Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Emma Garcia - Author

About the Author

Emma Garcia's first taste of romance came after a B.M.X championship final, when she found comfort in the arms of a fidgety vegan in a mohair jumper. NEVER GOOGLE HEARTBREAK is her first novel, and she has also written and illustrated three children's picture books. She lives in York with her husband and their three children.

 

Author photo © Steve Luengo

Featured books by Emma Garcia

Other books by Emma Garcia

Chuffa Chuffa Choo Choo

Chuffa Chuffa Choo Choo

Author: Emma Garcia Format: Board book Release Date: 05/07/2018

Chuffa Chuffa Choo Choo

Chuffa Chuffa Choo Choo

Author: Emma Garcia Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/03/2017

Chuffa Chuffa Choo Choo here comes the train! Join it as it visits the seaside, the farm, the city and the forest, until it's time to say good night!

Never Google Heartbreak

Never Google Heartbreak

Author: Emma Garcia Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/05/2015

A refreshingly honest, achingly funny read for fans of Bridesmaids, Caitlin Moran, and Pinot Grigio. When her fiance Rob breaks off their engagement for the third time, Viv does what any girl would do - she Googles heartbreak. Confronted by tales of misery, she decides to set-up her own self-help website for the broken-hearted. But as Viv passes through the three essential stages of grief (denial, vodka, disastrous haircut), she becomes determined that it's not too late to try and get Rob back. When things get out of hand after a drunken declaration of love at an extremely inappropriate moment, Viv's scruffy, tequila-swilling best friend Max is there to pick up the pieces. Viv starts to realise that maybe the real thing has been under her nose all this time, and now - one ex and a massive error of judgement later - she has to face the question: What's the craziest thing you'll do for love? Readers of Lindsey Kelk, Sophie Kinsella and Paige Toon won't be able to put this down. Never has heartbreak been so hilarious...

OMG Baby!

OMG Baby!

Author: Emma Garcia Format: eBook Release Date: 06/06/2014

This ISN'T a book about babies... It IS about two people, one unexpected pregnancy and a question... Viv and Max were best friends for years, then they were lovers and then it all went terribly wrong. Now finally they are to be reunited. Viv feels sick. Not just with nerves at seeing the gorgeous Max again, but because there's a small chance she might quite possibly most definitely be pregnant. It's thrilling. But also terrifying. At thirty-two Viv doesn't have a job, only eats fruit when there's nothing else, and can barely meet the needs of her foster cat. And whilst she knows that Max is the love of her life, they don't exactly have the most stable relationship Then, as Viv's long-lost mother reappears on the scene and they all end up sharing an apartment, all hell breaks loose. HOW ON EARTH ARE THEY GOING TO COPE?OMG Baby! is the hilarious, cringe-worthy and touching sequel to Never Google Heartbreak. What people are saying about Emma Garcia'Her cracking pace and rapier wit, together with her robust and honest prose will be bound to win Emma Garcia a sackful of fans. Perfect for lovers of Bridesmaids and Caitlin Moran.' Red Magazine

OMG Baby!

OMG Baby!

Author: Emma Garcia Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/04/2014

This ISN'T a book about babies. It's not about sleepless nights, nappies or nurseries. It IS about two people, one unexpected pregnancy and a question . . . Viv and Max were best friends for years, then they were lovers and then it all went wrong. Now finally they are to be reunited. Viv feels sick. Not just with nerves at seeing Max again, but because there's a small chance she might . . . quite possibly . . . most definitely . . . be pregnant. It's thrilling. But also terrifying. Most of the time they can hardly look after themselves, let alone a baby. And then Viv's estranged mother reappears on the scene and they all end up sharing a bedsit . . . and hell breaks loose. HOW ON EARTH ARE THEY GOING TO COPE?

Never Google Heartbreak

Never Google Heartbreak

Author: Emma Garcia Format: eBook Release Date: 07/03/2014

'I can't recommend this highly entertaining book enough - it's clever, witty and downright hilarious.' I Heart Chick LitViv's ex-fianc Rob, proposed to her three months after she slept with him - she thought it was one of those whirlwind romances you read about in magazines. Five years later, after Rob calling off the wedding for the third time, she has finally moved out. As Viv passes through the three essential stages of grief (denial, vodka, disastrous haircut), she becomes determined that it's not too late to try and get Rob back. One drunken declaration of love at an extremely inappropriate moment later, and Viv's scruffy, tequila-swilling best friend Max is there to pick up the pieces. Just when Viv's starting to realise that maybe the real thing has been under her nose all along, she makes what might just be the biggest mistake of her lifeCan love sneak up on us unexpected? What's the answer to heartbreak? And what's a girl to do when even the Internet doesn't have the answer?Never has heartbreak been so amusing... a refreshingly honest, achingly funny read for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Helen Fielding and Paige Toon. What they're saying about Never Google Heartbreak'Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk, meet Emma Garcia. Vivienne Summers may very well become your next favourite heroine and the one you will want to keep visiting over and over.' Good Books and a Cup of Tea'A genuinely likeable and very funny heroine . . . A fun read with a great leading lady.' Heat magazine'This feisty and honest story of a crazy-in-love woman is hugely funny - perfect easy reading.' Closer magazine'Her cracking pace and rapier wit, together with her robust and honest prose will be bound to win Emma Garcia a sackful of fans. Perfect for lovers of Bridesmaids and Caitlin Moran.' Red magazine online'Have you ever read a book where you've fallen in love with it after a few pages? Well, this normally happens whenever I read a book by my favourite authors: Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk, Lucy Robinson, Ali McNamara, Gemma Burgess and a few more . . . I really adored everything about NEVER GOOGLE HEARTBREAK . . . It made me laugh and cackle like a loon, made my heart swell full of love when the romantic bits kicked in . . . I can't recommend this highly entertaining book enough - it's clever, witty and downright hilarious.' I Heart Chick Lit'One for everyone who has messed up something good, and then disastrously tried to get it back . . . Brilliant' Star magazine'Hopelessly funny, this book is a classic with a modern twist' Company magazine

Tap Tap Bang Bang

Tap Tap Bang Bang

Author: Emma Garcia Format: Board book Release Date: 12/09/2013

Tip Tip Dig Dig

Tip Tip Dig Dig

Author: Emma Garcia Format: Board book Release Date: 12/09/2013

Emma Garcia's popular debut title, Tip Tip Dig Dig, is now available as a chunky board book with moving parts on every spread, including the cover! Watch as each colourful vehicle does its own job as all the machines work together towards a surprise ending. The simple mechanisms in this new board book edition are prefect for little hands. Tip Tip Dig Dig has been shortlisted for the Read it Again! and the Southampton Favourite Book to Share picture book awards in 2008.

Toot Toot Beep Beep

Toot Toot Beep Beep

Author: Emma Garcia Format: Board book Release Date: 05/09/2013

Toot Toot Beep Beep is now available as a chunky board book, complete with a built-in sound chip providing amazing traffic sound effects! Watch the colourful cars zoom across the page, each one making its own special noise. Follow the busy, noisy vehicles and find out where they are all going. Little ones will love joining in with the sounds, making this book perfect for reading aloud. Toot Toot Beep Beep follows the success of Emma Garcia's first book, Tip Tip Dig Dig, which was shortlisted for the Read It Again! Picture Book Award for an outstanding debut picture book, and the Southampton Favourite Book to Share Award.

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more