Ben Cheetham - Author

About the Author

Ben Cheetham's short stories have been widely published in the UK, US and Australia. Ben lives in Sheffield, where he can usually be found racking his brain for the next provocative thriller in the STEEL CITY series.

Featured books by Ben Cheetham

Angel of Death A Steel City Thriller

Angel of Death A Steel City Thriller

Author: Ben Cheetham Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/05/2014

There is a fashion for detectives to be troubled, damaged souls and our archetype detective here, Jim Monahan, is suffering from the effects of his divorce.  He is vulnerable, honest, clever and disobedient, just as he should be.  This is a meaty tale of a paedophile ring of long-standing that involves the good and the great, all very sickening with plenty of action involving shootings, suicide, prostitution, kidnapping – the lot.  Fairly zipping along, it concerns a former prostitute seeking revenge on those who have abused her.

eBooks of the Month
Blood Guilt

Blood Guilt

Author: Ben Cheetham Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/12/2013

'Last night, eight-year old Ethan Reed was abducted at gunpoint from his home by an armed intruder. We are urging members of the public to get in touch. A coordinated search of the local area will be carried out.'Four years ago, Detective Inspector Harlan Miller killed someone. Now - divorced, alone, consumed by guilt - the world outside his prison walls holds little for him. Until, mere days after his release, an eight-year-old boy is abducted. Ethan Reed. The son of the man he killed. Frustrated by a police search that finds nothing, driven to desperation by repeated appeals that bring in no new leads, Ethan's mother knocks on the door of the man she has reason to hate most in the world. She has one question to ask - beg - of Harlan Miller. Find her little boy. Do whatever it takes.

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Ben Cheetham

Missing Ones Trilogy

Missing Ones Trilogy

Author: Ben Cheetham Format: Ebook Release Date: 22/12/2017

1993. A trip to the cinema turns into a nightmare for Anna Young and her little sister Jessica, when two men throw thirteen-year-old Jessica into the back of a van and speed away. 1997. Fifteen-year-old Grace Kirby kisses her mum goodbye and heads off to school. It's a day like any other, except that Grace will never return home. 2012. Melinda (surname and age unknown) has been missing for weeks. The police would normally be all over it, but Melinda is a prostitute. Women in that line of work are the perfect victims. Most are runaways and drug addicts, leading transient existences. She probably just moved on. Jessica, Grace and Melinda are not the only ones who have gone missing. There are others. Lots of them. On the surface, their disappearances don't appear to be connected. But one man is convinced otherwise. When DI Jim Monahan is called to a fatal shooting, he comes to realise the case is only part of a bigger picture - one that he becomes hell-bent on exposing to the world. But a shadowy ring of powerful people will do anything to prevent that from happening. Over the course of three books, Jim's investigation leads him down a rabbit hole of murder, depravity and corruption that will test his faith in the law to breaking-point. From the bestselling author of Blood Guilt and The Lost Ones, comes a hard-hitting trilogy that will have you questioning how far you would go to see justice done. Praise for Angel of Death, Justice for the Damned and Spider's Web: 'An incredible tour-de-force that will grip you like a vice and keep you in its tight hold until the very last page' CrimeSquad. 'Fast-paced ... entertaining, violent and gritty ... A thriller and a whodunit (just who is the Chief Bastard?)' Crime Thriller Hound. 'It's wonderfully written ... you really can't afford to miss this' Falcata Times. 'The sheer relentless pace of a story as relevant as today's news sucks in the reader ... this accomplished thriller builds to a bloody climax and Cheetham's denouement provides a satisfying final twist' CrimeReview.

Spider's Web

Spider's Web

Author: Ben Cheetham Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/05/2016

How long would you keep searching? 1993. A trip to the cinema turns into a nightmare for Anna and her little sister Jessica when two men throw thirteen-year-old Jessica into the back of a van and speed away. The years tick by... Tick, tick... The police fail to find Jessica and her name fades from the public consciousness... Tick, tick... But every time Anna closes her eyes she's back in that terrible moment, lurching towards Jessica, grabbing for her. So close. So agonisingly close... Tick, tick... Now in her thirties, Anna has no career, no relationship, no children. She's consumed by one purpose - finding Jessica, dead or alive. DI Jim Monahan has a little black book with forty-two names in it. Jim's determined to put every one of those names behind bars, but his investigation is going nowhere fast. Then a twenty-year-old clue brings Jim and Anna together in search of a shadowy figure known as Spider. Who is Spider? Where is Spider? Does Spider have the answers they want? The only thing Jim and Anna know is that the victims Spider entices into his web have a habit of ending up missing or dead. Praise for Ben Cheetham: 'Fast-moving action and lots of twists' The Times. 'One of the most powerful, disturbing, but brilliantly written books I've ever had the privilege to read' Breakaway Reviewers. 'Breath-taking. This really is a fantastic crime thriller' Atticus Finch, Top 500 Amazon reviewer. 'Fast-paced, thoroughly researched, and heart-breaking' CrimeSquad.

Justice for the Damned

Justice for the Damned

Author: Ben Cheetham Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/05/2015

She woke up to the realisation that she was lying in an awkward heap on the mattress. Her eyes roamed the room like those of a lost little child. Where am I? she wondered. How did I get here? Then the masked figure loomed into view and she remembered and all the fear came rushing back. 'That's it,' said her captor, his voice tauntingly soft. 'Breathe, breathe.' There were no dead young women. There was no serial killer. Or at least that's what they said. A Sheffield prostitute has disappeared. With no family to fight for her, she's just the latest in a long line of missing girls stretching back three decades. Nobody cares about their names. Nobody remembers their faces. They are the unloved, the damaged, the forgotten, the damned... Rumours of a serial killer have long circulated. But the police's top brass don't want to know about it. Talk of serial killers panics the public and embarrasses the department... DI Reece Geary and DI Jim Monahan are two very different detectives, each driven by their own dangerous obsessions: Geary, in love with a prostitute, will to anything to get her off the streets, while Monahan is on the trail of a psychopath hiding behind a facade of respectability. Both will be drawn into a murky world of perversion, murder and corruption that reaches much deeper than either man could have imagined... From the bestselling author of Blood Guilt, Angel of Death, Spider's Web and The Lost Ones comes an addictive serial killer thriller that will have you wondering how far you would go to see justice done. Perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, Angela Marsons and Robert Bryndza. What people are saying about Justice For The Damned: 'A raw, disturbing and utterly compelling story ... the pace doesn't let up until the final pages ... you may want to sleep with the lights on after reading' CrimeSquad. 'A gritty tale of troubled relationships ... There's some great black comedy ... The ending is, in keeping with the rest of the book, brutal' Crime Thriller Hound. 'Wow!!! A brilliant book that pulls no punches ... If you like crime books, then this is a must read' Goodreads reviewer, 5 Stars.