Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Jim Carrington - Author

About the Author

Inside My Head, published by Bloomsbury in May 2010, is Jim Carrington’s first novel. He is a teacher and lives with his family in Raynes Park, south-west London.

Photo © Sonja Timpson

Featured books by Jim Carrington

Other books by Jim Carrington

A-Z of Autism A guide for parents and professionals

A-Z of Autism A guide for parents and professionals

Author: Jim Carrington Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/08/2018

A-Z of Autism: A guide for parents and professionals aims to provide insight and advice to empower others raising, supporting and caring for children with autism to deal with experiences that can be challenging and overwhelming but also extremely rewarding. Written from first-hand experience by an author who is both a parent of a child with ASC and a primary SENCo, this book pinpoints areas where a child with ASC and/or their parents may struggle, covering many aspects of autism from diagnosis, schooling, and puberty to siblings, sensory issues and diet. This book provides friendly and accessible information and approaches topics in alphabetical order, allowing parents and professionals to dip in and out to access information and support.

Cambridge Reading Adventures Cambridge Reading Adventures Turquoise Band Pack

Cambridge Reading Adventures Cambridge Reading Adventures Turquoise Band Pack

Author: Jim Carrington, Gabby Pritchard Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 19/04/2018

Endorsed for reading by Cambridge Assessment International Education, Cambridge Reading Adventures is our international primary reading scheme. An ideal way to add to your reading collection, our Band Packs include every title within your chosen level. Explore the range of exciting fiction and non-fiction at Turquoise Band including Motorcycles, Little Fennec Fox and Jerboa, How Chocolate is Made and Sinbad Goes to Sea. Turquoise Band books include extended descriptions of places and people with literary phrases and expressions that provide new challenges. Vocabulary is often less common and requires the reader to use knowledge of spelling patterns. Non-fiction texts use maps, charts and diagrams to present information. Learners are encouraged to navigate information in glossaries and indexes.

Cambridge Reading Adventures Sang Kancil and the Farmer Gold Band

Cambridge Reading Adventures Sang Kancil and the Farmer Gold Band

Author: Jim Carrington Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/10/2017

Endorsed for reading by Cambridge Assessment International Education, Cambridge Reading Adventures is our international primary reading scheme. Sang Kancil keeps eating the farmer's fruit and vegetables. Can the farmer find a way to stop him or will Sang Kancil outwit him? Gold Band books are for children approaching independence in reading. Longer texts give the opportunity for more sustained reading while more complex language structures are used. Illustrations now offer only general support to the story. Contains full teaching support including learning outcomes, curriculum links and follow-up activities.

Otis the Robot: The Manual

Otis the Robot: The Manual

Author: Jim Carrington Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/05/2017

The Manual includes the social stories Otis uses; resources to work on reading and inference skills, helping children to understand and interpret the emotions and intentions of characters; ideas for comic strip conversation scenarios to help teach social problem solving skills; social stories for other common situations; resources to help work on emotions and facial expressions to help children understand their own emotions, as well as those of others; visual timetables and now/next cards to support classroom routines and ease transitions.

Otis the Robot Meets a Supply Teacher

Otis the Robot Meets a Supply Teacher

Author: Jim Carrington Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/03/2017

This series follows Otis the Robot, who finds it hard to deviate from his programming and adapt to social situations. He goes to a school run and attended by other robots. The short stories in this series will help teach social skills to primary-aged children with Autism Spectrum Condition and social communication difficulties. Each book explores a different social situation which commonly causes stress, misunderstanding or confusion about how to behave.The books are aimed primarily at children aged between 3 and 11 years old, which is when difficulties typically start to manifest themselves for children with ASC.

Otis the Robot Keeps His Cool

Otis the Robot Keeps His Cool

Author: Jim Carrington Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/03/2017

This series follows Otis the Robot, who finds it hard to deviate from his programming and adapt to social situations. The short stories in this series will help teach social skills to primary-aged children with Autism Spectrum Condition and social communication difficulties. Each book explores a different social situation which commonly causes stress, misunderstanding or confusion about how to behave. The books are aimed primarily at children aged between 3 and 11 years old, which is when difficulties typically start to manifest themselves for children with ASC.

Otis the Robot Plays the Game

Otis the Robot Plays the Game

Author: Jim Carrington Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/03/2017

This series follows Otis the Robot, who finds it hard to deviate from his programming and adapt to social situations. He goes to a school run and attended by other robots. The short stories in this series will help teach social skills to primary-aged children with Autism Spectrum Condition and social communication difficulties. Each book explores a different social situation which commonly causes stress, misunderstanding or confusion about how to behave.The books are aimed primarily at children aged between 3 and 11 years old, which is when difficulties typically start to manifest themselves for children with ASC.

Otis the Robot Shares

Otis the Robot Shares

Author: Jim Carrington Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/03/2017

This series follows Otis the Robot, who finds it hard to deviate from his programming and adapt to social situations. The short stories in this series will help teach social skills to primary-aged children with Autism Spectrum Condition and social communication difficulties. Each book explores a different social situation which commonly causes stress, misunderstanding or confusion about how to behave. The books are aimed primarily at children aged between 3 and 11 years old, which is when difficulties typically start to manifest themselves for children with ASC

Cambridge Reading Adventures Sang Kancil and Crocodile Orange Band

Cambridge Reading Adventures Sang Kancil and Crocodile Orange Band

Author: Jim Carrington Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2016

Endorsed for reading by Cambridge Assessment International Education, Cambridge Reading Adventures is our international primary reading scheme. The river is full of hungry crocodiles. Can Sang Kancil find a way to cross? Orange Band stories are longer than previous bands, featuring more events and greater complexity. Illustrations support only one aspect of the story. Sentence structures become more complex. Contains full teaching support including learning outcomes, curriculum links and follow-up activities.

Cambridge Reading Adventures Sang Kancil and the Tiger Turquoise Band

Cambridge Reading Adventures Sang Kancil and the Tiger Turquoise Band

Author: Jim Carrington Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2016

Endorsed for reading by Cambridge Assessment International Education, Cambridge Reading Adventures is our international primary reading scheme. Tiger wants to eat Sang Kancil. Can Sang Kancil trick Tiger? At Turquoise Band descriptions of places and people are extended with literary phrases and expressions which provide new challenges. Vocabulary is often less common and requires the reader to use their knowledge of spelling patterns. Contains full teaching support including learning outcomes, curriculum links and follow-up activities.

Boy 23

Boy 23

Author: Jim Carrington Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/11/2015

Boy 23 isn't in My Place any more. He can't see The Screen, he can't hear The Voice. Boy 23 is alone. One dark night, Boy 23 is thrown in the back of the van and driven out of My Place - the only home he has ever known. He is abandoned in a forest with a rucksack containing the bare essentials for survival. Before the van drives away, a voice tells him he must run as far as he can. His life depends on it. Boy 23 has never known another human. Boy 23 has never even been outside. So who is he? Why do people want to kill him? And more to the point, who is the voice that wants to save him? A hugely fast-paced dystopian page-turner which by the end will leave you in a state of shock. For fans of Chaos Walking and Charlie Brooker's Black Mirror.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.jimcarrington.co.uk/

Author's Facebook

Find Jim Carrington on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more