Emma Fraser - Author

About the Author

Emma Fraser is an ex-nurse and she completed her training in Edinburgh. Her research into medical training in the early twentieth-century inspired her to write about strong Scottish nurses and female doctors during World War I and When the Dawn Breaks was the result. This is her first novel as Emma Fraser but she has written many medical romances under the name Anne Fraser. Emma lives with her husband and two children in Glasgow.

Featured books by Emma Fraser

When the Dawn Breaks

When the Dawn Breaks

Author: Emma Fraser Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/11/2013

Two women. One secret. A heart-breaking choice. Skye, 1903. Jessie, the young daughter of a local midwife, is determined to become a nurse one day, but family loss and heartache jeopardise her dreams. Isabel, the doctor's daughter, is planning to follow in her father's footsteps - even though medicine is not considered a fitting career for a woman. And then there's Archie, Jessie's older brother, whom Isabel just can't stay away from. After an unsettling encounter in the woods, Archie disappears, and all their lives are irrevocably changed ...Years later, Isabel is a qualified doctor and Jessie is a nurse and when their paths cross again, neither is certain what the other woman knows about that fateful day. But when war breaks out and they find themselves working shoulder to shoulder, they have no option but to confront all they have kept hidden. Taking in Skye and Edinburgh, France and Serbia, When the Dawn Breaks is a sweeping wartime story of two determined women and the dark secret that will bind them forever ...

Other books by Emma Fraser

Greyfriars House

Greyfriars House

Author: Emma Fraser Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/08/2018

Secrets will be uncovered . . . An epic, sweeping drama about a family with secrets and a house shrouded in mystery, Greyfriars House is perfect for fans of Rachel Hore, Kate Morton, Kate Riordan and Tracey Rees. On a remote Scottish island sits Greyfriars House 1939 Nine-year-old Olivia Friel is delighted to be spending the summer at Greyfriars House, a place where her parents, their family and friends are always happy. But this year there's an underlying tension that Olivia doesn't understand. Then one night she sees something she's not meant to, and accidentally lets slip a devastating betrayal. 1984 Charlotte Friel gets a call from her ailing mother, asking something she's never asked before: for Charlotte to come home. There are things Olivia needs to tell her daughter before it's too late, secrets to be shared about forgotten relatives and a mysterious house. Left reeling by recent events, Charlotte is unsure what path to follow. But eventually her curiosity, and a desire to escape her own life, lead her to Greyfriars House. Will she find the answers she needs to make peace with the past? Praise for Emma Fraser: 'A gripping tale . . . romance, adventure and an intriguing underlying mystery' - Lancaster Guardian 'A heartbreaking novel of love and loss' - Blackpool Gazette 'A powerful and at times gritty tale of love and loss . . . a great, insightful read' - Novelicious 'An epic tale of one woman's determination to follow her dreams' - People's Friend 'First rate' - Lovereading 'Engaging and enjoyable' - The Historical Novel Society

Greyfriars House

Greyfriars House

Author: Emma Fraser Format: Hardback Release Date: 25/01/2018

Once a home full of love, all that remains in Greyfriars House are secrets and lies . . . On a remote Scottish island sits Greyfriars House, a house haunted by unspoken words and family mysteries. But once it was a happy and comforting place and in the summer of 1939, family and friends gather to forget their fears about the impending war. Nine-year-old Olivia watches the grown-ups with fascination particularly her mother and her two aunts, the three daughters of the family who own the island. Then Olivia she sees something she isn't meant to and when the truth comes out it reverberates through the generations. Almost fifty years later, Olivia has fallen ill and urges her own daughter, Charlotte, to visit Greyfriars to reconnect the existing branches of the family. Charlotte is hesitant to get to know her great-aunts, women who have always shunned her mother, but curiosity and a desire to run from her own life get the better of her and she goes to the island. But Greyfriars House is a shadow of its former self and Charlotte finds her great-aunts tense and cautious. There is something they want to share with Charlotte, but in order to truly understand their secret Charlotte must first understand what happened to them before and during the war . . .

The Shipbuilder's Daughter A beautifully written, satisfying and touching saga novel

The Shipbuilder's Daughter A beautifully written, satisfying and touching saga novel

Author: Emma Fraser Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/04/2017

'An epic tale of one woman's determination to follow her dreams' People's Friend Set in 1920s Scotland, this beautifully written and satisfying saga follows the fate of a shipyard owner's daughter as she is faced with an impossible decision . . . Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Rita Bradshaw and Nadine Dorries. 5-star reader reviews for The Shipbuilder's Daughter 'Beautifully written with a great deal of empathy, very satisfying plot. Lovely mix of old Glasgow and the western Isles' 'A definite must-buy' 'A lovely read' 'Fabulous reading' Glasgow, 1928. Margaret Bannatyne lost both of her brothers in the Great War and is now the last remaining child of wealthy and powerful shipyard owner William Bannatyne. Without a male heir to carry on the family business, William expects his daughter to do her duty, marry well and provide him with a grandson to inherit his business. Margaret cares deeply for her father but she has ambitions of her own: after witnessing a horrific accident when she was sixteen, she's determined to become a doctor. Her father, convinced she will never practise medicine, permits Margaret to complete her training. But he doesn't count on her falling in love with Alasdair Morrison. Alasdair, a union man at the shipyard, has been a thorn in William's side for years, and he didn't become one of the richest men in Glasgow only for Alasdair to take it all away - even if it means destroying his only daughter's happiness by forcing her to make a heartbreaking and impossible choice . . .

We Shall Remember The choices she made under fire changed everything . . .

We Shall Remember The choices she made under fire changed everything . . .

Author: Emma Fraser Format: Paperback Release Date: 23/10/2014

Set against the Second World War, this is a powerful and well-written wartime drama that asks the question, what would you do under fire? Perfect for fans of Annie Groves and Lily Baxter. 'A touching, thought-provoking saga' Lancashire Guardian 1939. Irena is a young medical student living in Warsaw when the German army invade Poland. Those closest to her are dying and when Irena realises that no one is coming to Poland's aid, it's clear that she is alone. Forced to flee to Britain, Irena meets Richard, a RAF pilot who she's instantly drawn to and there's a glimmer of happiness on the horizon. And then the war becomes more brutal and in order to right a never-forgotten wrong Irena must make an impossible decision. 1989. Decades later, Sarah's mother is left a home in Skye and another in Edinburgh following the death of Lord Glendale, a man she's never met, and only on the condition that Magdalena Drobnik, a woman she's never heard of, is no longer alive. Sarah's only clues to this mystery are two photographs she doesn't understand but she's determined to discover the truth, not knowing that she's about to begin a journey that will change her life. Gripping, poignant and honest, We Shall Remember is an incredibly powerful story about the choices we make under fire. It will stay with you long after you've turned the final page.

When the Dawn Breaks

When the Dawn Breaks

Author: Emma Fraser Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/11/2013

Two women. One secret. A heart-breaking choice. Skye, 1903. Jessie, the young daughter of a local midwife, is determined to become a nurse one day, but family loss and heartache jeopardise her dreams. Isabel, the doctor's daughter, is planning to follow in her father's footsteps - even though medicine is not considered a fitting career for a woman. And then there's Archie, Jessie's older brother, whom Isabel just can't stay away from. After an unsettling encounter in the woods, Archie disappears, and all their lives are irrevocably changed ...Years later, Isabel is a qualified doctor and Jessie is a nurse and when their paths cross again, neither is certain what the other woman knows about that fateful day. But when war breaks out and they find themselves working shoulder to shoulder, they have no option but to confront all they have kept hidden. Taking in Skye and Edinburgh, France and Serbia, When the Dawn Breaks is a sweeping wartime story of two determined women and the dark secret that will bind them forever ...

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more