Ruta Sepetys - Author

About the Author

Born and raised in Michigan, Ruta Sepetys is the daughter of a Lithuanian refugee. Ruta lives with her family in Tennessee. Between Shades of Gray is her first novel.

Featured books by Ruta Sepetys

Other books by Ruta Sepetys

Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

Author: Ruta Sepetys, Matt Jones, Matt Jones Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/02/2016

WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2017 It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed. This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story. 'Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction' Elizabeth Wein, author of CODE NAME VERITY

Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

Author: Ruta Sepetys Format: eBook Release Date: 02/02/2016

New York Times Bestseller!"e;Masterly crafted"e;The Wall Street JournalFor readers ofBetween Shades of Grayand All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetysreturns to WWII in this epic novel thatshines a light on one of the war's most devastatingyet unknowntragedies.World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide.Among them areJoana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to theship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other testedwith each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Notcountry, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand peopleadults and children alikeaboard must fight for the same thing: survival.Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winningAll the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson'sDead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor BookCode Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of theWilhelm Gustloffthe greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did inBetween Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.Praise forSalt to the Sea:';Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris, and Michael Crouch perform mesmerizing narration worthy of Sepetys's spectacular novel. VERDICT Libraries with even the most limited audio budgets will want to invest.' School Library Journal, starred review ';The talented narrators excel in capturing the tone of their characters. [They] work together to create a vivid and well-rounded reading experience, [and] bring forth the truth of the wartime experience.' Booklist, starred review';The four narrators (Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris and Michael Crouch) are superbly cast...The story's plot and pacing translate beautifully to the audio medium.' Publishers Weekly, starred reviewFeatured on NPR's Morning Edition ';Superlativemasterfully crafted[a] powerful work of historical fiction.'The Wall Street Journal ';[Sepetys is] a master of YA fictionshe once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate.'Entertainment Weekly "e;Riveting...powerful...haunting."e;The Washington Post ';Compelling for both adult and teenage readers.'New York Times Book Review ';Intimate, extraordinary, artfully craftedbrilliant.'Shelf Awareness "e;Historical fiction at its very, very best."e;The Globe and Mail';[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeousone of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time.'Salt Lake Tribune *"e;This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."e;Booklist *"e;Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."e;School Library JournalPraise for Between Shades of Gray:A New York TimesNotable Book AWall Street JournalBest Children's Book APublishers Weekly,School Library Journal, Booklist, and KirkusBest Book iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel A Carnegie Medal andWilliam C. Morris Finalist ANew York Timesand InternationalBestseller ';Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both.'The Washington Post *"e;[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership.'BooklistFrom the Compact Disc edition.

Out of the Easy

Out of the Easy

Author: Ruta Sepetys Format: eBook Release Date: 02/02/2016

Out of the Easy is set against the vivid backdrop of 1950s New Orleans. Written by New York Times bestselling author Ruth Sepetys, this novel has something for everyone: love, mystery, murder, blackmail and warmth. Josie Moraine wants out of The Big Easy - she needs more than New Orleans can offer. Known locally as a brothel prostitute's daughter, she dreams of life at an elite college, far away from here. But then a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie caught between her ambition and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans is luring Josie deeper in as she searches for the truth, and temptation beckons at every turn. Praise for Between Shades of Gray: 'This superlative first novel by Ruta Sepetys demonstrates the strength of its unembellished language. A hefty emotional punch' - The New York Times '. . . moving and heart-wrenching.' - The Guardian Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan and now lives with her family in Tennessee. Her first novel, Between Shades of Gray, was shortlisted for the 2012 Carnegie Medal and the Waterstones Children's Book Award.

Out of the Easy

Out of the Easy

Author: Ruta Sepetys Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/03/2013

Out of the Easy is set against the vivid backdrop of 1950s New Orleans. Written by New York Times bestselling author Ruth Sepetys, this novel has something for everyone: love, mystery, murder, blackmail and warmth. Josie Moraine wants out of The Big Easy - she needs more than New Orleans can offer. Known locally as a brothel prostitute's daughter, she dreams of life at an elite college, far away from here. But then a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie caught between her ambition and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans is luring Josie deeper in as she searches for the truth, and temptation beckons at every turn. Praise for Between Shades of Gray: 'This superlative first novel by Ruta Sepetys demonstrates the strength of its unembellished language. A hefty emotional punch' - The New York Times '. . . moving and heart-wrenching.' - The Guardian Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan and now lives with her family in Tennessee. Her first novel, Between Shades of Gray, was shortlisted for the 2012 Carnegie Medal and the Waterstones Children's Book Award.

Between Shades Of Gray

Between Shades Of Gray

Author: Ruta Sepetys Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/06/2011

The New York Times bestseller Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys is a harrowing story of a Lithuanian family who suffer unimaginable hardship and deportation during World War II, pitched perfectly for children and adults alike. That morning, my brother's life was worth a pocket watch . . . One night fifteen-year-old Lina, her mother and young brother are hauled from their home by Soviet guards, thrown into cattle cars and sent away. They are being deported to Siberia. An unimaginable and harrowing journey has begun. Lina doesn't know if she'll ever see her father or her friends again. But she refuses to give up hope. Lina hopes for her family. For her country. For her future. For love - first love, with the boy she barely knows but knows she does not want to lose . . . Will hope keep Lina alive? Set in 1941, Between Shades of Gray is an extraordinary and haunting story based on first-hand family accounts and memories from survivors. 'This superlative first novel by Ruta Sepetys demonstrates the strength of its unembellished language. A hefty emotional punch' New York Times 'Her prose is restrained and powerful, as unadorned as the landscape in which her characters struggle to survive... Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both' The Washington Post Born and raised in Michigan, Ruta Sepetys is the daughter of a Lithuanian refugee. Ruta lives with her family in Tennessee. Between Shades of Grey is her first novel. http://www.betweenshadesofgray.com/

Between Shades of Gray

Between Shades of Gray

Author: Ruta Sepetys Format: eBook Release Date: 22/03/2011

"e;Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."e;--The Washington PostFrom New York Times bestseller Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea A New York Times notable bookAn International BestsellerA Carnegie Medal Nominee Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life--until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive? A moving and haunting novel for readers of The Book Thief

Author Info

Author's Website

http://rutasepetys.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Ruta Sepetys on Facebook