Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Reay Tannahill - Author

About the Author

Reay Tannahill was born in Glasgow in 1929. She wrote two non-fiction bestsellers, FOOD IN HISTORY and SEX IN HISTORY and won the 1990 Romantic Novel of the Year Award for PASSING GLORY. She died in 2007.

Featured books by Reay Tannahill

A Dark and Distant Shore

A Dark and Distant Shore

Author: Reay Tannahill Format: Paperback Release Date: 13/03/2014

 Reay Tannahill's great bestseller is the story of an extraordinary woman's determination to win back her birthright - the remote and beautiful West Highland castle of Kinveil - sold by her father to a Glasgow merchant when she was seven years old. It is also the intricate picture of a family in the heyday of the British Empire, an epic story spanning almost a hundred years and stretching from Edinburgh to the Crimea, from an expanding America to the India of the Raj.

Other books by Reay Tannahill

Fatal Majesty

Fatal Majesty

Author: Reay Tannahill Format: eBook Release Date: 13/10/2015

In Fatal Majesty, critically acclaimed novelist Reay Tannahill immerses readers in the tragedy of Mary, Queen of Scots-but this is not a conventional retelling of a fascinating yet familiar tale.Eighteen-year-old Mary returns from the sophisticated French court to claim her throne in cold, backward Scotland. A gloomy reception proves least among the na?ve young monarch's challenges: her arrival provides the opportunity for smoldering vendettas to explode and for intricate conspiracies to form and then unravel-intrigue besets her on every side. Mary's self-righteous brother, James, seeks to rule in her place; her brilliant Secretary of State, Lethington, dedicates his energies to placing the Stuarts on the throne of England; and her cousin, Elizabeth I, dazzling and unscrupulous, fears Mary as a threat to her crown and to her life.Mingling a poet's passion with an historian's insight, Tannahill chronicles an era of easy violence, desperate action, and grand conspiracy. In Fatal Majesty, masterful characterization combines with lightning pace and classic plotting to deliver a tragic romantic saga with all the complexity of a major political thriller.

A Dark and Distant Shore

A Dark and Distant Shore

Author: Reay Tannahill Format: Paperback Release Date: 13/03/2014

 Reay Tannahill's great bestseller is the story of an extraordinary woman's determination to win back her birthright - the remote and beautiful West Highland castle of Kinveil - sold by her father to a Glasgow merchant when she was seven years old. It is also the intricate picture of a family in the heyday of the British Empire, an epic story spanning almost a hundred years and stretching from Edinburgh to the Crimea, from an expanding America to the India of the Raj.

The Seventh Son A Unique Portrait of Richard III

The Seventh Son A Unique Portrait of Richard III

Author: Reay Tannahill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/02/2013

A superb historical novel about Richard III, the notorious hunchback king whose burial site was recently uncovered, which will appeal to fans of Josephine Tey's THE DAUGHTER OF TIME, Philippa Gregory's THE KINGMAKER'S DAUGHTER, and readers of Hilary Mantel. At the heart of this stunning novel is the complex human being known to history as Richard III, a king whose reign is darkened by the murder of the young Princes in the Tower, but who also found a touching love with the woman he married, and possessed immense courage. As goes the old adage 'history is written by the victors', so Richard III's own story was corrupted by the spokesman of the Tudor regime, William Shakespeare. And yet here is a man who inspired loyalty and hatred in almost equal measure, until at last the implacable enmity of one woman brought about his downfall. In this classic novel, the paradox of England's most enigmatic king is vividly brought to life. It is a family drama in the grand tradition, a tale of brother against brother, cousin against cousin, of love, hate and intrigue, of women inescapably entangled in the fates of their men, and of a mystery that has exercised people's minds for more than five hundred years.

Having the Decorators in

Having the Decorators in

Author: Reay Tannahill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2008

After months of Having the Builders In, Dame Constance's castle, Vine Regis, is her own again. Finally she can begin decorating her new extension. Or so she thinks... Unfortunately it's not just her Italian decorator's choice of colours that are revolting - the townsfolk are at it too. Murderous rebels are rumoured to be on the rampage. But whilst Dame Constance takes the news in her stride her neighbours are running for cover at Vine Regis! As meddlesome merchants, pesky pilgrims and rowdy relatives descend, Constance's dreams of interior design disappear. This simply won't do; Dame Constance should be picking out patterns, not picking up after uninvited guests. But as Lady of the Castle she must do her duty. Unless, of course, she can devise a way to get rid of them... Having the Decorators In is deliciously delightful and infinitely more entertaining than watching paint dry.

Having the Builders in

Having the Builders in

Author: Reay Tannahill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2007

Dame Constance de Clair has a remarkable talent for getting what she wants. And, at this precise moment, she wants to transform her overly square castle, Vine Regis, by adding an extension. But all is not going according to plan... Quite apart from the fact that Constance's builders seem more intent on demolishing the existing castle than building the extension; her son's wife-to-be is determined to dislodge her as Lady of the Castle; her son appears more interested in going hunting than getting married; the French are threatening to invade; and to top it all off, there appears to be thievery afoot. Something is going to have to be done before the estate begins to crumble (quite literally, at this rate) but the question is what...? Delightfully witty and utterly charming this novel is for anyone today who has ever had, or contemplated...Having the Builders In.

Sex In History

Sex In History

Author: Reay Tannahill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/1989

SEX IN HISTORY chronicles the pleasures- and perils- of the flesh from the time of mankind's distant ancestors to the modern day; from a sexual act which was bried, crude and purposeful, to the myriad varieties of contemporary sexual mores. Reay Tannahill's scholarly, yet accessible study ranges from the earliest form of contraception (one Egyptian concoction included crocodile dung) to some latter- day misconceptions about it- like the men who joined their lovers in taking the pill 'just to be on the safe side.' It surveys all manner of sexual practice, preference and position (the acrobatic 'wheelbarrow' position, the strenuous 'hovering butterflies' position...) and draws on souces as diverse as THE ADMIRABLE DISCOURSES OF THE PLAIN GIRL, the EXHIBTION OF FEMALE FLAGELLANTS, IMPORTANT MATTERS OF THE JADE CHAMBER and THE ROMANCE OF CHASTISEMENT. Whether writing on androgyny, courtly love, flagellation or zoophilia, Turkish eunuch's Greek dildoes, Taoist sex manuals or Japanses geisha girls, Reay Tannahill is consistently enlightening and entertaining.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more