Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

John Verdon - Author

About the Author

John Verdon has held several executive positions with Manhattan advertising firms but, like his protagonist, recently relocated with his wife to rural upstate New York. Think of a Number is his first novel.

Featured books by John Verdon

Shut Your Eyes Tight

Shut Your Eyes Tight

Author: John Verdon Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/02/2012

Once a cop. Always a cop ...Ex-NYPD detective Dave Gurney is supposed to be retired. But people with problems keep knocking on his door. Like the police, for instance, who are baffled by a gruesome murder they just can't seem to solve. A young bride has been killed in the middle of her own wedding reception. The prime suspect - her new husband's Mexican gardener - is missing. As is the murder weapon - likely a machete - used to decapitate the bride. The police have drawn a blank. It's as if the killer has vanished into thin air. But when Gurney begins his investigations, he finds that a baffling murder is just the latest of many sadistic crimes committed by an individual who'll do anything to avoid capture.

Other books by John Verdon

White River Burning

White River Burning

Author: John Verdon Format: eBook Release Date: 03/07/2018

"e;Its always a pleasure to watch a keen mind absorbed in a difficult puzzle, which is how Dave Gurney distinguishes himself in John Verdons tricky whodunits."e; The New York Times "e;Verdons novels, now read in twenty languages, feature serpentine plots, heightening suspense, skillfully developed characters, and a rich sense of place."e; Booklist (starred review) Tensions have been running high in White River as it approaches the anniversary of a fatal shooting of a black motorist by a local police officer. The economically depressed, racially polarized city is on edge, confronted with angry demonstrations, arson, and looting. In the midst of the turmoil, a White River police officer is shot dead by an unknown sniper. As the town spirals out of control, local authorities approach Dave Gurney to conduct an independent investigation of the shooting.The situation in White River becomes truly explosive as more killings occur in what appears to be an escalating sequence of retaliations. But when Gurney questions the true nature of all this bloodshed, and zeroes in on peculiar aspects of the individual murders, his involvement is suddenly terminated. Obsessed with evidence that doesn't support the official version of events, Gurney cannot let go of the case. Despite intense opposition from the police, as well as from dangerous fanatics lurking in the shadows, he begins to uncover an astonishing structure of deceptionlearning that nothing in White River is what it seems to be.White River Burning is the most provocative and timely book yet by the author hailed by The New York Times as "e;masterly."e;

Wolf Lake

Wolf Lake

Author: John Verdon Format: eBook Release Date: 12/07/2016

Could a nightmare be used as a murder weapon? Thats the provocative question confronting Gurney in the thrilling new installment in this series of international bestsellers. The former NYPD star homicide detective is called upon to solve a baffling puzzle: Four people who live in different parts of the country and who seem to have little in common, report having had the same dreama terrifying nightmare involving a bloody dagger with a carved wolfs head on the handle. All four are subsequently found with their wrists cutapparent suicidesand the weapon used in each case was a wolfs head dagger.Police zero in quickly on Richard Hammond, a controversial psychologist who conducts hypnotherapy sessions at a spooky old Adirondack inn called Wolf Lake Lodge. It seems that each of the victims had gone there to meet with Hammond shortly before turning up dead.Troubled by odd holes in the official approach to the case, Gurney begins his own investigationan action that puts him in the crosshairs of not only an icy murderer and the local police but the darkest corner of the federal government. As ruthless as the blizzard trapping him in the sinister eeriness of Wolf Lake, Gurneys enemies set out to keep him from the truth at any costincluding an all-out assault on the sanity of his beloved wife Madeleine.With his emotional resources strained to the breaking point, Gurney must throw himself into a deadly battle of wits with the most frightening opponent he has ever faced.Wolf Lake is the new work by a writer hailed by the New York Times as masterlyand it furthers the adventures of Dave Gurney, a detective reviewers have compared to Sherlock Holmes.

Shut Your Eyes Tight

Shut Your Eyes Tight

Author: John Verdon Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 02/04/2015

Ex detective Dave Gurney is supposed to be retired. But people with problems keep knocking - Like the police, who are baffled by a gruesome murder they just can't solve. A bride has been killed in the middle of her wedding reception. The suspect - her husband's gardener - is missing. So is the murder weapon, used to decapitate the bride -

Think of a Number

Think of a Number

Author: John Verdon Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 02/04/2015

When Dave Gurney, retired NYPD homicide detective, is contacted by an old college acquaintance about some startling letters he's been receiving, it is a sinister puzzle. Then the acquaintance is brutally killed - Suddenly Gurney finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation that makes no sense. The killer seems to have known his victim intimately. This seems only to be the beginning. And the killer alone knows where it will end.

Let the Devil Sleep

Let the Devil Sleep

Author: John Verdon Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 02/04/2015

Dave Gurney, a retired NYPD homicide detective, agrees to meet a woman making a documentary on 'The Good Shepherd', whose shootings made headline news a decade ago. But the killings stopped, and nobody could say why. Finding himself back on the case, Gurney soon discovers facts the original investigation missed, and stakes his life on finding The Good Shepherd, making himself a target so that the killer will come for him.

Let the Devil Sleep

Let the Devil Sleep

Author: John Verdon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/01/2013

Let The Devil Sleep is the gripping third crime novel by John Verdon in the David Gurney series. Ten years ago a serial killer went quiet - now he's back. Dave Gurney, a retired NYPD homicide detective, agrees to meet a young woman making a documentary on The Good Shepherd. A decade ago a series of roadside shootings made The Good Shepherd killer headline news. But then the killings stopped, and nobody could say for sure why. Finding himself drawn back into the case, Gurney soon discovers new facts the original investigation missed and literally stakes his life on finding The Good Shepherd. He makes himself a target so that the killer will come for him. The latest puzzle masterpiece from the internationally bestselling author of Think of a Number and Shut Your Eyes Tight. John Verdon returns with another instalment in the David Gurney Series. Following the success of Think of a Number and Shut Your Eyes Tight comes John Verdon's latest masterpiece Let The Devil Sleep. Fans of Tess Gerritsen and James Hayman will love this series. Praise for John Verdon: 'The best thriller I've read in a long, long time' Tess Gerritsen 'Wow! Totally absorbing, brilliantly written. The best book I've read this year' The Sun John Verdon, a former Manhattan advertising executive, lives with his wife on a small hilltop in upstate New York. His first two Dave Gurney novels are Think of a Number and Shut Your Eyes Tight.

Shut Your Eyes Tight

Shut Your Eyes Tight

Author: John Verdon Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/02/2012

Once a cop. Always a cop ...Ex-NYPD detective Dave Gurney is supposed to be retired. But people with problems keep knocking on his door. Like the police, for instance, who are baffled by a gruesome murder they just can't seem to solve. A young bride has been killed in the middle of her own wedding reception. The prime suspect - her new husband's Mexican gardener - is missing. As is the murder weapon - likely a machete - used to decapitate the bride. The police have drawn a blank. It's as if the killer has vanished into thin air. But when Gurney begins his investigations, he finds that a baffling murder is just the latest of many sadistic crimes committed by an individual who'll do anything to avoid capture.

Shut Your Eyes Tight (Dave Gurney, No. 2)

Shut Your Eyes Tight (Dave Gurney, No. 2)

Author: John Verdon Format: eBook Release Date: 12/07/2011

Dave Gurney, retired NYPD homicide investigator, is back in Shut Your Eyes Tight, the sequel to the international bestseller Think of a Number Dave Gurney, a few months past the Mellery case that pulled him out of retirement and then nearly killed him, is trying once again to adjust to his country house's bucolic rhythms when he receives a call about a case so seductively bewildering that the thought of not looking into it seems unimaginableeven if his beloved wife, Madeleine, would rather he do anything but.The facts of what has occurred are horrible: a blushing bride, newly wed to an eminent psychiatrist and just minutes from hearing her congratulatory toast, is found decapitated, her head apparently severed by a machete. Though police investigators believe that a Mexican gardener killed the young woman in a fit of jealous fury, the victim's mothera chilly high-society beautyis having none of it. Reluctantly drawn in, Dave is quickly buffeted by a series of revelations that transform the bizarrely monstrous into the monstrously bizarre. Underneath it all may exist one of the darkest criminal schemes imaginable. And as Gurney begins deciphering its grotesque outlines, some of his most cherished assumptions about himself are challenged, causing him to stare into an abyss so deep that it threatens to swallow not just him, but Madeleine, too.

Think of a Number

Think of a Number

Author: John Verdon Format: eBook Release Date: 06/07/2010

The first book in the Dave Gurney series, Think of a Number is a heart-pounding game of cat and mouse that grows relentlessly darker and more frightening as its pace acceleratesThreatening letters arrive in the mail over a period of weeks, ending with a simple declaration: ';Think of any numberpicture itnow see how well I know your secrets.' Those who comply find that the letter writer has predicted their random choice exactly. But when oddities that begin as a diverting puzzle quickly ignite into a massive serial murder investigation, police are confronted with a baffling killer, one who is fond of rhymes filled with threats and warnings, whose attention to detail is unprecedented, and who has an uncanny knack for disappearing into thin air. Brought in as an investigative consultant, Dave Gurney, a recently retired NYPD homicide investigator, soon accomplishes deductive breakthroughs that leave local police in awe. Yet, even as he matches wits with his seemingly clairvoyant opponent, Gurney's tragedy-marred past rises up to haunt him, his marriage approaches a dangerous precipice, and he wonders if he's met an adversary who can't be stopped.A work that defies easy labels--at once a propulsive masterpiece of suspense and an absorbing immersion in the lives of characters so real we seem to hear their heartbeats--Think of a Number is a novel you'll not soon forget.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.johnverdon.net/pages/index.php

Author's Facebook

Find John Verdon on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more