LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Matthew Quick - Author

About the Author

Matthew Quick, 33, is a writer living in Massachusetts. His work has appeared in the Boston Phoenix, Meridian, The Sun, Agni and several other journals. The Silver Linings Playbook is his first novel.

Featured books by Matthew Quick

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Author: Matthew Quick Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/01/2014

A powerful and important book for fans of Mark Haddon, THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK and Jay Asher. How would you spend your birthday if you knew it would be your last? Eighteen-year-old Leonard Peacock knows exactly what he'll do. He'll say goodbye. Not to his mum - who he calls Linda because it annoys her - who's moved out and left him to fend for himself. Nor to his former best friend, whose torments have driven him to consider committing the unthinkable. But to his four friends: a Humphrey-Bogart-obsessed neighbour, a teenage violin virtuoso, a pastor's daughter and a teacher. Most of the time, Leonard believes he's weird and sad but these friends have made him think that maybe he's not. He wants to thank them, and say goodbye. In this riveting and heart-breaking book, acclaimed author Matthew Quick introduces Leonard Peacock, a hero as warm and endearing as he is troubled. And he shows how just a glimmer of hope can make the world of difference.

ebook of the month

Other books by Matthew Quick

Silver Linings

Silver Linings

Author: Matthew Quick Format: eBook Release Date: 21/03/2013

Der New-York-Times-Bestseller: "e;Ein Herzensbrecher von einem Roman."e;Kirkus ReviewEigentlich hat Pat nach seinem Psychiatrie-Aufenthalt nur eins im Sinn: seine Frau Nikki zurckzuerobern. Aber sosehr sie ihn auch beschftigt, zu Gesicht bekommt er sie nicht. Und dafr gibt es gute Grnde. Stattdessen ist da Tiffany, die Schwgerin seines besten Freundes. Sie ist verwitwet, depressiv, nymphoman und luft ihm beim Joggen hinterher. So beginnt die skurrile Freundschaft zwischen zwei Auenseitern, die beide fest an ein Happy End im Leben glauben. Eine anrhrende, tragikomische Geschichte, die Lebensfreude versprht und Hoffnung gibt.

The Silver Linings Playbook (film tie-in)

The Silver Linings Playbook (film tie-in)

Author: Matthew Quick Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/10/2012

Pat Peoples knows that life doesn't always go according to plan, but he's determined to get his back on track. After a stint in a psychiatric hospital, Pat is staying with his parents and trying to live according to his new philosophy: get fit, be nice and always look for the silver lining. Most importantly, Pat is determined to be reconciled with his wife Nikki. Pat's parents just want to protect him so he can get back on his feet, but when Pat befriends the mysterious Tiffany, the secrets they've been keeping from him threaten to come out . . . The Silver Linings Playbook is a touching and very funny novel, from the author of The Good Luck of Right Now.

Boy21

Boy21

Author: Matthew Quick Format: eBook Release Date: 05/03/2012

From Matthew Quick, the author of The Silver-Linings Playbook, comes a powerful young adult novel about basketball, outer-space and friendship.You can lose yourself in repetition--quiet your thoughts; I learned the value of this at a very young age.Basketball has always been an escape for Finley. He lives in broken-down Bellmont, a town ruled by the Irish mob, drugs, violence, and racially charged rivalries. At home, his dad works nights, and Finley is left to take care of his disabled grandfather alone. He's always dreamed of getting out someday, but until he can, putting on that number 21 jersey makes everything seem okay.Russ has just moved to the neighborhood, and the life of this teen basketball phenom has been turned upside down by tragedy. Cut off from everyone he knows, he won't pick up a basketball, but answers only to the name Boy21--taken from his former jersey number.As their final year of high school brings these two boys together, a unique friendship may turn out to be the answer they both need. span

Sorta Like A Rock Star

Sorta Like A Rock Star

Author: Matthew Quick Format: eBook Release Date: 11/05/2010

';This special book dares us to embrace audacious hope. Amber Appleton is my hero.'Sara Zarr, author of Once Was Lost and National Book Award finalist Story of a GirlAmber Appleton lives in a bus. Ever since her mom's boyfriend kicked them out, Amber, her mom, and her totally loyal dog, Bobby Big Boy (aka Thrice B), have been camped out in the back of Hello Yellow (the school bus her mom drives). Still, Amber, the self- proclaimed princess of hope and girl of unyielding optimism, refuses to sweat the bad stuff. But when a fatal tragedy threatens Amber's optimismand her way of lifecan Amber continue to be the rock star of hope? With an oddball cast of characters, this heartwarming, inspiring novel unveils a beautifully beaten-up world of laughs, loyalty, and hard-earned hope. The world is Amber's stage, and Amber is, well . . . she's sorta like a rock star. True? True.From the Compact Disc edition.

Sorta Like a Rock Star

Sorta Like a Rock Star

Author: Matthew Quick Format: eBook Release Date: 01/05/2010

Amber Appleton lives in a bus. Ever since her mom's boyfriend kicked them out, Amber, her mom, and her totally loyal dog, Bobby Big Boy (aka Thrice B) have been camped out in the back of Hello Yellow (the school bus her mom drives). Still, Amber, the self-proclaimed princess of hope and girl of unyielding optimism, refuses to sweat the bad stuff. But when a fatal tragedy threatens Amber's optimism--and her way of life, can Amber continue to be the rock star of hope? With an oddball cast of characters, and a heartwarming, inspiring story, this novel unveils a beautifully beaten-up world of laughs, loyalty, and hard-earned hope. The world is Amber's stage, and Amber is, well...she's sorta like a rock star. True? True.

Silver Linings Playbook

Silver Linings Playbook

Author: Matthew Quick Format: eBook Release Date: 02/09/2008

The Silver Linings Playbook is the riotous and poignant story of how one man regains his memory and comes to terms with the magnitude of his wife's betrayal, an enchanting first novel about love, madness, and Kenny G. During the years he spends in a neural health facility, Pat Peoples formulates a theory about silver linings: he believes his life is a movie produced by God, his mission is to become physically fit and emotionally supportive, and his happy ending will be the return of his estranged wife, Nikki. The problem is that Pat is now home, living with his parents, and everything seems off; no one will talk to him about Nikki; his old friends are saddled with families; the Philadelphia Eagles keep losing, making his father moody; and his new therapist seems to be recommending adultery as a form of therapy. When Pat meets the tragically widowed, physically fit, and clinically depressed Tiffany, she offers to act as a liaison between him and his wife, but only if he will give up watching football, agree to perform in this year's Dance Away Depression competition, and promise not to tell anyone about their "e;contract."e; All the while, Pat keeps searching for his silver lining. In this brilliantly written debut novel, Matthew Quick takes us inside Pat's mind, deftly showing us the world from his distorted yet endearing perspective. The result is a touching and funny story that helps us look at both depression and love in a wonderfully refreshing way.