James Meek - Author

About the Author

James Meek was born in London in 1962 and grew up in Dundee. We Are Now Beginning Our Descent is his fourth novel. His previous book, The People's Act of Love (2005), won the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize, the SAC Book of the Year Award, was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and has been translated into more than twenty languages.

He has published two collections of short stories, Last Orders and The Museum Of Doubt, and contributed to the acclaimed Rebel Inc anthologies The Children Of Albion Rovers and The Rovers Return.

He has worked as a journalist since 1985, and his reporting from Iraq and about Guantanamo Bay won a number of British and international awards. In the autumn of 2001 he reported for the Guardian from Afghanistan on the war against the Taliban and the liberation of Kabul.


 Photograph © Jo Kane

Featured books by James Meek

Other books by James Meek

Private Island Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else

Private Island Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else

Author: James Meek Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/04/2015

In a little over a generation the bones and sinews of the British economy - rail, energy, water, postal services, municipal housing - have been sold to remote, unaccountable private owners. In a series of brilliant portraits James Meek shows how Britain's common wealth became private, and the impact it has had on us all. In a series of panoramic accounts, Meek explores the human stories behind the incremental privatization of the nation over the last three decades. As our national assets are being sold, the new buyers reap the rewards, and the ordinary consumer is left to pay the ever-rising bill. Urgent, powerfully written and deeply moving, Private Island is a passionate anatomy of the state of the nation for readers of Chavs and Whoops!

The Heart Broke In

The Heart Broke In

Author: James Meek Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/03/2013

EVERY ACTION HAS A CONSEQUENCE Bec Shepherd is a scientist struggling to lead a good life Ritchie, her brother, is a TV star with skeletons in his closet Alex wants a family if he could only meet the right woman . . . One man has the information to destroy them all

The Heart Broke In

The Heart Broke In

Author: James Meek Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/08/2012

Would you betray someone you love to give them what they want? Bec Shepherd is a malaria researcher struggling to lead a good life. Ritchie, her reprobate brother, is a rock star turned TV producer. When Bec refuses an offer of marriage from a powerful newspaper editor and Ritchie's indiscretions catch up with him, brother and sister are forced to choose between loyalty and betrayal. The Heart Broke In is an old-fashioned story of modern times, a rich, ambitious family drama of love, death and money in the era of gene therapy and Internet exposes. From the author of the 'spellbinding' (Guardian), 'quite extraordinary' (Philip Pullman), 'startlingly original' (Mail on Sunday) novel, The People's Act of Love

Drivetime

Drivetime

Author: James Meek Format: Paperback Release Date: 21/08/2008

Sounds like easy money: collecting an antique for a rich stranger. Alan Allen, freshly unemployed, short of cash, and caught up in a bizarre case of mistaken identity, is about to find out otherwise. But not before being swept on a European wild-goose chase in this refreshing, surreal and gloriously funny novel.

The Museum Of Doubt

The Museum Of Doubt

Author: James Meek Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/08/2006

The Museum of Doubt is a new collection of surreal and unnerving short stories from award-winning writer James Meek. The array of characters who populate Meek's vague and elusive worlds are driven by paranoia and doubts, as well as hopes and fears of things only half-glimpsed.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.jamesmeek.net/James_Meek/Home.html

Author's Facebook

Find James Meek on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more