Margaret Graham - Author

About the Author

Margaret Graham is a bestselling author and has been writing for thirty years. Her first novel was published in 1986 and since then she has written a further twelve novels, and is now working on her fourteenth. As a bestselling author her novels have been published in the UK, Europe and the USA. Margaret has written two plays, co-researched a television documentary - which grew out of Canopy of Silence, and has written numerous short stories and features. She is a writing tutor and speaker and has written regularly for Writers' Forum. She also created and runs the Yeovil Literary Prize to raise funds for the creative arts of the Yeovil area. Now living near High Wycombe she is about to launch a flash fiction writing prize to raise funds for the rehabilitation of wounded troops.

Featured books by Margaret Graham

A Time for Courage

A Time for Courage

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/12/2014

This is a gripping story of courage in the face of a world in turmoil. It is previously published as A Measure of Peace. Born into a repressive Victorian household, Hannah Watson learns early of the need for courage and dignity - in the face of her father's tyranny. She soon follows her own path, to become a teacher and campaigner for women's rights. But standing up for her ideals brings Hannah savage penalties - and conflicts of loyalty. With the outbreak of war in 1914 Hannah is faced with new pressures: the joy of discovering the man she passionately loves, but the strains of knowing that his life is in constant danger.

Somewhere Over England

Somewhere Over England

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/01/2014

This is a heart-wrenching wartime novel of shame, betrayal, loyalty and love. It is previously published as A Fragment of Time. In England in the 1930s, eighteen-year-old Helen Carstairs braves the prejudice of friends and family to marry Heine, a young German photographer who has fled the growing horror of the Nazis. But the storm clouds are gathering in Europe. When fighting breaks out Heine is interned, their small son is evacuated and Helen is left to face the Blitz alone. And the agony of war threatens to divide a family already tormented by conflicting passions of loyalty, shame, betrayal - and love.

Other books by Margaret Graham

A House Divided An Easterleigh Hall Novel

A House Divided An Easterleigh Hall Novel

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/05/2016

As the storm clouds gather over Europe, life at Easterleigh Hall is about to change again 1937 Evie and her family have struggled to keep Easterleigh Hall, now a hotel, running during the depression, and with war looming, she worries for the children, who have to find their way in a changing world. Bridie is learning her trade at her mother Evie's side, and is becoming a talented chef. Her cousin James has run away to fight in Spain, leaving the family devastated. And Tim, the boy Bridie has always loved, shocks everyone by joining the Black Shirts and going to Germany, discovering too late that he's playing a dangerous game. Heartbroken at Tim's defection, Bridie isn't sure she can ever forgive him. But somehow these three must find a way to reconcile, because if war does come, they will need each other more than ever...

Easterleigh Hall at War

Easterleigh Hall at War

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 21/05/2015

The second novel in a compelling new series set in County Durham just before and during the First World War. England is at war and Easterleigh Hall has been turned into a hospital for the duration of the hostilities. With its army of volunteers and wounded servicemen, cook Evie Forbes is determined that everyone will be properly provided for, despite the threat of rationing and dwindling supplies. All the while she waits for letters from her fiance and beloved brother, fighting on the Western Front. Then the worst happens - a telegram arrives with shattering news. And Evie wonders if she'll have the strength to carry on...

WJEC Eduqas GCSE English Literature: Student Book

WJEC Eduqas GCSE English Literature: Student Book

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/04/2015

This Literature Student Book develops the key skills that students will be assessed on in Component 1 and Component 2 of the WJEC GCSE English Literature qualification. The book offers comprehensive skills-focused support for all elements of the qualification, with particular emphasis on the poetry anthology and unseen poetry requirements. Through the focus on the Assessment Objectives and skills, students will be able to apply the skills they are developing to their specific set texts. Through a range of example texts, activities, stretch and support features as well as tips and key terms, this book helps students of all abilities develop their literature response skills. With marked sample student responses at different levels, students can improve their own responses and gain an enhanced understanding of the skills required to succeed in the exams. In addition to the regular peer and self-assessment activities, teachers can monitor progress through the sample exam paper questions.

At the Break of Day

At the Break of Day

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/03/2015

A compelling novel about a young woman's determination to make something of herself in a post-Second World War world full of struggle and austerity. Previously published as The Future is Ours. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Ellie Dean. It is 1946, and as Europe slowly picks itself up after the trauma of war, Rosie Norton faces a bright future in America. Evacuated in 1939 by her grandfather, she escaped the cramped streets of London to a new world in Pennsylvania. Suddenly, at the age of sixteen, she is called home to a Britain bruised by war and still suffering the hardships that America knows nothing about. While struggling to become accepted again by her family she is supported by her childhood sweetheart Jack. Until Jack is sent to war in Korea and a homeless Rosie, together with the child he doesn't know they have, is left to fend for herself in London.

A Time for Courage

A Time for Courage

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/12/2014

This is a gripping story of courage in the face of a world in turmoil. It is previously published as A Measure of Peace. Born into a repressive Victorian household, Hannah Watson learns early of the need for courage and dignity - in the face of her father's tyranny. She soon follows her own path, to become a teacher and campaigner for women's rights. But standing up for her ideals brings Hannah savage penalties - and conflicts of loyalty. With the outbreak of war in 1914 Hannah is faced with new pressures: the joy of discovering the man she passionately loves, but the strains of knowing that his life is in constant danger.

Easterleigh Hall

Easterleigh Hall

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/10/2014

The first book in a compelling series set in County Durham just before the First World War. Perfect for fans of Longbourn and Downton Abbey. When Evie Forbes starts as an assistant cook at Easterleigh Hall, she goes against her family's wishes. For ruthless Lord Brampton also owns the mine where Evie's father and brothers work and there is animosity between the two families. But Evie is determined to better herself. And her training at the hall offers her a way out of a life below stairs. Evie works hard and gains a valued place in the household. And her dream of running a small hotel grows ever closer. Then War is declared and all their lives are thrown into turmoil.

Somewhere Over England

Somewhere Over England

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/01/2014

This is a heart-wrenching wartime novel of shame, betrayal, loyalty and love. It is previously published as A Fragment of Time. In England in the 1930s, eighteen-year-old Helen Carstairs braves the prejudice of friends and family to marry Heine, a young German photographer who has fled the growing horror of the Nazis. But the storm clouds are gathering in Europe. When fighting breaks out Heine is interned, their small son is evacuated and Helen is left to face the Blitz alone. And the agony of war threatens to divide a family already tormented by conflicting passions of loyalty, shame, betrayal - and love.

Annie's Promise

Annie's Promise

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/12/2013

A compelling and moving novel of life in war-torn 1950s Northumberland and London. In the mid-1950s, Britain looks forward to a prosperous future. And Annie Manon has come home to the North-east to keep a promise. Annie is eager to start a new life for her family, and with her fledgling fashion business, she looks forward to providing work for the women of Wassingham. But not everything is rosy. As well as her painful wartime memories, Annie must cope with an accident that cripples her husband and she must deal with the increasingly unreasonable behaviour of their daughter Sarah. When Sarah leaves home for London, Annie is torn between love for her only child and the need to keep her promise to her community...

After the Storm Family Saga

After the Storm Family Saga

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/08/2013

A captivating and heartwarming story of love and loss in a time of war and its aftermath. Previously published as Only The Wind is Free. Born into hardship in a Northumbrian mining village, Annie Manon needs all her strength to survive the bleak years following the First World War. As her family fractures around her, she longs to make something of her life. Through hard work and determination Annie eventually leaves the poverty and despair of her childhood behind her. But then war breaks out once more, taking her further away from her dreams and those she loves most. And it is all Annie can do to keep hope alive...

Canopy Of Silence

Canopy Of Silence

Author: Margaret Graham Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/05/2013

Deborah Morgan, an only child, is unwanted by her parents, who only have time for each other; as a result, she leaves Somerset and follows sheep farmer Patrick Prover to Australia, but finds herself an outsider there too, especially when Patrick leaves her to run the farm alone. She embarks on an ill-advised affair but soon returns to her loveless marriage, pouring all her love into the care of her baby son.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.margaret-graham.com

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more