Sophia Tobin - Author

About the Author

Sophia Tobin worked for a Bond Street antique dealer for six years, specialising in silver and jewellery. Inspired by research she made into a real life eighteenth-century silversmith, Tobin began to write The Silversmith's Wife which was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize, judged by Sophie Hannah. She is currently Library Secretary for the Worshipful Company of Goldsmith's and lives in London with her husband. This is her first novel.

Featured books by Sophia Tobin

The Silversmith's Wife

The Silversmith's Wife

Author: Sophia Tobin Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/11/2014

The year is 1792 and it's winter in Berkeley Square. As the city sleeps, the night-watchman keeps a cautious eye over the streets and another eye in the back doors of the great and the good. Then one fateful night he comes across the body of Pierre Renard, the eponymous silversmith, lying dead, his throat cut and his valuables missing. It could be common theft, committed by one of the many villains who stalk the square, but as news of the murder spreads, it soon becomes clear that Renard had more than a few enemies, all with their own secrets to hide. At the centre of this web is Mary, the silversmith's wife. Ostensibly theirs was an excellent pairing, but behind closed doors their relationship was a dark and at times sadistic one and when we meet her, Mary is withdrawn and weak, haunted by her past and near-mad with guilt. Will she attain the redemption she seeks and what, exactly, does she need redemption for...? Rich, intricate and beautifully told, this is a story of murder, love and buried secrets.

The Silversmith's Wife

The Silversmith's Wife

Author: Sophia Tobin Format: Hardback Release Date: 16/01/2014

The year is 1792 and it's winter in Berkeley Square. As the city sleeps, the night-watchman keeps a cautious eye over the streets and another eye in the back doors of the great and the good. Then one fateful night he comes across the body of Pierre Renard, the eponymous silversmith, lying dead, his throat cut and his valuables missing. It could be common theft, committed by one of the many villains who stalk the square, but as news of the murder spreads, it soon becomes clear that Renard had more than a few enemies, all with their own secrets to hide. At the centre of this web is Mary, the silversmith's wife. Ostensibly theirs was an excellent pairing, but behind closed doors their relationship was a dark and at times sadistic one and when we meet her, Mary is withdrawn and weak, haunted by her past and near-mad with guilt. Will she attain the redemption she seeks and what, exactly, does she need redemption for…? Rich, intricate and beautifully told, this is a story of murder, love and buried secrets.

Other books by Sophia Tobin

The Vanishing

The Vanishing

Author: Sophia Tobin Format: Paperback Release Date: 25/01/2018

'Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but ten times darker, and you have The Vanishing ... as dark and eerie and gothic as the Yorkshire Moors it is set on. One to curl up by the fire with on a windy night' Stylist On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester. When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape... Already a Sunday Times bestselling author with her first novel, The Vanishing confirms Sophia Tobin as a rising star. Stunning, twisting historical fiction for fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier. `Undeniably page-turning' Mail on Sunday `Entertaining' Times `Vivid, absorbing and wonderfully gothic, with shades of Sarah Waters and Emily and Charlotte Bronte' Kate Riordan `Brilliantly Bronte-esque. Perfect reading for a stormy night' Anna Mazzola `A vivid sense of the period ... which stays with the reader long after the final page' the i `The plotting is skilful, with a network of lies being woven so that no one, characters or readers, can be sure of the truth' Daily Express `Atmosphere aplenty and some real surprises' Daily Mail `Echoes Wuthering Heights with its setting and sense of intrigue' Red `An atmospheric tale of betrayal and revenge' woman&home `A thrilling, atmospheric page-turner' Metro

The Vanishing

The Vanishing

Author: Sophia Tobin Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/01/2017

All that I was I gave to you. All that I am you took from me. All that you have I will destroy... On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester. When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape... 'As dark and eerie and gothic as the Yorkshire Moors it is set on' Stylist 'Vivid, absorbing and wonderfully gothic with shades of Sarah Waters and Emily and Charlotte Bronte' Kate Riordan 'Playful and menacing, The Vanishing is a pitch perfect evocation of a classic nineteenth century Gothic novel which confirms Sophia Tobin as a writer of the highest calibre' William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier

Vanishing

Vanishing

Author: Sophia Tobin Format: eBook Release Date: 12/01/2017

On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester. When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape

The Widow's Confession

The Widow's Confession

Author: Sophia Tobin Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/11/2015

The new novel from the author of the Sunday Timesbestseller, The Silversmith's Wife. Stunning historical fiction, perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier. Broadstairs, Kent, 1851. Once a sleepy fishing village, now a select sea-bathing resort, this is a place where people come to take the air, and where they come to hide... Delphine and her cousin Julia have come to the seaside with a secret, one they have been running from for years. The clean air and quiet outlook of Broadstairs appeal to them and they think this is a place they can hide from the darkness for just a little longer. Even so, they find themselves increasingly involved in the intrigues and relationships of other visitors to the town. But this is a place with its own secrets, and a dark past. And when the body of a young girl is found washed up on the beach, a mysterious message scrawled on the sand beside her, the past returns to haunt Broadstairs and its inhabitants. As the incomers are drawn into the mystery and each others' lives, they realise they cannot escape what happened here years before... A compelling story of secrets, lies and lost innocence...

The Silversmith's Wife

The Silversmith's Wife

Author: Sophia Tobin Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/11/2014

The year is 1792 and it's winter in Berkeley Square. As the city sleeps, the night-watchman keeps a cautious eye over the streets and another eye in the back doors of the great and the good. Then one fateful night he comes across the body of Pierre Renard, the eponymous silversmith, lying dead, his throat cut and his valuables missing. It could be common theft, committed by one of the many villains who stalk the square, but as news of the murder spreads, it soon becomes clear that Renard had more than a few enemies, all with their own secrets to hide. At the centre of this web is Mary, the silversmith's wife. Ostensibly theirs was an excellent pairing, but behind closed doors their relationship was a dark and at times sadistic one and when we meet her, Mary is withdrawn and weak, haunted by her past and near-mad with guilt. Will she attain the redemption she seeks and what, exactly, does she need redemption for...? Rich, intricate and beautifully told, this is a story of murder, love and buried secrets.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://sophiatobin.wordpress.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more