Oscar de Muriel - Author

About the Author

Oscar de Muriel was born in Mexico City and moved to the UK to complete his PhD. He is a chemist, translator and violinist who now lives and works in Manchester.

Featured books by Oscar de Muriel

The Strings of Murder

The Strings of Murder

Author: Oscar de Muriel Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/02/2015

This is a spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek. Edinburgh, 1888. A violinist is murdered in his home. The dead virtuoso's maid swears she heard three musicians playing in the night. But with only one body in the locked practice room - and no way in or out - the case makes no sense. Fearing a national panic over another Ripper, Scotland Yard sends Inspector Ian Frey to investigate under the cover of a fake department specializing in the occult. However, Frey's new boss, Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray, actually believes in such supernatural nonsense. McGray's tragic past has driven him to superstition, but even Frey must admit that this case seems beyond reason. And once someone loses all reason, who knows what they will lose next...

Other books by Oscar de Muriel

The Strings of Murder - A Novel

The Strings of Murder - A Novel

Author: Oscar de Muriel Format: Paperback Release Date: 23/07/2018

Loch of the Dead Frey & McGray Book 4

Loch of the Dead Frey & McGray Book 4

Author: Oscar de Muriel Format: Paperback Release Date: 31/05/2018

'A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery' New York Times 'I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic' Ian Rankin _______________ A CASE FOR FREY & McGRAY The Scottish Highlands, 1889. When a young heir receives a sinister death threat, Inspectors Frey and 'Nine-Nails' McGray answer a desperate plea to offer him protection. The detectives travel north to the remote and misty Loch Maree, site of an ancient burial ground. They must stay with the mysterious Koloman family - any one of whom might be a suspect. But Frey and McGray have little time to get their bearings. Even before they arrive the boy's guardian is brutally murdered, and one thing becomes clear to the two detectives: Someone is willing to kill to protect the secrets of Loch Maree. _______________ Praise for the Frey & McGray series: 'This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it. Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch' Manda Scott 'Fun to read and a fast page-turner. Love and murder - they go together like strawberries and cream' Independent 'A brilliant mix of horror, history, and humour. Genuinely riveting with plenty of twists, this will keep you turning the pages. It's clever, occasionally frightening and superbly written ... Everything you need in a mystery thriller' Crime Review 'Fast-paced, well-researched and thoroughly spellbinding. The mismatched pair is as entertaining as Holmes and Watson at their best' Historical Novel Society

Loch of the Dead

Loch of the Dead

Author: Oscar de Muriel Format: eBook Release Date: 31/05/2018

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Loch of the Dead by Oscar de Muriel, read by Andy Secombe. A mysterious woman pleads for the help of Inspectors Frey and Nine-Nails McGray. Her son, illegitimate scion of the Koloman family, has received an anonymous death threat - right after learning he is to inherit the best part of a vast wine-producing estate. In exchange for their protection, she offers McGray the ultimate cure for his sister who has been locked in an insane asylum after brutally murdering their parents: the miraculous waters that spring in a small island in the remote Loch Maree. The island has been a sacred burial ground since the time of the druids, but the legends around it will turn out to be much darker than McGray could have expected. Death and increasingly bizarre happenings will intermingle throughout this trip to the Highlands, before Frey and McGray learn a terrible truth. A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery New York Times I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic Ian Rankin

A Mask of Shadows Frey & McGray Book 3

A Mask of Shadows Frey & McGray Book 3

Author: Oscar de Muriel Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/04/2017

'A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery' New York Times 'I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic' Ian Rankin 1889. The Scottish Play is coming home. But before the darling couple of London theatre, Henry Irving & Ellen Terry, take their acclaimed Macbeth to the Edinburgh stage terror treads the boards. A grisly message found smeared across the cobbles in blood, foretelling someone's demise. As the bloody prophecies continue to appear Edinburgh's own beloved pair - Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray & Inspector Ian Frey - enter the scene. Frey scoffs at this blatant publicity stunt, while McGray is convinced of supernatural affairs. As they scrutinise the key players, they discover that Terry, Irving, and his peculiar, preoccupied assistant (one Bram Stoker) all have reasons to kill, or be killed... But one thing is clear. By occult curse or human hand, death will take bow the night the curtain rises. Praise for the Frey & McGray series: 'I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic' Ian Rankin 'A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery' New York Times 'This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it. Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch' Manda Scott 'Fun to read and a fast page-turner. Love and murder - they go together like strawberries and cream' Independent 'A brilliant mix of horror, history, and humour. Genuinely riveting with plenty of twists, this will keep you turning the pages. It's clever, occasionally frightening and superbly written ... Everything you need in a mystery thriller' Crime Review 'Fast-paced, well-researched and thoroughly spellbinding. The mismatched pair is as entertaining as Holmes and Watson at their best' Historical Novel Society

Mask of Shadows

Mask of Shadows

Author: Oscar de Muriel Format: eBook Release Date: 06/04/2017

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook of A Mask of Shadows by Oscar de Muriel, read by Andy Secombe. A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery New York Times I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic Ian Rankin 1889. The Scottish Play is coming home. But before the darling couple of London theatre, Henry Irving & Ellen Terry, take their acclaimed Macbeth to the Edinburgh stage terror treads the boards. A grisly message found smeared across the cobbles in blood, foretelling someones demise. As the bloody prophecies continue to appear Edinburghs own beloved pair - Detective Nine-Nails McGray & Inspector Ian Frey - enter the scene. Frey scoffs at this blatant publicity stunt, while McGray is convinced of supernatural affairs. As they scrutinise the key players, they discover that Terry, Irving, and his peculiar, preoccupied assistant (one Bram Stoker) all have reasons to kill, or be killed... But one thing is clear. By occult curse or human hand, death will take bow the night the curtain rises. Praise for the Frey & McGray series: I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic Ian Rankin A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery New York Times This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it. Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch Manda Scott Fun to read and a fast page-turner. Love and murder - they go together like strawberries and cream Independent A brilliant mix of horror, history, and humour. Genuinely riveting with plenty of twists, this will keep you turning the pages. Its clever, occasionally frightening and superbly written ... Everything you need in a mystery thriller Crime Review Fast-paced, well-researched and thoroughly spellbinding. The mismatched pair is as entertaining as Holmes and Watson at their best Historical Novel Society

A Fever of the Blood A Victorian Mystery Book 2

A Fever of the Blood A Victorian Mystery Book 2

Author: Oscar de Muriel Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/02/2016

'A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery' New York Times 'I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic' Ian Rankin A spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek. New Year's Day, 1889. In Edinburgh's lunatic asylum, a patient escapes as a nurse lays dying. Leading the manhunt are legendary local Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray and Londoner-in-exile Inspector Ian Frey. Before the murder, the suspect was heard in whispered conversation with a fellow patient - a girl who had been mute for years. What made her suddenly break her silence? And why won't she talk again? Could the rumours about black magic be more than superstition? McGray and Frey track a devious psychopath far beyond their jurisdiction, through the worst blizzard in living memory, into the shadow of Pendle Hill - home of the Lancashire witches - where unimaginable danger awaits... * * * Praise for The Strings of Murder: 'This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it. Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch.' Manda Scott 'One of the best debuts so far this year - a brilliant mix of horror, history, and humour. Genuinely riveting with plenty of twists, this will keep you turning the pages. It's clever, occasionally frightening and superbly written - The Strings Of Murder is everything you need in a mystery thriller.' Crime Review

Hunt

Hunt

Author: Oscar de Muriel Format: eBook Release Date: 03/12/2015

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable, audiobook edition of The Hunt by Oscar De Muriel, a Christmas tale from the world of Frey & McGray, read by Andy Secombe. Christmas, 1888. After a thoroughly trying time in Edinburgh, Inspector Ian Frey looks forward to a Christmas break at his familys country estate back in England. But the welcome respite of home cooking, hunting trips and brandy by the fire is ruined by the arrival of an unwelcome guest . . . *Features an exclusive extract from A Fever of the Blood - the brilliant new Case for Frey & McGray, which publishes in February 2016* Praise for The Strings of Murder: This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it. Manda Scott One of the best debuts of the year. Riveting, genuinely funny, occasionally frightening and superbly written. Crime Review

The Strings of Murder

The Strings of Murder

Author: Oscar de Muriel Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/02/2015

This is a spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek. Edinburgh, 1888. A violinist is murdered in his home. The dead virtuoso's maid swears she heard three musicians playing in the night. But with only one body in the locked practice room - and no way in or out - the case makes no sense. Fearing a national panic over another Ripper, Scotland Yard sends Inspector Ian Frey to investigate under the cover of a fake department specializing in the occult. However, Frey's new boss, Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray, actually believes in such supernatural nonsense. McGray's tragic past has driven him to superstition, but even Frey must admit that this case seems beyond reason. And once someone loses all reason, who knows what they will lose next...

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more