LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Stella Gemmell - Author

About the Author

Stella Gemmell was married to the internationally acclaimed and bestselling fantasy novelist David Gemmell. She worked with him on his three Troy novels, completing the final book, Troy: Fall of Kings, following his death in 2006. She lives and writes in East Sussex. The City is her first solo novel.

Featured books by Stella Gemmell

The Immortal Throne

The Immortal Throne

Author: Stella Gemmell Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/03/2016

As the City struggles to return to something resembling normal life after the devastation brought on by the rebellion, word arises of a massive army gathering to the north. No one knows where it has come from or who leads it, but it soon becomes apparent that its sole purpose is to destroy the City and annihilate all - man, woman and child - who live within its battered walls. And while warriors go forth to fight and die on the battlefield in defence of their homeland and all that they believe in, bitter family feuds and ancient rivalries, political and personal betrayals, and mindless murder surface within the palaces and corridors of power: it seems the City is under siege - from both without and within...With this new novel, Stella Gemmell brings the astonishing story of the City to a spectacular climax and confirms her place as a master of the genre.

ebook of the month
The City

The City

Author: Stella Gemmell Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/04/2014

The City is ancient and vast and has been waging almost constant war for centuries. At its heart resides the emperor. Few have ever seen him. Those who have remember a man in his prime - and yet he should be very old. Some speculate that he is no longer human, others wonder if indeed he ever truly was. And a few have come to a desperate conclusion: that the only way to halt the emperor's unslakebale thirst for war is to end his unnaturally long life. From the crumbling catacombs beneath the City where the poor struggle to stay alive to the blood-soaked fields of battle where so few heroes survive, these rebels emerge. Their hopes rest on one man. A man who was once the emperor's foremost general - a revered soldier who could lead an uprising and iliberate a city, a man who was betrayed, imprisoned, tortured and is now believed to be dead...

ebook of the month

Other books by Stella Gemmell

The Immortal Throne

The Immortal Throne

Author: Stella Gemmell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/02/2017

Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones, Joe Abercrombie and Robin Hobb, this is the thrilling and captivating sequel to The City from bestselling author Stella Gemmell. A novelist of real power...Packed with shock twists, revelations and action...you'll be left breathless -- SFX A brutal visual world...vivid, motivated characters each with a heart-breaking history...thrilling and devastating...a true epic. -- scifi now Demands your complete and total attention...a very powerful voice in the world of fantasy. Highly recommended. -- Parmenion books Loved the book!...It was all brought together marvellously. Definitely well worth reading- enjoy! -- ***** Reader review A lively follow up to the City, right up there in the David Gemmell tradition. Stella has created a whole new fictional land which the imagination can picture through the descriptive text. -- ***** Reader review ************************************ THE EMPEROR IS DEAD...LONG LIVE THE EMPEROR! The fervent hope of the victorious rebels and the survivors of the uprising that liberated the City from tyranny is that the accession of Archange to the imperial throne will usher in a new era of freedom, peace and stability. If only that were so... As the City struggles to return to something resembling normal life after the devastation brought on by the rebellion, word arises of a massive army gathering to the north. Its origins are a mystery, but it soon becomes apparent that its sole purpose is to destroy the City and all who live within its walls. And while warriors go forth to fight and die on the battlefield in defence of their homeland, bitter family feuds, ancient rivalries, political and personal betrayals, and mindless murder surface within the palaces and corridors of power: it seems the City is under siege - from both without and within... Have you read The City, Stella Gemmell's awe-inspiring prequel to The Immortal Throne?

Troy: Fall Of Kings

Troy: Fall Of Kings

Author: Stella Gemmell, David Gemmell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/03/2008

'In my pantheon of literary greats, David Gemmell stands alone . . . he put me on the path I still walk today' CONN IGGULDEN Darkness falls on the Great Green, and the Ancient World is fiercely divided. On the killing fields outside the golden city of Troy, forces loyal to the Mykene King mass. Among them is Odysseus, fabled storyteller and reluctant ally to the Mykene, who knows that he must soon face his former friends in deadly combat. Within the city, the Trojan king waits. Ailing and bitter, his hope is pinned on two heroes: his favourite son Hektor, and the dread Helikaon who will wreak terrible vengeance for the death of his wife at Mykene hands. War has been declared. As enemies, who are also kinsmen, are filled with bloodlust, they know that many of them will die, and that some will become heroes: heroes who will live for ever in a story that will echo down the centuries. Gripping and fast-paced, intelligent and intensely readable...should appeal to anyone who enjoys an action-packed historical epic (Joanne Harris)

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more