Jane Mackenzie - Author

About the Author

Jane MacKenzie has lived and worked in many far flung corners of the world, including the Gambia, Bahrain, Papua New Guinea and Switzerland. Having built her own business and enjoyed a spell working at CERN in Geneva, Jane realised her dream of writing. She splits her time between the Scottish Highlands and Roussillon in the South of France, the region which inspired Daughter of Catalonia.

Featured books by Jane Mackenzie

Daughter of Catalonia

Daughter of Catalonia

Author: Jane Mackenzie Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/04/2014

1935. Luis, a charismatic Spaniard, elopes with Elise and they move to a small village in Catalonia. But little do they know that war will soon rip them apart. Some twenty years later, stifled by her life in England, their daughter Madeleine sets off to learn the truth about her father's death in the French Resistance - returning to the village she once called home. Under the heat of the Catalan sun, she soon finds herself confronting her past, facing the shocking secrets of war, and opening her heart to her own love story.

Other books by Jane Mackenzie

Tapestry of War

Tapestry of War

Author: Jane Mackenzie Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/09/2018

From the deserts of North Africa, to the waters of Scotland, the Second World War touches the lives of two women from two very different worlds. In Alexandria, Fran finds her world turned upside down as Rommel's forces advance on the idyllic shores of Egypt. The life of luxury and stability that she is used to is taken away as she finds herself having to deal with loss, heartache and political uncertainty. Meanwhile, in the Firth of Clyde, Catriona works day in, day out nursing injured servicemen. Both have their lives challenged, and both dream of a more certain future with the men they come to love. Their heart-warming story takes them through tragedy to a quiet, hopeful triumph. Tapestry of War is a sweeping, evocative novel which brilliantly captures the second world war period of colonial Alexandria and the west of Scotland and will appeal to readers of Dinah Jeffries, Victoria Hislop and Rosie Thomas.

Tapestry of War

Tapestry of War

Author: Jane Mackenzie Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/04/2018

From the deserts of North Africa, to the waters of Scotland, the Second World War touches the lives of two women from two very different worlds. In Alexandria, Fran finds her world turned upside down as Rommel's forces advance on the idyllic shores of Egypt. The life of luxury and stability that she is used to is taken away as she finds herself having to deal with loss, heartache and political uncertainty. Meanwhile, in the Firth of Clyde, Catriona works day in, day out nursing injured servicemen. Both have their lives challenged, and both dream of a more certain future with the men they come to love. Their heart-warming story takes them through tragedy to a quiety, hopeful triumph. Tapestry of War is a sweeping, evocative novel which brilliantly captures the second world war period of colonial Alexandria and the west of Scotland and will appeal to readers of Dinah Jeffries, Victoria Hislop and Rosie Thomas.

Mediterranean Summer

Mediterranean Summer

Author: Jane Mackenzie Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/06/2017

Mediterranean Summer

Mediterranean Summer

Author: Jane Mackenzie Format: eBook Release Date: 31/05/2017

';Beautiful artist, beautiful woman, and beautiful lover.' May 1968 and Paris is hot with rebellion, passion and hope, as protestors clash with the riot police. Brilliant art student Laure stands boldly on the barricades, heady with her new-found defiance, and is swept into romance with Lolo, the fascinating student leader. But youthful rebellion comes at a cost. Two months later, the excitement is over. Laure heads home for the summer to Vermeilla, her picturesque Mediterranean village. She looks forward to the simplicity of village life, and to a summer in the sun with family and friends, but is aware that the new Laure may shock her little Catalan community. But even Vermeilla isn't protected from the forces of change. Shadows hang over both Laure and her village haven. Can she battle the menace that has followed her from Paris? And can she trust Robert, the aloof lawyer who may be the only one who can keep her safe? PRAISE FOR JANE MACKENZIE Mackenzie evocatively captures the beauty of the Banyuls region of France Daily Mail This . . . is a very satisfying story in many ways characters you believe in and care about, wonderful descriptions of French Catalonia and a strong plot Newsbooks Magazine

Autumn in Catalonia

Autumn in Catalonia

Author: Jane Mackenzie Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/10/2015

It is 1963, and in her mansion in the foothills of the Pyrenees, Joana idles her days away, banished by her powerful husband and alienated from her family. Meanwhile, in Barcelona, her daughter Carla is impoverished and in trouble.Hating all her parents stand for, Carla has embraced the student movement against the Franco regime, but her father has been watching her, and, just before their wedding, her beloved fiance is arrested.Pregnant Carla runs to grandmother Maria, terrified, powerless to help either Luc or herself. Maria shelters her, but they know their movements are still being followed. Why did her daughter Joana marry into the Franco regime and abandon her family? Maria has never understood.This is the story of three generations of women, torn apart by the Spanish Civil War, and by one determined man. It takes the arrival of an unknown cousin for them to start building bridges. Martin carries his own ghosts, but he has come looking for his family, and his belief in them helps them unite to face the enemy together, one autumn in Catalonia.This is a story in which love wins over evil, and belief brings hope, emerging victorious into the sunshine of the Catalonian landscape.

Daughter of Catalonia

Daughter of Catalonia

Author: Jane Mackenzie Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/04/2014

1935. Luis, a charismatic Spaniard, elopes with Elise and they move to a small village in Catalonia. But little do they know that war will soon rip them apart. Some twenty years later, stifled by her life in England, their daughter Madeleine sets off to learn the truth about her father's death in the French Resistance - returning to the village she once called home. Under the heat of the Catalan sun, she soon finds herself confronting her past, facing the shocking secrets of war, and opening her heart to her own love story.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more