James Hayman - Author

About the Author

James Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York’s largest advertising agencies. He and his wife, artist Jeanne O’Toole Hayman, now live in Portland, Maine.

 

Author photo © Fran Houston

Featured books by James Hayman

The Chill of Night

The Chill of Night

Author: James Hayman Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/03/2012

One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012. Hayman's first novel, 'The Cutting', introduced us to detective Michael McCabe, recently moved to Portland, Maine, with his young daughter.  It was a good read but very much a first novel. Now Hayman hones his skills with book number two, so much better.  It is detailed crime detection stuff, and as the investigation unfolds so you slowly learn more of the characters involved, a nice approach which will carry well into future books.  And the plot? It's cold, chilly stuff, intriguing and tense especially as an unreliable witness comes forward and we start seeing the case from her sad view point. Despite all its detail this is a fast paced read and a series well worth following.   April 2012 Book of the Month.

eBooks of the Month
The Cutting

The Cutting

Author: James Hayman Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/01/2011

January 2011 Debut of the Month. There's a killer on the loose with surgical expertise who is targeting young women. Now McCabe and his team face a race against time to unmask the sadistic killer and rescue a missing woman before it is too late. The Cutting is one of the scariest debuts of the year. And the first in a great new series. And if you don't believe us then read what top crime writer Tess Gerritsen has to say:   'A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller!'

eBooks of the Month

Other books by James Hayman

The Girl on the Bridge

The Girl on the Bridge

Author: James Hayman Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/06/2017

From New York Times bestselling author of the acclaimed McCabe and Savage series comes an electrifying new thriller of taut and twisted suspense. On a freezing December night, Hannah Reindel leaps to her death from an old railway bridge into the rushing waters of the river below. Yet the real cause of death was trauma suffered twelve years earlier when Hannah was plucked from a crowd of freshman girls at a college fraternity party, drugged, and then viciously assaulted by six members of the college football team. Those responsible have never faced or feared justice. Until now. A month after Hannah's death, Joshua Thorne-former Holden College quarterback and now a Wall Street millionaire-is found murdered, his body bound to a bed and brutally mutilated. When a second attacker dies in mysterious circumstances, detectives Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage know they must find the killer before more of Hannah's attackers are executed. But they soon realize, these murders may not be simple acts of revenge, but something far more sinister. The Girl on the Bridge is a compelling and harrowing tale of suspense that once read will not easily be forgotten.

Girl in the Glass

Girl in the Glass

Author: James Hayman Format: Ebook Release Date: 25/08/2015

Two identical women. Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short 108 years apartJune 1904.Aime Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maines richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby familys private summer island, the letter A mysteriously carved into her chest.June 2012.Veronica Aime Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aime, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimes death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor.The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.

An Appeal to Tradesmen - Scholar's Choice Edition

An Appeal to Tradesmen - Scholar's Choice Edition

Author: James Hayman Format: Paperback Release Date: 18/02/2015

An Appeal to Tradesmen - Scholar's Choice Edition by James Hayman