Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Sean Thomas Russell - Author

About the Author

S. Thomas Russell was born in Toronto Ontario in 1952. At the age of three his family moved to the outskirts of the city ("Farm fields, woods, and orchards then: all suburbs now.") where they lived in a cottage on the beach. Living on the shore of the lake awoke in him a love of the water that is obvious in many of his books.

 

Favourite books from his childhood include Tom Sawyer ("I read it so many times I can still remember the first few lines."), Huckleberry Finn, and Captains Courageous.

After university Mr. Russell moved to Vancouver, and two years later to Vancouver Island, where he lives presently with his wife Karen and son Brendan, a two minute walk from the seashore.

Mr. Russell cites history as one of his passions, collects old yachting and sailing books, skis, sails and travels. Past interests include caving, rock climbing, hiking, and racing sailboats.

 

 

Featured books by Sean Thomas Russell

Until the Sea Shall Give Up Her Dead

Until the Sea Shall Give Up Her Dead

Author: Sean Thomas Russell Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/07/2014

Until the Sea Shall Give Up Her Dead is masterful maritime fiction - Sean Thomas Russell's latest Charles Hayden voyage. Under the command of the steadfast Captain Charles Hayden, Royal Navy frigate HMS Themis is sent across the Atlantic to counter the threat of the French forces in the West Indies. But before she strikes port in Barbados, the Themis intercepts a single boat adrift in the middle of the ocean - its sole occupants, two young Spanish noblemen. But not is all as it seems with Hayden's unexpected guests. The mystery only deepens as Hayden's ship reaches Barbados, where he must take new orders from the Admiral. Hayden finds his ship in a squadron under the command of the conceited Sir William Jones, who involves Hayden on a course of action so foolhardy that he is faced with losing many of his men. Once again, the Themis is thrown into the most violent of action against the enemy - and Hayden must make the hardest choice of all, life or death? Following the top-ten bestselling success of A Battle Won, Under Enemy Colours and A Ship of War, Sean Thomas Russell's captivating fourth novel Until The Sea Shall Give Up Her Dead is the maritime adventure of 2014. Sean Thomas Russell is a lifelong sailor whose passion for the sea - and his love of nautical history - inspired the adventures of Charles Hayden. His latest book follows bestsellers A Battle Won, Under Enermy Colours and A Ship of War. Sean lives on Vancouver Island.

Other books by Sean Thomas Russell

Until the Sea Shall Give Up Her Dead

Until the Sea Shall Give Up Her Dead

Author: Sean Thomas Russell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/05/2015

Following the top-ten bestselling success of A Battle Won, Under Enemy Colours and A Ship of War, Sean Thomas Russell's captivating fourth novel Until The Sea Shall Give Up Her Dead is the maritime adventure of 2014. Under the command of Captain Charles Hayden, Royal Navy frigate HMS Themis is sent to counter the threat of the French forces in the West Indies. In the middle of the vast Atlantic, Hayden discovers two Spanish noblemen, castaway in a ship's boat - a stroke of almost impossible good fortune. The Spaniards' explanation for their plight seems so improbable that Hayden's officers suspect them of being criminals or even spies. But they have secrets far more shocking than that - secrets which will haunt Hayden in his new posting. Upon reaching the Barbados station, Hayden finds himself under the command of the vainglorious Sir William Jones, an impetuous and foolhardy officer. Refusing orders will cost Hayden his command. Accepting them might cost him his ship and crew. UNTIL THE SEA SHALL GIVE UP HER DEAD is the brilliant fourth tale in the epic maritime adventures of Charles Hayden. A masterpiece already rivalling the stories of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O'Brian. Praise for Sean Thomas Russell: 'Russell's encyclopaedic command of nautical lore, joined to his rare ability to spin a ripping yarn, combine to place the reader right in the middle of the action, of which there is plenty' Neal Stephenson 'Well-written, plenty of adventure . . . places the reader in the midst of the action of battle' The Marine Society 'An impressive, sweeping and momentous naval epic' Crew Report Sean Thomas Russell is a lifelong sailor whose passion for the sea - and his love of nautical history - inspired the adventures of Charles Hayden. His latest book follows bestsellers A Battle Won, Under Enemy Colours and A Ship of War. Sean lives on Vancouver Island. www.sthomasrussell.com

A Ship of War Charles Hayden Book 3

A Ship of War Charles Hayden Book 3

Author: Sean Thomas Russell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/04/2013

A Ship of War is a stunning new maritime adventure from Top Ten bestselling author Sean Thomas Russell, following the great success of A Battle Won and Under Enemy Colours. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O'Brian, A Ship of War is the third instalment in the electrifying historical series of Charles Hayden and the Themis. 'Hayden kept his eye fixed upon the chasing ship...The screech of an iron ball passed narrowly by. There was no room now for error' 1794. As the terror rages in France, Captain Charles Hayden leaves Plymouth with orders to gather intelligence from a spy off the Le Havre coast. But the enemy lies in wait. In the foulest of weather, Hayden's seamanship is tested to the limit and a terrifying cat and mouse chase begins. Faced with a powerful French squadron Hayden knows he must elude capture at any cost. In his possession are details of an imminent attack on British soil which must be delivered before all is lost.Ahead lie shipwrecks, storms, battles and dramatic escapes - and at the centre of it all, the courage and heroism of a lone captain . . . A Ship of War is the brilliant third tale in the epic maritime adventures of Charles Hayden. A masterpiece already rivalling the stories of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O'Brian. Praise for Sean Thomas Russell: 'An unqualified seal of approval. This is gloriously readable stuff.' The Bookseller 'Russell's encyclopaedic command of nautical lore, joined to his rare ability to spin a ripping yarn, combine to place the reader right in the middle of the action, of which there is plenty.' Neal Stephenson (author) 'Well-written, plenty of adventure . . . places the reader in the midst of the action of battle.' Marine Society Sean Thomas Russell is a lifelong sailor whose passion for the sea - and his love of nautical history - inspired the adventures of Charles Hayden. A Ship of War follows bestsellers A Battle Won and Under Enemy Colours. Sean lives on Vancouver Island.

A Ship of War

A Ship of War

Author: Sean Thomas Russell Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/10/2012

An adventure set at the height of the French Revolution, from the bestselling author of Under Enemy Colours Charles Hayden sets off aboard the ill-fated HMS Themis with orders to destroy a French frigate and to gather intelligence from a royalist spy. On discovering French plans for an imminent invasion of England, Hayden must return to Portsmouth to give warning before it's too late. But the enemy have been lying in wait for him, and so begins a dangerous chase out into the Atlantic and into the clutches of a powerful French squadron - Hayden and his men try in desperation to warn the Lords of the Admiralty. Failure will mean the invasion of England - and the guillotine for Hayden. This recording is unabridged. Typically abridged audiobooks are not more than 60% of the author's work and as low as 30% with characters and plotlines removed.

A Battle Won Charles Hayden Book 2

A Battle Won Charles Hayden Book 2

Author: Sean Thomas Russell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/03/2011

'Fire as she bears. Rake her, lads.' Winter, 1793. Newly promoted Master and Commander Charles Hayden's orders are to deliver the frigate HMS Themis to Lord Admiral Hood, whose fleet is sheltering in the Mediterranean. Only hours out of port, however, and the Themis is engaging with the French navy. Hayden's destination is Toulon, a French port under Lord Hood's protection. But there Hayden's captaincy and seamanship are stretched to their limits. For Toulon holds a deadly surprise for the unwary . . . A Battle Won is the brilliant second instalment in the epic maritime adventures of Charles Hayden. A masterpiece in the tradition of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O'Brian.

Under Enemy Colours Charles Hayden Book 1

Under Enemy Colours Charles Hayden Book 1

Author: Sean Thomas Russell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/02/2009

1793: the thunder of cannon fire echoes across the English Channel, chilling the stoutest hearts . . . The opening skirmishes of the French Revolutionary War send ageing frigate HMS Themis into waters swarming with enemy ships of the line. Instructed to survey the French coastline, she's soon in the thick of the action: cutlasses slash and bayonets skewer, cannons splinter decks and sever limbs. Onto the smoky deck strides young Lieutenant Charles Hayden. With an English father and a French mother, the Admiralty are reluctant to give Hayden his first command. Instead, he is to act as a bulwark between the Themis's tyrannical Captain Hart and a mutinous crew. Steering a course between the cowardly captain and the treacherous crew, English common sense and French pride, Hayden must first master his wits before challenging the might of the French naval war machine.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://sthomasrussell.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×