LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Annie Wilkinson - Author

About the Author

The daughter of a Durham miner, Annie Wilkinson now lives in Hull where she divides her time between supporting her father and helping with grandchildren.

Featured books by Annie Wilkinson

Angel of the North

Angel of the North

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/11/2013

Who can she turn to when life gets tough? April 1941, Hull. Nurse Marie Larsen has grown used to the challenges of keeping Hull Royal Infirmary running during the Germans' attacks on her city. Amidst the sudden power cuts, blown out windows and with wounded civilians pouring into the hospital at each new attack, she always thanks her lucky stars that the latest bomb didn't have her name on it. But when a fresh wave of bombings tears Hull apart, this time tragedy strikes close to home. With her mother now critically ill in hospital, and her father missing, Marie will have some tough decisions to make if she is to keep her younger brother and sister, Alfie and Pam, safe. Amidst the chaos and uncertainty, it is Marie's beau, Chas Elsworth, who alone is able to keep her spirits up via letters and phonecalls from his post. So when evidence comes to light that Chas might not be the dependable rock that Marie has come to rely upon - where can Marie turn for support? A gripping tale of ordinary people facing extraordinary challenges, Angel of the North, is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson.

ebook of the month

Other books by Annie Wilkinson

The Would-Be Wife

The Would-Be Wife

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/02/2018

A heart-warming and nostalgic family saga from the acclaimed author of The Land Girls. Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Rosie Archer WILL SHE FIND HER WAY TO FREEDOM? Hull, 1960 Growing up as the daughter of a fisherman, young Lynn longs to be free from the hardship and worry of life by the docks. So when the handsome and ambitious Graham asks her to marry him, she ignores the warnings of her family and friends and accepts. But the gloss of her new lifestyle quickly begins to fade . . . Four years later, with a young son to look after, Lynn is trapped in an unhappy marriage to an uncaring and cheating husband. With no job and no money of her own, Lynn must fight to regain her independence and leave - but will Graham let her walk away so easily?

For King and Country

For King and Country

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/05/2015

A heart-warming and nostalgic family saga from the acclaimed author of The Land Girls. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson AS WAR RAGES, CAN LOVE SURVIVE? August, 1918 As the First World War is entering its final, desperate stages, Sally Wilde discovers that her handsome sweetheart has been killed in action. With a generation of young men having given up their lives for their country, many of the young women left behind struggle to find a husband, and so Sally decides instead to dedicate her life to nursing. Although it is not the life she'd imagined for herself, work at Newcastle City Hospital is fulfilling and rewarding, and soon Sally finds herself drawn to Lieutenant Kit Maxfield, an Australian officer on her ward. But fraternisation between nurses and their patients is strictly forbidden, and behind his facial injuries, Kit is hiding a shocking secret. Will loving Kit lead Sally into great danger and change the course of her life forever . . .?

The Land Girls

The Land Girls

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2014

Hull, 1943. 17-year-old Muriel Dearlove has weathered the Blitz unscathed, earning her keep in Miss Chapman's grocery shop. But with her sweetheart Bill away fighting and and her friends conscripted into the WRENs and WAAF, life has become tedious for Muriel. Then one day an old friend returns from a stint in the Land Army. She is rosy cheeked and looks healthier than ever, thanks to the outdoor work she has been doing on Northumberland's farms, and she comes with tales of dances with the troops stationed nearby and high jinks with her fellow Land Girls. Desperate for the chance to broaden her horizons, Muriel signs up to become a Land Girl. But getting back to the land is not all about making hay in the sunshine. Back-breaking work and rising before dawn are the least of their troubles when disagreements between town girls and locals arise, and their warden, Mrs Hubbard, is a hard-nosed slave-driver. Then Muriel meets Ernst, a German prisoner of war. And now Muriel has a choice to make. In fraternizing with the enemy, she breaks the law, but to never see Ernst again would break her heart.

Angel of the North

Angel of the North

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/11/2013

Who can she turn to when life gets tough? April 1941, Hull. Nurse Marie Larsen has grown used to the challenges of keeping Hull Royal Infirmary running during the Germans' attacks on her city. Amidst the sudden power cuts, blown out windows and with wounded civilians pouring into the hospital at each new attack, she always thanks her lucky stars that the latest bomb didn't have her name on it. But when a fresh wave of bombings tears Hull apart, this time tragedy strikes close to home. With her mother now critically ill in hospital, and her father missing, Marie will have some tough decisions to make if she is to keep her younger brother and sister, Alfie and Pam, safe. Amidst the chaos and uncertainty, it is Marie's beau, Chas Elsworth, who alone is able to keep her spirits up via letters and phonecalls from his post. So when evidence comes to light that Chas might not be the dependable rock that Marie has come to rely upon - where can Marie turn for support? A gripping tale of ordinary people facing extraordinary challenges, Angel of the North, is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson.

ebook of the month
Sing Me Home

Sing Me Home

Author: Annie Wilkinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/02/2013

A heart-wrenching and nostalgic family saga from the acclaimed author of The Land Girls. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson A YOUNG MINER'S DAUGHTER WITH THE VOICE OF AN ANGEL - BUT CAN IT LEAD HER HOME AGAIN? As a poverty-stricken miner's daughter growing up in a small village near Durham, fifteen-year-old Ginny Wilde yearns for adventure. But she gets more than she bargained for when her good looks, fiery spirit and beautiful singing voice catch the eye of the unscrupulous Charlie Parkinson, her employer's brother. Fleeing the wrath of her irate father, after he discovers his daughter's flirtation with the notorious womaniser, Ginny heads for London with Charlie and embarks upon a hugely successful singing career. But with Charlie refusing to marry her, Ginny fears she's just one of many girls to have fallen for his charms, and her life quickly begins to spiral out of control. Will she find the courage to leave Charlie and return to her beloved north east? And, if so, perhaps she might find that her one true love was waiting there for her all along . . . Previously published as A Sovereign for a Song

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more