Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Darcey Bonnette - Author

About the Author

 

 

Author Photo © Kristina Barton

Featured books by Darcey Bonnette

The Tudor Princess

The Tudor Princess

Author: Darcey Bonnette Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/04/2014

Love, treachery and betrayal at court...The perfect read for fans of Philippa Gregory and Susannah Dunn. From her earliest days, Margaret Tudor knows she will not have the luxury of choosing a husband. As daughter of Henry VII, her duty is to gain alliances for England. Barely out of girlhood, Margaret is married by proxy to James IV and travels to Edinburgh to become Queen of Scotland. Despite her doubts, Margaret falls under the spell of her adopted home. But she has rivals. While Jamie is an affectionate husband, he is not a faithful one. And providing an heir cannot guarantee Margaret's safety when Jamie leads an invading army against her own brother, Henry VIII. In the wake of tragic loss she falls prey to the attentions of the ambitious Earl of Angus - a move that brings Scotland to the brink of anarchy. Beset by betrayal, secret alliances, and the vagaries of her own heart, Margaret has one overriding ambition - to preserve the crown of Scotland for her son, no matter what the cost. Exquisitely detailed and poignant, The Tudor Princess vividly depicts the life and loves of an extraordinary woman who helped shape the fate of two kingdoms - and in time, became the means of uniting them.

Other books by Darcey Bonnette

The Tudor Princess

The Tudor Princess

Author: Darcey Bonnette Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/04/2014

Love, treachery and betrayal at court...The perfect read for fans of Philippa Gregory and Susannah Dunn. From her earliest days, Margaret Tudor knows she will not have the luxury of choosing a husband. As daughter of Henry VII, her duty is to gain alliances for England. Barely out of girlhood, Margaret is married by proxy to James IV and travels to Edinburgh to become Queen of Scotland. Despite her doubts, Margaret falls under the spell of her adopted home. But she has rivals. While Jamie is an affectionate husband, he is not a faithful one. And providing an heir cannot guarantee Margaret's safety when Jamie leads an invading army against her own brother, Henry VIII. In the wake of tragic loss she falls prey to the attentions of the ambitious Earl of Angus - a move that brings Scotland to the brink of anarchy. Beset by betrayal, secret alliances, and the vagaries of her own heart, Margaret has one overriding ambition - to preserve the crown of Scotland for her son, no matter what the cost. Exquisitely detailed and poignant, The Tudor Princess vividly depicts the life and loves of an extraordinary woman who helped shape the fate of two kingdoms - and in time, became the means of uniting them.

Betrayal in the Tudor Court

Betrayal in the Tudor Court

Author: Darcey Bonnette Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/10/2012

Keep your friends close, your enemies closer, and your family closest of all... Orphaned at the age of eight, Lady Cecily Burkhart becomes the ward of a rich and prestigious family. Welcomed as one of their own, Cecily is nurtured and loved by Lord Hal and his wife Lady Grace. As the years pass the family's devout daughter, Mirabella, becomes increasingly consumed by her religious vocation. But when Henry VIII's reign of terror begins to spread throughout England, Mirabella's monastic life is ripped from her. As her life is torn apart, the true reason for her religious fervour becomes clear - her forbidden love for the family's priest and tutor, Father Alec. As the family falls apart, Cecily must hold them together. But a dangerous mutual attraction between her and Father Alec begins to grow. Plagued with jealousy, Mirabella unleashes a tumultuous chain of events that threatens to destroy everyone around her, especially Cecily...

Rivals in the Tudor Court

Rivals in the Tudor Court

Author: Darcey Bonnette Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/11/2011

Thomas Howard founded a dynasty and staked his place in history through a self-serving ruthlessness that allowed no rival to stand in his way. But the true rivals of the Tudor court were those who stood alongside him: his wife and his mistress, who would battle to the end for him... As Queen Catherine's maid, and daughter of the Duke of Buckingham, the future seems bright for Elizabeth Stafford. But when her father gives her hand to Thomas Howard, third Duke of Norfolk, the spirited young woman must sacrifice all for duty. Yet Elizabeth is surprised by her passion for her powerful new husband. And when he takes on a mistress, she is determined to fight for her love and her honour... Naive and vulnerable, Bess Holland is easily charmed by the Duke of Norfolk, doing his bidding in exchange for gifts and adoration. For years, she and Elizabeth compete for his affections. But they are mere spectators to an obsession neither can rival: Norfolk's quest to weave the Howard name into the royal bloodline. The women's loyalties are tested as his schemes unfold - among them the litigious marriage of his niece Anne Boleyn to King Henry VIII. But in an age of ruthless beheadings, no self-serving motive goes unpunished - and Elizabeth and Bess will have to fight a force more sinister than the executioner's axe...

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more