Ellen Sussman - Author

About the Author

Ellen Sussman is the author of On a Night Like This, which was a San Francisco Chronicle Best-Seller and is also the editor of two anthologies, Dirty Words: A Literary Encyclopedia Of Sex and Bad Girls: 26 Writers Misbehave, which was a New York Times Editors Choice and a San Francisco Chronicle Best-Seller. Ellen was named a San Francisco Library Laureate in 2004 and 2009. She has two daughters and lives with her husband in the San Francisco Bay Area.

 

Author photo © Chris Hardy

Featured books by Ellen Sussman

Other books by Ellen Sussman

The Paradise Guest House

The Paradise Guest House

Author: Ellen Sussman Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/08/2013

It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island's lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali's infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions. One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn't been able to forget his kindness - or the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cosy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she's ready to open her heart.Praise for French Lessons:'A wonderfully warm and sexy book ... we loved it!' Bella.'A delightful novel, full of joie de vivre'. Woman and Home.

Paradise Guest House

Paradise Guest House

Author: Ellen Sussman Format: eBook Release Date: 26/03/2013

A riveting and poignant novel of one woman's journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call homeperfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland's The Beach. It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island's lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali's infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions. One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn't been able to forget his kindnessor the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cozy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she's ready to open her heart. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.Praise for The Paradise Guest House ';Two survivors of Bali's terrorist bombing find love and spiritual rebirth on an island whose inhabitants believe in reincarnation in Sussman's touching panorama of paradise. . . . Throughout, Sussman celebrates lovers, quiet healing, and the sweetness of the island and its people.'Publishers Weekly (starred review)';A story of healing and redemption, of finding love in the most unexpected places, and of the importance of moving forward . . . Sussman has drawn a vivid, well-balanced portrait of a woman and a country working to recover from an unimaginable event and a very personal look at a global tragedy.'Booklist ';Echoing Bali's difficult recovery from [the 2002 terrorist bombing], the characters tread the difficult terrain of post-traumatic attachment. . . . A respectful and earnest . . . treatment of devastation's aftermath.'Kirkus Reviews ';[A] moving story about making sense of life after a tragedy . . . This touching tale will cause contemplation about what closure truly means.'RT Book ReviewsFrom the Trade Paperback edition.

French Lessons

French Lessons

Author: Ellen Sussman Format: eBook Release Date: 05/07/2011

A single day in Paris changes the lives of three Americans as they each set off to explore the city with a French tutor, learning about language, love, and loss as their lives intersect in surprising ways.Josie, Riley, and Jeremy have come to the City of Light for different reasons: Josie, a young high school teacher, arrives in hopes of healing a broken heart. Riley, a spirited but lonely expat housewife, struggles to feel connected to her husband and her new country. And Jeremy, the reserved husband of a renowned actress, is accompanying his wife on a film shoot, yet he feels distant from her world. As they meet with their tutorsJosie with Nico, a sensitive poet; Riley with Phillippe, a shameless flirt; and Jeremy with the consummately beautiful Chantaleach succumbs to unexpected passion and unpredictable adventures. Yet as they traverse Paris's grand boulevards and intimate, winding streets, they uncover surprising secrets about one anotherand come to understand long-buried truths about themselves.From the Trade Paperback edition.

Presidents Time Line

Presidents Time Line

Author: Ellen Sussman Format: eBook Release Date: 01/09/2008

An exciting new presentation of timely and timeless mateial--sure to spark students' interest in some of our country's more fascinating figures. Excellent for discussion starters, research investigations, group activities, cooperative learning projects, multiple intelligence lessons and more!

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.ellensussman.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Ellen Sussman on Facebook