LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Jaishree Misra - Author

About the Author

Jaishree Misra grew up in India, moved to the UK in 1990 and has recently moved back to India with her husband and daughter.


She has an MA in English Honours from Kerala University and subsequently acquired two post-graduate diplomas, the first from the University of London in Special Education and the second from the London College of Printing in Broadcast Journalism.

 

'Ancient Promises' has been translated into German, Greek and Malayalam and became a major seller in India, staying on the top of best-seller lists in Indian newspapers and magazines for several weeks. Excerpts from the book have also been included in two Penguin anthologies: 'The Fiction Collection: 20 Years of Penguin India' and 'Where the Rain is Born: Writings about Kerala'.


Jaishree wrote two further novels commissioned by Penguin India, alongside a Little Book of Romance. The first is a comedy of manners set in Delhi ('Accidents Like Love & Marriage') and the second ('Afterwards') is a story of bereavement and loss that again went straight onto all Indian best-seller lists in the first week of its publication.


In 2004, Jaishree started to research and write a historical novel ('Rani'), set in British India and based on the real life story of Rani Lakshmibai of Jhansi who fought the British Army in the great uprising of 1857. The book was banned by the Uttar Pradesh government in India but went on to sell well, with film rights being sold subsequently too.


In 2008, Jaishree was offered a three-book deal by the Avon imprint of Harper Collins in the UK. The first of these books ('Secrets & Lies') was published in June 2009 and went onto Bookseller magazine's Heatseeker's list in the second week of its publication.

Featured books by Jaishree Misra

Other books by Jaishree Misra

Of Mothers and others - Stories, Essays, Poems

Of Mothers and others - Stories, Essays, Poems

Author: Jaishree Misra Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/12/2019

Taking care of our women and children builds not just a generation but the nation itself, writes the Indian film star Shabana Azmi in her introduction to this unique volume. We neglect mothers at our own peril, at the peril of society. If we are to lead as a nation, we must put our women and children first. Of Mothers and Others takes a step toward the fulfillment of this goal. A thought-provoking collection of stories, essays, and poems by a wide range of Indian writers, it challenges cozy assumptions about motherhood to reveal messy but affirming truths about this vital role and the way we experience it. These works portray motherhood from a variety of perspectives, illuminating its difficult, funny, and tender moments while addressing such topics as single motherhood, adopted children, surrogacy, bereavement, special needs children, grandmothers, and reluctant mothers. Motherhood emerges as far more than a state of being: it has profound implications, the contributors show, for personal identity, one's place in society, and the very nature of the self. Contributors to this book include Urvashi Butalia, Tishani Doshi, Shashi Deshpande, Namita Gokhale, Manju Kapur, and Bulbul Sharma.

A Scandalous Secret

A Scandalous Secret

Author: Jaishree Misra Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/05/2011

The truth will tear them apart... An engrossing novel about difficult choices and second chances that will enthral fans of DOROTHY KOOMSON and ERICA JAMES. They had the perfect marriage... Glamour, money, and a beautiful home- the golden couple of Delhi, Neha and Sharat appear to have it all. But a dark secret from Neha's past is about to resurface, a heartbreaking moment in her past that she has tried to block out. While studying at Oxford, a naive eighteen year-old Neha fell pregnant and made the difficult decision to give the baby up for adoption, vowing never to contact her child again. But now, years later, her little girl - Sonya - is now a fully grown woman and determined to find her birth mother. With the foundation of Neha's and Sharat's world rocked to its very core, will Sonya's arrival in Delhi push it over the edge? And as Sonya begins to confront Neha, can mother and daughter allow themselves to forgive and forget? An engrossing novel about difficult choices and second chances that will enthral fans of DOROTHY KOOMSON and ERICA JAMES.

Secrets and Sins

Secrets and Sins

Author: Jaishree Misra Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2010

Be careful what you wish for... For fans of Eat, Pray and Love as well as the authors Freya North, Elizabeth Noble and Jane Green. Seven years ago, Riva Singh and Aman Khan had a passionate love affair. Despite their attraction, Riva rejected Aman for reliable Ben, the man who became her husband. Now, Riva is a bestselling London novelist, whilst Aman is a Bollywood superstar. Both have watched each other from afar but have stayed apart since their painful split. But Fate appears to have other plans for them as they are thrown together at the Cannes film festival. Aman is torn between his desire for Riva and his young family - not to mention the havoc an affair would have on his golden boy public image. Beset by guilt, Reva knows that their love could destroy everything that they hold dear. With so much at stake, will these star-crossed lovers follow their hearts - or their heads?

Afterwards

Afterwards

Author: Jaishree Misra Format: eBook Release Date: 19/01/2004

There is always, if not exactly a 'happily ever after', at least an 'afterwards' to every story When Rahul Tiwari arrives in Kerala for a short break from London, he has no premonition of a life-changing moment. But one glance over the fence at his lovely but reticent neighbour Maya is enough to launch him on a path of no return. He finds himself playing friend, partner, co-conspirator, and finally the entirely unexpected role of saviour as Maya, suffocating under the weight of a loveless marriage and a suspicious husband, turns to him for help. Together, they flee India with Maya's one-year-old daughter Anjali and life seems to hold all the promise of a new beginning, until destiny strikes With characteristic ease and insight, Jaishree Misra writes in her new novel of the transforming power of love and of the joy and heartbreak of giving yourself to another, for better or for worse.

Accidents Like Love & Marriage

Accidents Like Love & Marriage

Author: Jaishree Misra Format: eBook Release Date: 21/11/2001

A ribald, good-natured story of love in Delhi. Accidents like Love and Marriage is an unexpected romp through the universal dilemmas of love and marriage. It is a compelling tale of incompatible relationships and their astonishing success rates. The Sachdevs, Menons and Singhs are urban Indians, normal folk with everyday concerns, instantly recognizable, in fact, just a little bit like youji and me. But when a foppish Delhiwalla falls for a lovely, smart Keralite and his brother finds romance abroad, passion and comedy take control of their destinies. Why are any of these couples married to each other? Why are the unmarried wanting to marry each other? And why are some of them friends? For wouldn't you have thought that friends, at the very least, had to be vaguely compatible, even if husbands and wives weren't? This hilarious tale of incompatibilities explores why we do the things we do or, indeed, why we let them happen to us. Jaishree Misra's second novel.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.jaishreemisra.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Jaishree Misra on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more