Alex James - Author

About the Author

Alex James was the bass guitarist in the nineties band Blur, a life he chronicled with great success in his first book, Bit of a Blur. He now lives on a farm in the Cotswolds with his wife and five children, makes cheese, writes for both the Sun and the Spectator and has his own show on Classic FM. In September 2011 he hosted the ‘Harvest’ festival at his farm, combining the best in British music and food.

 

Author photo © Adam Gasson

Featured books by Alex James

Other books by Alex James

Dance to a Different Tune

Dance to a Different Tune

Author: Alex James Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/10/2016

Dark Streets - Book One Agents of Fear

Dark Streets - Book One Agents of Fear

Author: Alex James Format: Paperback Release Date: 21/11/2015

Amazon Seven - Book One Mission Queen

Amazon Seven - Book One Mission Queen

Author: Alex James Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/10/2015

Depth of Resolution

Depth of Resolution

Author: Alex James Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2014

Venus IA

Venus IA

Author: Alex James Format: eBook Release Date: 08/10/2013

A full-throttle, fem-powered sci-fi actioner in the vein of Taken, Blade Runner and Riddick, from Alex James (The Pandora Sequence). Set against a bleak, morally-warped future dystopia, corporation employed secret agents battle for the galaxy's most sort after commodity, Ambrosia.White can't remember her real name, or anything much about her real life - all she remembers is that slavers kidnapped her sister, the only thing she loves, and that that she has less than twelve hours to steal her back - or she will be lost forever in a lawless, immoral and barbaric moral vacuum of a galaxy where humanity has run rampant, limitless and uncontrolled, for centuries.Totally desperate, White has sold her body to the Celestia Corporation - receiving deadly skill and memory upgrades from Celestia's most feared assassin - the cold sexual predator and emotionless psychopath known as Venus; a cruelly efficient, genetically engineered, galaxy-scale super-weapon in the body of a goddess.But even with these advantages, White knows that time is running out, and only the deep emotional bond with her sister will keep her going; White's determination - and newfound brutality - cannot waver... even if it means leaving a devastating trail of death and wreckage in her wake, even if it means that what she finds at the end of her path of destruction - and what she has become - is more horrifying that anything she could have imagined...

Depth of Exposure

Depth of Exposure

Author: Alex James Format: eBook Release Date: 16/02/2013

A tale of adventure, misadventure, love, loyalty and sacrifce set in the heart of the modern-day Afghanistan conflict

All Cheeses Great and Small A Life Less Blurry

All Cheeses Great and Small A Life Less Blurry

Author: Alex James Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/07/2012

This is the story of Alex James's transition from a leading light of the Britpop movement in the 1990s, to gentleman farmer, artisan cheese-maker and father of five.`I was hanging around the pigsty in the way I'd previously hung around at The Groucho Club. I felt wonderfully connected, grounded in the real world, standing in pig muck'Following fifteen years in Blur, Alex James did two wild, unexpected things. He fell in love and he bought a farm.Moving into a rambling, chaotic farmstead in the beautiful Cotswold countryside, he decides the best way to learn about farming is the same way he learned most about music: by jumping in and doing it. As his family settles in, he discovers the unexpected joys that country life abounds in: finding the first egg from your very own chicken, coming across a bramble bush laden with blackberries, roasting home-grown pears on an open fire, before stumbling on a new venture - making cheese.Wonderfully warm, witty and perfectly observed, this is the story of what to do after you've been the bass player in one of the best bands in the world, and a life-affirming tale of just how much fun growing up and settling down can be.`A joy to read. Prose flows and weaves and curls itself into pleasing rhythms...He can write like a god.' SPECTATOR

Depth of Distortion

Depth of Distortion

Author: Alex James Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/06/2012

All Cheeses Great and Small

All Cheeses Great and Small

Author: Alex James Format: eBook Release Date: 01/03/2012

This is the story of Alex James's transition from a leading light of the Britpop movement in the 1990s, to gentleman farmer, artisan cheese-maker and father of five. All Cheeses Great and Small is the follow-up memoir to Alex James's first book, Bit of a Blur, the story of his excessive pop star lifestyle during the nineties. But now Alex has grown up, fallen in love and got married. He has also fallen passionately for his new home, an enormous rambling farmhouse in the Cotswolds, set in two hundred acres of beautiful British countryside. The farm represents not just a new house for Alex, but also a new career. As he breathes new life into the old farm he chances across an unexpected calling: making cheese. His cheeses, Blue Monday, Farleigh Wallop and Little Wallop have received widespread media interest and are now sold through many outlets. The story culminates with an account of the triumphant reformation of Blur for Glastonbury 2009. It will also include illustrations by Graham Coxon.

Depth of Exposure

Depth of Exposure

Author: Alex James Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/01/2012

Bit Of A Blur The Autobiography

Bit Of A Blur The Autobiography

Author: Alex James Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/07/2008

I was the Fool-king of Soho and the number-one slag in the Groucho Club, the second drunkest member of the world's drunkest band. This was no disaster, though. It was a dream coming true.' For Alex James, music had always been a door to a more eventful life. But as bass player of Blur - one of the most successful British bands of all time - his journey was more exciting and extreme than he could ever have predicted. In Bit of a Blur he chronicles his journey from a slug-infested flat in Camberwell to a world of screaming fans and private jets - and his eventual search to find meaning and happiness (and, perhaps most importantly, the perfect cheese), in an increasingly surreal world.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more