LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald - Author

About the Author

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald was born in New York in 1965 but grew up in Co.Dublin. She is a professor and associate vice president at the University of Limerick in Ireland, specialising in psychology and effective pedagogy in higher education, and has published several non-fiction books on teaching, learning and academic writing. She runs regular writers' retreats for academics and students in Ireland and internationally.

Featured books by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Other books by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

A Strange Kind of Brave

A Strange Kind of Brave

Author: Sarah Moore Fitzgerald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/05/2019

What doesn't kill you makes you ... stronger? A poignant and gripping story about the power of fear, the resilience of love and the magic of food - from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald. Gripping, with an incredible twist that you simply won't see coming - Louise O'Neill This tale of friendship, betrayal, love, loss, revenge and obsession, written by a master storyteller, is quite literally unputdownable - Donal Ryan, Booker Prize shortlisted author I thought I had my top ten favourite novels decided, but now I think it will need some reworking, because A Strange Kind of Brave definitely deserves a place - Sadb, aged 16 Jake McCormack is the villain of Clanfedden. He's just killed a boy - deliberately run him over with his truck, on the bridge, in front of everyone. And he knows he'll get away with it. Luca, 14, is the new boy in town. He's looking for a fresh start after a terrible thing that happened at his old school. Clanfedden is a small forgotten town, but Luca and his mum are going to give it a go. They're opening an exciting restaurant, and Allie Redmond is coming to work there. Allie is honest and kind and Luca knows they're going to be friends. Allie has lived in Clanfedden all her life and these should be happy days - Luca is the best thing to have happened in years. But she's haunted by shadows of her own, and more than anyone she knows the danger of Jake McCormack. She needs to warn Luca. She needs to prevent disaster. At least she needs to try...

The List of Real Things

The List of Real Things

Author: Sarah Moore Fitzgerald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/09/2017

A poignant and big-hearted story about love, loss and believing in the magic of the imagination. The fourth novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following BACK TO BLACKBRICK, THE APPLE TART OF HOPE and A VERY GOOD CHANCE. Grace knows the difference between what's real and the strange ideas that float around in her little sister's mind. Their parents died - that's real. A secret hotel on the cliff-top where their parents are waiting - definitely NOT real. So when grief strikes again, Grace is determined not to let her sister's outlandish imagination spiral out of control. But the line between truth and fantasy is more complicated than it seems... 'Completely beguiling, and funny and tender and wise, with a heart as big and deep as the sea' - Piers Torday 'Poignant' - The Sunday Times 'A sparkling tale ... about loss, family and believing in magic' - Sarah Webb writing for the Irish Independent 'A book full of warmth, hope, and wonderfully unforgettable characters' - Zana Fraillon, author of The Bone Sparrow

All die verborgenen Dinge

All die verborgenen Dinge

Author: Sarah Moore Fitzgerald Format: eBook Release Date: 23/03/2017

Gluck ist (k)ein WunderUnten am Fluss liegt das Gluck. Genauer gesagt im Wohnwagen am Flussufer. Er ist einer dieser wenigen Orte auf der Welt, wo man sagen kann, was man denkt und sich nicht verstellen muss. Dort wohnt Ned. Er ist neu an Mintys Schule und so ganz anders als alle anderen. Die Mitschuler finden ihn seltsam, wollen nichts mit ihm zu tun haben. Aber Minty ist fasziniert. Ned traut sich, ganz er selbst zu sein, egal, was andere denken. Im Gegensatz zu Mintys Eltern, die sich gerade getrennt haben und so gar nicht sie selbst sind. Durch ihre Freundschaft zu Ned sieht Minty, was so vielen verborgen bleibt: Wir entscheiden selbst, wie wir die Welt sehen. Gluck ist kein Wunder, wir haben es selbst in der Hand.Authentisch, einfuhlsam und mit ganz viel Herz.

Das Apfelkuchenwunder oder Die Logik des Verschwindens

Das Apfelkuchenwunder oder Die Logik des Verschwindens

Author: Sarah Moore Fitzgerald Format: eBook Release Date: 20/08/2015

Ein wunderbares Buch uber das Anderssein, uber wahre und falsche Freundschaft und daruber, dass die Rettung manchmal von unerwarteter Seite kommtOscar ist Megs bester Freund. Er hat ein besonderes Gespur fur seine Mitmenschen und ist mit seinem Apfelkuchen stets zur Stelle, wenn er gebraucht wird. Doch als er selbst Hilfe braucht, ist Meg am anderen Ende der Welt. Und auch sonst ist niemand fur ihn da. Oscar verschwindet spurlos - und alle befurchten das Schlimmste. Alle, bis auf Meg. Sie ist fest entschlossen, herauszufinden, was wirklich passiert ist ...

The Apple Tart of Hope

The Apple Tart of Hope

Author: Sarah Moore Fitzgerald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/02/2015

The second sensational novel from the Waterstones Children's Book Prize winner Sarah Moore Fitzgerald. THE APPLE TART OF HOPE is a contemporary love story about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. The second breathtaking novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, BACK TO BLACKBRICK, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

Back to Blackbrick

Back to Blackbrick

Author: Sarah Moore Fitzgerald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/01/2014

The stunning debut novel from DUBRAYS No.1 Bestseller and SUNDAY TIMES Children's Book of the Week Winner Sarah Moore Fitzgerald. Partnered with ALZHEIMER'S RESEARCH this is a compassionate, humorous and moving story which tackles some big questions. 'The ghosts in your life don't ever really go away. Every so often they will whisper to you ... Don't worry about it too much.' When Cosmo keeps his promise to his granddad to go to Blackbrick, he finds himself in the forgotten corner of a distant past, one that his granddad has, strangely, never really talked about. Here friendships come to life, there are new beginnings, a lifetime of memories and everything is still possible... An extraordinary debut novel with a fantastic voice perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

Der Schlussel zu allem

Der Schlussel zu allem

Author: Sarah Moore Fitzgerald Format: eBook Release Date: 05/08/2013

Seit einiger Zeit ist Cosmos Grovater seltsam vergesslich und erinnert sich nicht einmal daran wer Cosmo uberhaupt ist. In einem kurzen, klaren Moment uberreicht er seinem Enkel einen Schlussel und bittet ihn nach Blackbrick zu fahren. Mitten in der Nacht macht Cosmo sich auf den Weg und steht plotzlich allein vor einem verfallenen Tor, hinter dem er ein dusteres Anwesen erkennen kann. Als er den Schlussel im Schloss herumdreht, offnet sich das alte Tor knarrend und fur Cosmo beginnt eine aufregende Zeitreise in die Vergangenheit seiner Familie. Kann er das Vergessen aufhalten und seine eigene Zukunft verndern?

Back to Blackbrick

Back to Blackbrick

Author: Sarah Moore Fitzgerald Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/01/2013

Cosmo's brother Brian died when he was ten years old. His mum hides her grief by working all the hours God sends and Cosmo lives with his grandparents. They've been carefree days as Granddad buys him a horse called John and teaches him all he knows about horses. But the good times have to come to an end and although he doesn't want to admit it, Cosmo knows his Granddad is losing his mind. So on one of the rare occasions when Granddad seems to recognise him, Cosmo is bemused that he gives him a key to Blackbrick Abbey and urges him to go there. Cosmo shrugs it off, but gradually Blackbrick draws him in... Cosmo arrives there, scared and lonely, and is dropped off at the crumbling gates of a huge house. As he goes in, the gates close, and when he turns to look, they're rusty and padlocked as if they haven't been opened in years. Cosmo finds himself face to face with his grandfather as a young man, and questions begin to form in his mind: can Cosmo change the course of his family's future?

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more