Annie Wilkinson - Author

About the Author

The daughter of a Durham miner, Annie Wilkinson now lives in Hull where she divides her time between supporting her father and helping with grandchildren.

Featured books by Annie Wilkinson

Angel of the North

Angel of the North

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/11/2013

Who can she turn to when life gets tough? April 1941, Hull. Nurse Marie Larsen has grown used to the challenges of keeping Hull Royal Infirmary running during the Germans' attacks on her city. Amidst the sudden power cuts, blown out windows and with wounded civilians pouring into the hospital at each new attack, she always thanks her lucky stars that the latest bomb didn't have her name on it. But when a fresh wave of bombings tears Hull apart, this time tragedy strikes close to home. With her mother now critically ill in hospital, and her father missing, Marie will have some tough decisions to make if she is to keep her younger brother and sister, Alfie and Pam, safe. Amidst the chaos and uncertainty, it is Marie's beau, Chas Elsworth, who alone is able to keep her spirits up via letters and phonecalls from his post. So when evidence comes to light that Chas might not be the dependable rock that Marie has come to rely upon - where can Marie turn for support? A gripping tale of ordinary people facing extraordinary challenges, Angel of the North, is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson.

Other books by Annie Wilkinson

The Would-Be Wife

The Would-Be Wife

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/02/2018

Lynn grew up as the daughter of a fisherman but longs to be free from the hardship and worry of life by the docks. When the handsome and ambitious Graham asks her to marry him, she ignores the warnings of family and friends and accepts. At first, life in Hull in the sixties is one long party, but soon the gloss begins to fade. Four years later, with a young son to look after, she is trapped and Graham is uncaring and cheating. She has no money of her own and has given up her job as a nurse. Lynn must fight to regain her independence and leave - but will Graham let her walk away so easily?

For King and Country

For King and Country

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback Release Date: 21/05/2015

August, 1918. World War I is entering its final desperate stages. A generation of young men have given up their lives for their country - and the young women left behind are hard put to find a husband. When she learns that her handsome sweetheart has been killed in action, Sally Wilde decides to dedicate her life to nursing. It's not the life she'd imagined as a wife and mother, but the work at Newcastle City Hospital is fulfilling and rewarding. Although fraternisation with doctors and patients is strictly forbidden, Sally finds herself drawn to an Australian officer on her ward. But behind his facial injuries, Lieutenant Kit Maxfield is hiding a shocking secret, a secret that will lead Sally into great danger - and change the course of her life forever.

The Land Girls

The Land Girls

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/12/2014

Hull, 1943. 17-year-old Muriel Dearlove has weathered the Blitz unscathed, earning her keep in Miss Chapman's grocery shop. But with her sweetheart Bill away fighting and and her friends conscripted into the WRENs and WAAF, life has become tedious for Muriel. Then one day an old friend returns from a stint in the Land Army. She is rosy cheeked and looks healthier than ever, thanks to the outdoor work she has been doing on Northumberland's farms, and she comes with tales of dances with the troops stationed nearby and high jinks with her fellow Land Girls. Desperate for the chance to broaden her horizons, Muriel signs up to become a Land Girl. But getting back to the land is not all about making hay in the sunshine. Back-breaking work and rising before dawn are the least of their troubles when disagreements between town girls and locals arise, and their warden, Mrs Hubbard, is a hard-nosed slave-driver. Then Muriel meets Ernst, a German prisoner of war. And now Muriel has a choice to make. In fraternizing with the enemy, she breaks the law, but to never see Ernst again would break her heart.

Angel of the North

Angel of the North

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/11/2013

Who can she turn to when life gets tough? April 1941, Hull. Nurse Marie Larsen has grown used to the challenges of keeping Hull Royal Infirmary running during the Germans' attacks on her city. Amidst the sudden power cuts, blown out windows and with wounded civilians pouring into the hospital at each new attack, she always thanks her lucky stars that the latest bomb didn't have her name on it. But when a fresh wave of bombings tears Hull apart, this time tragedy strikes close to home. With her mother now critically ill in hospital, and her father missing, Marie will have some tough decisions to make if she is to keep her younger brother and sister, Alfie and Pam, safe. Amidst the chaos and uncertainty, it is Marie's beau, Chas Elsworth, who alone is able to keep her spirits up via letters and phonecalls from his post. So when evidence comes to light that Chas might not be the dependable rock that Marie has come to rely upon - where can Marie turn for support? A gripping tale of ordinary people facing extraordinary challenges, Angel of the North, is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson.

Angel of the North

Angel of the North

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/08/2013

Who can she turn to when life gets tough? April 1941, Hull.Nurse Marie Larsen has grown used to the challenges of keeping Hull Royal Infirmary running during the Germans' attacks on her city. Amidst the sudden power cuts, blown out windows and with wounded civilians pouring into the hospital at each new attack, she always thanks her lucky stars that the latest bomb didn't have her name on it. But when a fresh wave of bombings tears Hull apart, this time tragedy strikes close to home. With her mother now critically ill in hospital, and her father missing, Marie will have some tough decisions to make if she is to keep her younger brother and sister, Alfie and Pam, safe. Amidst the chaos and uncertainty, it is Marie's beau, Chas Elsworth, who alone is able to keep her spirits up via letters and phonecalls from his post. So when evidence comes to light that Chas might not be the dependable rock that Marie has come to rely upon - where can Marie turn for support? A gripping tale of ordinary people facing extraordinary challenges, Angel of the North, is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson.

Sing Me Home

Sing Me Home

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/02/2013

Previously published as A Sovereign for a Song. As a poverty-stricken miner's daughter growing up in the small village of Annsdale, near Durham, fifteen-year-old Ginny Wilde yearns for adventure. But she gets more than she bargained for when her dark good looks, fiery spirit and beautiful singing voice catch the eye of the unscrupulous Charlie Parkinson, her employer's brother. Fleeing the wrath of her irate father when he discovers his daughter's flirtation with the notorious womaniser, Ginny heads for London, where Charlie seduces her and puts her to work on the stage as a music hall artiste. As she embarks on a hugely successful singing career, Ginny remains unhappy at Charlie's continual refusal to marry her and descends into an increasingly louche lifestyle. Can she ever find the courage to leave Charlie and return to her beloved north east? And will she ever be able to recapture the heart of her one true love, miner Martin Jude?

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more