Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Lisa Heathfield - Author

About the Author

Lisa Heathfield lives in Brighton with her husband and three sons. Before becoming a mum, she was a secondary school English teacher and loved inspiring teenagers to read. After teaching, she ran a café in Brighton for seven years. In the middle of the general chaos of her lovely children, baking for the café and stumbling through running her own business, she wrote her first novel.

Featured books by Lisa Heathfield

Other books by Lisa Heathfield

Flight of a Starling

Flight of a Starling

Author: Lisa Heathfield Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/06/2017

The stunning new novel from award-shortlisted Lisa Heathfield, author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven's All the Bright Places, Lisa Williamson, Sarah Crossan and Sara Barnard. Rita and Lo, sisters and best friends, have spent their lives on the wing - flying through the air in their trapeze act, never staying in one place for long. Behind the greasepaint and the glitter, they know that the true magic is the family they travel with. Until Lo meets a boy. Suddenly, she wants nothing more than to stay still. And as secrets start to tear apart the close-knit circus community, how far will Lo go to keep her feet on the ground? Flight of a Starling is a heartbreaking read with an important message. `We are obsessed with Seed' - YA Love Magazine 'It broke my heart over and over. Destined to be one of THE most important books this year' - Melinda Salisbury, author of The Sin Eater's Daughter, on Paper Butterflies Lisa Heathfield launched her writing career with Seed, her stunning young adult fiction debut about a cult, before writing Paper Butterflies, her beautiful and heart-breaking second novel. Before becoming a mum to her three sons, she was a secondary school English teacher and loved inspiring teenagers to read. Lisa lives in Brighton.

Hier musst du glucklich sein

Hier musst du glucklich sein

Author: Lisa Heathfield Format: eBook Release Date: 22/12/2016

Eine kleine Gemeinschaft, abgeschottet von der Welt. Hier ist Pearl aufgewachsen und hier fuhlt sie sich sicher, denn ihr Oberhaupt Papa S. beschutzt sie alle vor der vergifteten Welt da drauen. Doch als sich der gleichaltrige Ellis und seine Familie ihrer Gemeinschaft anschlieen, wird Pearls Weltbild auf die Probe gestellt: Ellis wachst Pearl taglich mehr ans Herz - und er scheint nicht an die Lehren von Papa S. zu glauben! Langsam wird auch Pearl klar, dass sie fliehen mussen, um sich zu retten ...

Paper Butterflies

Paper Butterflies

Author: Lisa Heathfield Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/06/2016

Stand By Me meets We Were Liars - a heartbreaking and stunning breakout novel for teenagers from the award-nominated author of Seed. June's life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one - and a secret one. Not even her father knows about it. She's trapped like a butterfly in a jar. But then she meets Blister, a boy in the woods. And in him, June recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away. But freedom comes at a price . . . Paper Butterflies is an unforgettable read, perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson's The Art of Being Normal, Sarah Crossan's Moonrise, Jandy Nelson, Jennifer Niven and Louise O'Neill. 'It broke my heart over and over. Destined to be one of THE most important books this year.' - Melinda Salisbury, author of The Sin Eater's Daughter. 'A gripping and harrowing tale . . . best YA proof I've read this year.' - Charlotte Eyre, The Bookseller. Lisa Heathfield launched her writing career with Seed, her stunning YA debut about a cult, which was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize. Before becoming a mum to her three sons, she was a secondary school English teacher and loved inspiring teenagers to read. Paper Butterflies is her beautiful and heart-breaking second novel. Lisa lives in Brighton.

Seed

Seed

Author: Lisa Heathfield Format: eBook Release Date: 10/03/2015

All that Pearl knows can be encapsulated in one word: Seed. It is the isolated community that she was born into. It is the land that she sows and reaps. It is the center of her family and everything that means home. And it is all kept under the watchful eye of Papa S.At fifteen years old, Pearl is finally old enough to be chosen as Papa S.s companion. She feels excitement . . . and surprising trepidation that she cannot explain. The arrival of a new family into the Seed communityparticularly the teenage son, Ellisonly complicates the life and lifestyle that Pearl has depended upon as safe and constant. Ellis is compelling, charming, and worldly, and he seems to have a lot of answers to questions Pearl has never thought to ask. But as Pearl digs to the roots of the truth, only she can decide what she will allow to come to the surface.Lisa Heathfields suspenseful, scintillating debut features a compelling voice that combines blithe navet, keen observation, and sincere emotion.

Seed

Seed

Author: Lisa Heathfield Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/09/2012

It's the dawn of the 22nd century, and the world has fallen apart. The United States has become a nation of migrants -- starving masses of nomads who seek out a living in encampments outside government seed-distribution warehouses. In this new world, there is a new power. Satori is more than just a corporation; she is an intelligent, living city that grew out of the ruins of Denver. Satori bioengineers both the climate resistant seed that feeds a hungry nation and her own post-human genetic Designers, Advocates, and Laborers. What remains of the United States government now exists solely to distribute Satori seed; a defeated American military doles out bar-coded, single-use Satori seed to the nation's starving citizens. When one of Satori's Designers goes rogue, Agent Sienna Doss is tasked with bringing her in: the government wants to use the Designer to break Satori's stranglehold on seed production and reassert themselves as the center of power. As events spin out of control, Sienna finds herself at the heart of Satori, where an explosive climax promises to reshape the future of the world. Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more