet - a Diary of Roy and Hayley Cropper

Author: Glenda Young Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/04/2014

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.corrie.net/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more