LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Nathan Filer - Author

About the Author

Nathan Filer is a registered mental health nurse. He is also a performance poet, contributing regularly to literary events across the UK. His work has been broadcast on television and radio. The Shock of the Fall is his first novel.

Featured books by Nathan Filer

Other books by Nathan Filer

This Book Will Change Your Mind About Mental Health

This Book Will Change Your Mind About Mental Health

Author: Nathan Filer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/12/2019

'I cannot recommend it highly enough.' Caitlin Moran 'Brims with compassion and wit.' Cathy Rentzenbrink 'Absolutely blew me away.' Jo Brand 'Brilliant . . . I love it.' Phillippa Perry 'I have never read a more powerful book about mental health.' Joanna Cannon A journey into the heartland of psychiatry. This book debunks myths, challenges assumptions and offers fresh insight into what it means to be mentally ill. And what it means to be human. This Book Will Change Your Mind About Mental Health was previously published in 2019 in hardback under the title The Heartland.

The Heartland

The Heartland

Author: Nathan Filer Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/06/2019

'BRILLIANT. I don't understand how a book on this subject can be so enjoyable, but it is. I love it.' PHILIPPA PERRY 'Absolutely blew me away... I cannot think of another book in the field that would come close to this. In my opinion it is an essential read for those in the mental health arena and anyone whose relative has been touched with a diagnosis of schizophrenia.' JO BRAND 'Erudite, well-researched, and full of compassion... This book will change the way people understand schizophrenia, and that change is long overdue.' CHRISTIE WATSON, author of The Language of Kindness 'A truly important book. ' MAX PORTER, author of Grief is the Thing with Feathers and Lanny 'BRILLIANT... I don't understand how a book on this subject can be so enjoyable but it is. I love it.' PHILIPPA PERRY, author of The Book You Wish Your Parents Had Read 'The Heartland is a brilliant, beautiful and bold book. It is illuminating and empathetic and needs to be read by all.' BRYONY GORDON, author of Mad Girl 'I have never read a more powerful book about mental health. it has the ability to change the way people think about mental illness.' JOANNA CANNON, author of The Trouble with Goats and Sheep 'This is a beautifully written book that brims with compassion and wit. The tone remains questing and buoyant even as we move through lives devastated by so-called schizophrenia. I hope it will be widely read and discussed.' Cathy Rentzenbrink, The Times Schizophrenia: whether it's the associations it conjures or the people it brings to mind, it is a word we all have a view on. How we perceive it - and how we treat people living with it - is at the core of how we understand mental health. But what do we really know? How much time do we spend listening? Do we truly comprehend this complex and often contradictory diagnosis? In The Heartland Nathan Filer, mental health nurse and award winning writer, takes us on a journey into the psychiatric wards he once worked on. He also invites us to spend time with world-leading experts, and with some extraordinary people who share their own stories - true stories - about living with this strange and misunderstood condition. The Heartland debunks myths, challenges assumptions and offers fresh insight into what it means to be mad. And what it means to be human. *This book is available in four different colour combinations. We cannot guarantee which colour you will receive with your order.* p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 14.0px Times; color: #424242}

The Heartland

The Heartland

Author: Nathan Filer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/06/2019

'BRILLIANT. I don't understand how a book on this subject can be so enjoyable, but it is. I love it.' PHILIPPA PERRY 'Absolutely blew me away... I cannot think of another book in the field that would come close to this. In my opinion it is an essential read for those in the mental health arena and anyone whose relative has been touched with a diagnosis of schizophrenia.' JO BRAND 'Erudite, well-researched, and full of compassion... This book will change the way people understand schizophrenia, and that change is long overdue.' CHRISTIE WATSON, author of The Language of Kindness 'A truly important book. ' MAX PORTER, author of Grief is the Thing with Feathers and Lanny 'I have never read a more powerful book about mental health. it has the ability to change the way people think about mental illness.' JOANNA CANNON, author of The Trouble with Goats and Sheep Schizophrenia: whether it's the associations it conjures or the people it brings to mind, it is a word we all have a view on. How we perceive it - and how we treat people living with it - is at the core of how we understand mental health. But what do we really know? How much time do we spend listening? Do we truly comprehend this complex and often contradictory diagnosis? In The Heartland Nathan Filer, mental health nurse and award winning writer, takes us on a journey into the psychiatric wards he once worked on. He also invites us to spend time with world-leading experts, and with some extraordinary people who share their own stories - true stories - about living with this strange and misunderstood condition. The Heartland debunks myths, challenges assumptions and offers fresh insight into what it means to be mad. And what it means to be human.

Nachruf auf den Mond

Nachruf auf den Mond

Author: Nathan Filer Format: eBook Release Date: 25/02/2015

Der preisgekronte Uberraschungserfolg aus Grobritannien endlich im Taschenbuch!Matthew Homes ist ein begnadeter Erzhler und Patient der Psychiatrischen Klinik in Bristol. Um dort dem trostlosen Alltag zu entfliehen, schreibt er seine Geschichte auf - und die seines Bruders Simon, der im Alter von elf Jahren whrend des Campingurlaubs in Cornwall starb. Selbst nach zehn Jahren gibt sich Matthew immer noch die Schuld am Unfalltod seines Bruders. Doch eigentlich ist Simon fr ihn gar nicht tot - und Matthew auch kein gewhnlicher 19-Jhriger. Denn Matthew leidet an Schizophrenie

The Shock of the Fall

The Shock of the Fall

Author: Nathan Filer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/03/2014

WINNER OF THE COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR 2013 WINNER OF POPULAR FICTION FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR 2014 'I'll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name's Simon. I think you're going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he'll be dead. And he was never the same after that.' There are books you can't stop reading, which keep you up all night. There are books which let us into the hidden parts of life and make them vividly real. There are books which, because of the sheer skill with which every word is chosen, linger in your mind for days. The Shock of the Fall is all of these books. The Shock of the Fall is an extraordinary portrait of one man's descent into mental illness. It is a brave and groundbreaking novel from one of the most exciting new voices in fiction.

Shock of the Fall

Shock of the Fall

Author: Nathan Filer Format: eBook Release Date: 30/01/2014

WINNER OF THE COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR 2013 WINNER OF POPULAR FICTION FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR 2014 `I'll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name's Simon. I think you're going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he'll be dead. And he was never the same after that.' The Shock of the Fall is an extraordinary portrait of one man's descent into mental illness. It is a brave and groundbreaking novel from one of the most exciting new voices in fiction.

Best Fiction Debuts 2013: Free Sampler

Best Fiction Debuts 2013: Free Sampler

A free sampler containing extracts from the very best fiction debuts of 2013THE SHOCK OF THE FALL by Nathan Filer, an extraordinary portrait of one man's descent into mental illness. This is a brave and groundbreaking novel from one of the most exciting new voices in fiction.SEATING ARRANGEMENTS by Maggie Shipstead, a multi-award-winning, New York Times bestseller which follows the Van Meter family as they prepare for their daughter's New England wedding.INDISCRETION by Charles Dubow, a novel about the complexities of love, the dangerous nature of desire and how obsession can tear apart even the most perfect of worlds.THE PALACE OF CURIOSITIES by Rosie Garland, a luminous and bewitching novel that follows the fortunes of Eve, the Lion-Faced Girl and Abel, the Flayed Man. A magical realism delight.And exclusive pre-publication extracts from:THE GRAVITY OF BIRDS by Tracy Guzeman, a haunting tale of family, forbidden love affairs and long-buried secrets.THE GOLEM AND THE DJINNI by Helene Wecker, a magical tale set in turn-of-the-century Manhattan and perfect for fans of The Night Circus and The Snow Child.

Shock of the Fall Free Sampler

Shock of the Fall Free Sampler

Author: Nathan Filer Format: eBook Release Date: 09/05/2013

WINNER OF THE COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR 2013'I'll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name's Simon. I think you're going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he'll be dead. And he was never the same after that.'It is recommended readers use the Publisher's Fonts.There are books you can't stop reading, which keep you up all night.There are books which let us into the hidden parts of life and make them vividly real.There are books which, because of the sheer skill with which every word is chosen, linger in your mind for days.The Shock of the Fall is all of these books.The Shock of the Fall is an extraordinary portrait of one man's descent into mental illness. It is a brave and groundbreaking novel from one of the most exciting new voices in fiction.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.nathanfiler.co.uk

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more