LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Sarah Mussi - Author

About the Author

Sarah Mussi was born in Gloucestershire. After her education at a girls’ school in Cheltenham, she completed a post-graduate degree at the Royal College of Art before leaving the UK for West Africa. She lived in Cameroon, Nigeria and Ghana for over eighteen years, finally teaching English in Accra. Sarah now lives in Brixton and teaches in Lewisham, splitting her holidays between England and Ghana.

Sarah’s first published novel, The Door of No Return, won the Children’s Book of the Year 2007 Award at the Glen Dimplex New Writers’ Awards and was shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award, shortlisted for Wirral Best Paperback of the Year and awarded Junior Library Guild Status in the USA. Her second novel, The Last of the Warrior Kings, inspired a London walk and was shortlisted for the Lewisham Book Award.

Featured books by Sarah Mussi

Other books by Sarah Mussi

You Can't Hide

You Can't Hide

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/02/2019

An unreliable narrator, secret identities and lost memories combine in this page turning YA thriller that will keep you guessing. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying. Lexi's been in an accident. But she can't remember it - or any of the events leading up to it. The only thing she knows for sure is that she's still in danger. As fragments of her past start to return, Lexi thinks she knows what happened. But can Lexi trust her own memories? Because if she's wrong... she's in more danger now than ever before. Exactly what happened on that spring evening down by the railway tracks?

Room Empty

Room Empty

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: eBook Release Date: 06/04/2017

Two young people meet in rehab. They both have problems and they both doubt their ability to cope. They don't care and they don't share. Until they meet each other and then things begin to change for them both.This powerful novel about disorder and change is also about a journey of trust and of growing up and of learning that a happy ending is one you make for yourself.

Room Empty

Room Empty

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/04/2017

Dani is ravaged by anorexia and hasn't eaten for days. Fletcher is fighting to stay off the streets and to stay off drugs. Will their attraction to each other save or destroy them? Both patients at the Daisy Bank Rehab Centre, Fletcher wants to help Dani find out about the empty room at the heart of her pain: What happened to Dani in that room when she was four? Whose is the dead body that lies across the door? Why won't her mind let her remember? As Dani and Fletcher begin to learn how to love, Sarah Mussi weaves an intoxicating story of pain, fear and redemption.

Bomb

Bomb

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2015

I'm Genesis Wainwright. I'm a sixth-form student. I come from Somerset. My mum is the best mum in the world. I play the guitar (badly). My best friend is Holly. I'm searching for answers to the Meaning of Life. I believe in True Love. AND I'M IN LOVE WITH NAZ. I want to be a performance poet. And I'm crazy about motorbikes. I can remember everything. Except last night. When Genesis goes on a blind internet date, she just wants to get over her ex-boyfriend Naz. She just wants someone to like her again. But when Genesis wakes up the morning after the date, she can't remember a thing. She doesn't know where she is, or how she got there. And she can hardly move because she is strapped into some kind of body armour ... Before she has time to figure it out, she receives an order through an earpiece stuck in her ear. And then a voice sounds in her head: 'You have been chosen for an assignment ... The vest you're wearing is packed with high explosives. And with one mobile call we can detonate it.' To her horror Genesis has become an agent of mass destruction, a walking weapon in the hands of a terrorist cell. The countdown to detonation has begun: Genesis must re-examine everyone and everything she loves and make terrifying choices ... in the face of certain death. A gutsy, compelling and chilling thrill-ride.

Riot

Riot

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2014

England is struggling under a recession that has shown no sign of abating. Years of cuts has devastated Britain: banks are going under, businesses closing, prices soaring, unemployment rising, prisons overflowing. The authorities cannot cope. And the population has maxed out. The police are snowed under. Something has to give. Drastic measures need taking. The solution: forced sterilisation of all school leavers without secure further education plans or guaranteed employment. The country is aghast. Families are distraught, teenagers are in revolt, but the politicians are unshakeable: The population explosion must be curbed. No more free housing for single parents, no more child benefit, no more free school meals, no more children in need. Less means more. But it is all so blatantly unfair - the Teen Haves will procreate, the Teen Havenots won't. It's time for the young to take to the streets. It's time for them to RIOT: OUR RIGHTS, OUR BODIES, OUR FUTURE.

Siege

Siege

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/03/2013

Leah Jackson - in detention. Then armed Year 9s burst in, shooting. She escapes, just. But the new Lock Down system for keeping intruders out is now locking everyone in. She takes to the ceilings and air vents with another student, Anton, and manages to use her mobile to call out to the world. First: survive the gang - the so-called 'Eternal Knights'. Second: rescue other kids taken hostage, and one urgently needing medical help. Outside, parents gather, the army want intelligence, television cameras roll, psychologists give opinions, sociologists rationalise, doctors advise - and they all want a piece of Leah. Soon her phone battery is running out; the SAS want her to reconnoitre the hostage area ... But she is guarding a terrifying conviction. Her brother, Connor, is at the centre of this horror. Is he with the Eternal Knights or just a pawn? She remembers. All those times Connor reached out for help ... If she'd listened, voiced her fears about him earlier, would things be different now? Should she give up her brother? With only Anton for company, surviving by wits alone, Leah wrestles with the terrible choices ...

Door of No Return

Door of No Return

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: eBook Release Date: 09/09/2008

Zac Baxters grandfather has always told him that hes the descendant of African kings, whose treasure was stolen when his ancestors were sold into slavery. Of course, Zac brushes this off as a tall tale until his grandfather is murdered and their apartment is completely ransacked. Clearly somebody is after something.Heeding his grandfathers dying words, Zac is off to Ghana to track down his familys history. But what did his grandfather mean when he said that Zac had the map to the treasure? Following every clue he can find, Zac begins to suspect that the treasure is real, and hidden in one of Ghanas old slave forts. Too bad the killers always seem to be one step ahead of him. With no one he can trust and with everything to lose, Zac races against time as he tries to uncover the truth about the past and a fortune in gold.From the Compact Disc edition.