Julia Pierpont - Author

About the Author

Julia Pierpont is a graduate of the NYU Creative Writing Program, where she received the Rona Jaffe Foundation Graduate Fellowship, as well as the Stein Fellowship. Born and raised in Manhattan, she works at The New Yorker.

 

Author photo © Shiva Rouhani

Featured books by Julia Pierpont

Other books by Julia Pierpont

The Little Book of Feminist Saints

The Little Book of Feminist Saints

Author: Julia Pierpont Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/03/2018

'A beautifully illustrated tome honouring 100 exceptional women dating back to 630BC' Red A Stylist Must-read Book of 2018 'This finely illustrated book is brimful of startling anecdotes about females who flouted traditional gender roles' Observer 'Short, snappy and inspiring, these mini biographies celebrate women who headed out into the world determined to make a difference' Psychologies 'Essential reading for anyone...this beautifully illustration collection...deserves to be framed in every woman's living room - an inspiration for any situation' Diva In this luminous volume, New York Times bestselling writer Julia Pierpont and artist Manjit Thapp match short, vibrant and surprising biographies with stunning full-colour portraits of secular female 'saints': champions of strength and progress. These women broke ground, broke ceilings and broke moulds - including Maya Angelou - Jane Austen - Ruby Bridges - Rachel Carson - Shirley Chisholm - Hillary Clinton - Marie Curie & Irene Joliot Curie - Isadora Duncan - Amelia Earhart - Artemisia Gentileschi - Grace Hopper - Dolores Huerta - Frida Kahlo - Billie Jean King - Audre Lorde - Wilma Mankiller - Toni Morrison - Michelle Obama - Sandra Day O'Connor - Sally Ride - Eleanor Roosevelt - Margaret Sanger - Sappho - Nina Simone - Gloria Steinem - Kanno Sugako - Harriet Tubman - Mae West - Virginia Woolf - Malala Yousafzai Open to any page and find daily inspiration and lasting delight.

Among the Ten Thousand Things

Among the Ten Thousand Things

Author: Julia Pierpont Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/02/2016

Longlisted for the International Dylan Thomas Prize 2016 An anonymous package arrives in the post: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling New York-artist Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to his wife Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's. With this vertiginous opening begins a heart-stopping debut about a family blown apart by an affair, yet still painfully tethered together.

Among the Ten-Thousand Things

Among the Ten-Thousand Things

Author: Julia Pierpont Format: eBook Release Date: 17/08/2015

Among the Ten-Thousand Things chronicles the breakup of a family in contemporary New York following a devastating extra-marital affair. Jack is a sculptor charming and vain, visionary and vulnerable in equal measure whose controversial work wins him attention from a young admirer. When Jacks spurned lover sends his wife Deb a box of their correspondence to their apartment (and after it is accidentally intercepted by their children), Deb takes refuge with nine-year-old Kay and eleven-year-old Simon on Rhode Island where they become embroiled with a local family that hauntingly reflects their own.At once a mordant moral vision of modern family life and an ironic dissection of our self-deceptions, Julia Pierponts first novel is reminiscent of Jonathan Franzen and Jonathan Dees blistering portraits of post 9/11 American family life. Brimming with lyricism and emotional intelligence, Among the Ten-Thousand Things is an astonishingly original and sure-footed debut that reflects our world back to us with extraordinary force.

Among the Ten Thousand Things

Among the Ten Thousand Things

Author: Julia Pierpont Format: eBook Release Date: 07/07/2015

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER *; NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE ANDTHE HUFFINGTON POST *;For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost. Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's. With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can't possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family lifetheir brittleness, and their resilience. Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things';A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author.'The New York Times Book Review ';This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I've read in a long time.'Jonathan Safran Foer ';Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above [other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity.'Vanity Fair ';Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of four to life in sharply observed detail. . . . An acute observer of social comedy, Ms. Pierpont has a keen eye for the absurd.'The Wall Street Journal ';Pierpont's language is heart-stopping. . . . Between Pierpont's literary finesse and her captivating characters, [Among the Ten Thousand Things] reads like a page-turner.'Entertainment Weekly (grade: A) ';A twisty, gripping storythat packs an emotional wallop.'O: The Oprah Magazine';There are going to be as many ingenious twists and turns in this literary novel as there are in a top-notch work of suspense like Gone Girl.'Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air';Tender, delicately perceptive . . . Pierpont's voice is wry and confident, and she is a fine anthropologist of New York life.'The Washington Post';Pierpont displays a precocious gift for language and observation. . . . She captures the minutiae of loneliness that pushes us away from each other and sometimes brings us back.'San Francisco ChronicleFrom the Hardcover edition.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.juliapierpont.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more