Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Sarah Long - Author

About the Author

Sarah Long worked for several years in publishing before giving it all up to move to Paris with her husband and three children. Following several years of the Parisian experience, they now live back in London.

Featured books by Sarah Long

Other books by Sarah Long

What the Cockadoodles Do, Little Lou Starts 'big School'

What the Cockadoodles Do, Little Lou Starts 'big School'

Author: Sarah Long Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/07/2018

Invisible Women

Invisible Women

Author: Sarah Long Format: eBook Release Date: 20/04/2017

'I was hooked from the start on this emotionally intelligent read' Daily MailIsn't it about time we talked about YOU?Sandra has a naughty secret. Harriet has been ditched with her ailing mother-in-law one time too many. Tessa is desperate for distraction after her youngest flies the nest for uni.With the big 5-0 around the corner, isn't it about time they put themselves first?After Tessa responds to a late night Facebook message from an old flame, she finds herself impulsively waiting at the airport for a plane from New York. Will it reunite her with The One That Got Away, or land her in a heap of trouble?And is this the long-awaited moment Tessa and her friends grab their lives back and start living exactly as they choose?A sharp, irreverent and very funny novel for grown-ups. Perfect for fans of Allison Pearson, Dawn French and Sophie Kinsella.This is what you have been saying about Sarah Long:'An emotional tale of love, friendship and taking control of your life''Intelligent, witty, thought-provoking . . . thoroughly recommended, especially if you're a woman of a certain age''Sure to make you giggle''A perfect, easy read''Funny and emotional . . . so true it's scary!'

Chase Mastercard Quickport for Small Business

Chase Mastercard Quickport for Small Business

Author: Sarah Long Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/03/2013

Le Dossier

Le Dossier

Author: Sarah Long Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2007

In this robust, insightful and hitherto only privately available handbook, Parisian wife and mother Hortense de Monplaisir shares with us the secrets of her survival amongst the English. Exiled to London for the sake of her husband's career, pioneer Hortense delves into the many aspects of la perfide Albion that have long puzzled its closest neighbour and oldest enemy. No one and nothing is safe from Hortense's penetrating eye as she discusses a diverse range of topics from the inability of the English to speak their mind, their bizarre love of rituals such as the stag party and the country fete and their passion for long muddy walks, to their obsession with World War II, estate agents and incomprehensible fondness for the traditional English pantomime. The result is a double-edged comedy: here are the foibles of the English, seen through the jaundiced gaze of a sophisticated Parisienne. Hortense's confident interpretations of some of our best-loved national habits (jam with meat, anyone?) will only confirm our long-held view that the French are, indeed, very different.

The Next Best Thing

The Next Best Thing

Author: Sarah Long Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/10/2006

At thirty-five, Jane realises something rather disturbing. She thought she had her life perfectly balanced: working from home as a a freelance translator allows her to keep her financial independence, spend time with her daughter and escape office politics. But somehow, instead of combining a rewarding career with a satisfying mother-daughter relationship, she's become an all-purpose dogsbody, rushing from crisis to crisis and combining missing deadlines with repairing the dishwasher. Rupert is also leading the life he planned: a job in the city, glamorous girlfriend, plenty of money. But he's beginning to have doubts about the dull-but-sensible route he's chosen - and to realise it's just possible he wants more out of life. So when he and Jane meet, each escaping their day-to-day life with a stolen afternoon in the peace of the cinema, they both start to wonder whether it's really enough to settle for the next best thing ...

And What Do You Do?

And What Do You Do?

Author: Sarah Long Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/05/2004

Meet Laura: the woman who puts the 'je ne sais quoi' into the question: and what do you do? Laura has it all. A gorgeous husband, two beautiful children and an idyllic lady-of-leisure Parisian lifestyle. She spends her mornings sharing croissants and a grand creme with her friends, her afternoons in the Louvre and her evenings attending sophisticated soirees. It's the perfect life, isn't it? But hard as Laura is trying to enjoy her perfect life, it just doesn't seem to feel as perfect as it should. It's hard to stretch 'meeting for coffee' to last the entire morning, the Scandinavian au pair is driving her to distraction, her husband's hardly ever in their beautiful home, and Parisian society doesn't exactly embrace the femme inactive. So when her husband embarks on an affair with the irritatingly petite Flavia, Laura decides it is time to review her life.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more