LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Eve Chase - Author

About the Author

Eve Chase always wanted to write about families - ones that go wrong but somehow survive - and big old houses, where family secrets and untold stories seed in the crumbling stone walls. Black Rabbit Hall is such a story. Eve is married with three children and lives in Oxfordshire.

 

Author photo © Philippa Gedge photography

 

Featured books by Eve Chase

Other books by Eve Chase

The Glass House

The Glass House

Author: Eve Chase Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/12/2020

PRE-ORDER NOW: The stunning new book from the author of Black Rabbit Hall and The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde. 'A captivating mystery: beautifully written, with a rich sense of place, a cast of memorable characters, and lots of deep, dark secrets' Kate Morton, bestselling author of The Clockmaker's Daughter 'The Glass House is not really about a murder, or a creepy house, but about families - the ones we're born into, the ones we make and especially the ones we flee' New York Times The truth can shatter everything ... When the Harrington family discovers an abandoned baby deep in the woods, they decide to keep her a secret and raise her as their own. But within days a body is found in the grounds of their house and their perfect new family implodes. Years later, Sylvie, seeking answers to nagging questions about her life, is drawn into the wild beautiful woods where nothing is quite what it seems. Will she unearth the truth? And dare she reveal it? 'I adored this beautifully-written, riveting mystery' Rosie Walsh, bestselling author of The Man Who Didn't Call 'Absolutely her best yet' Lisa Jewell, bestselling author of The Family Upstairs 'So beautifully and insightfully written, with characters I grew to love. A compelling, moving story that kept me turning the pages right to the very last' Katherine Webb, author of The Legacy Praise for Eve Chase 'Enthralling' Kate Morton 'Simply stunning' Dinah Jefferies 'The most beautiful book you will read this year' Lisa Jewell 'Filled with intrigue' Clare Mackintosh 'Exquisite and evocative' Sarah Vaughan

The Glass House

The Glass House

Author: Eve Chase Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/05/2020

THE STUNNING NEW MYSTERY ABOUT OLD FAMILY SECRETS FROM THE AUTHOR OF BLACK RABBIT HALL AND THE VANISHING OF AUDREY WILDE 'A captivating mystery: beautifully written, with a rich sense of place, a cast of memorable characters, and lots of deep, dark secrets' Kate Morton, bestselling author of The Clockmaker's Daughter Outside a remote manor house in an idyllic wood, a baby girl is found. The Harrington family takes her in and disbelief quickly turns to joy. They're grieving a terrible tragedy of their own and the beautiful baby fills them with hope, lighting up the house's dark, dusty corners. Desperate not to lose her to the authorities, they keep her secret, suspended in a blissful summer world where normal rules of behaviour - and the law - don't seem to apply. But within days a body will lie dead in the grounds. And their dreams of a perfect family will shatter like glass. Years later, the truth will need to be put back together again, piece by piece . . . From the author of Black Rabbit Hall, The Glass House is an emotional, thrilling book about family secrets and belonging - and how we find ourselves when we are most lost. 'I adored this beautifully-written, riveting mystery' Rosie Walsh, bestselling author of The Man Who Didn't Call 'Absolutely her best yet' Lisa Jewell, bestselling author of The Family Upstairs 'So beautifully and insightfully written, with characters I grew to love. A compelling, moving story that kept me turning the pages right to the very last' Katherine Webb, author of The Legacy Praise for Eve Chase 'Enthralling' Kate Morton 'Simply stunning' Dinah Jefferies 'The most beautiful book you will read this year' Lisa Jewell

Wildling Sisters

Wildling Sisters

Author: Eve Chase Format: eBook Release Date: 25/07/2017

"e;An enthralling story of secrets, sisters, and an unsolved mystery."e;Kate MortonAn evocative novel in the vein of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier, in which the thrill of first love clashes with the bonds of sisterhood, and all will be tested by the dark secret at the heart of Applecote Manor.Four sisters. One summer. A lifetime of secrets. When fifteen-year-old Margot and her three sisters arrive at Applecote Manor in June 1959, they expect a quiet English country summer. Instead, they find their aunt and uncle still reeling from the disappearance of their daughter, Audrey, five years before. As the sisters become divided by new tensions when two handsome neighbors drop by, Margot finds herself drawn into the life Audrey left behind. When the summer takes a deadly turn, the girls must unite behind an unthinkable choice or find themselves torn apart forever.Fifty years later, Jesse is desperate to move her family out of their London home, where signs of her widower husband's previous wife are around every corner. Gorgeous Applecote Manor, nestled in the English countryside, seems the perfect solution. But Jesse finds herself increasingly isolated in their new sprawling home, at odds with her fifteen-year-old stepdaughter, and haunted by the strange rumors that surround the manor.Rich with the heat and angst of love both young and old, The Wildling Sisters is a gorgeous and breathtaking journey into the bonds that unite a family and the darkest secrets of the human heart.

The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde

The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde

Author: Eve Chase Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 13/07/2017

Black Rabbit Hall

Black Rabbit Hall

Author: Eve Chase Format: eBook Release Date: 09/02/2016

';For fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier, Black Rabbit Hall is an obvious must-read.'Bookpage A secret history. A long-ago summer. A house with an untold story. Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family's Cornish country house, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, one terrible day, it does.More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she's drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, she soon finds herself ensnared within the house's labyrinthine history, overcome with a need for answers about her own past and that of the once-golden family whose memory still haunts the estate.Eve Chase's debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall.