Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Ali Shaw - Author

About the Author

Ali Shaw was born in 1982 and grew up in a small town in Dorset. He graduated from Lancaster University with a first-class degree in English Literature and has since worked as a bookseller and at Oxford’s Bodleian Library. He is currently writing his second novel.

Featured books by Ali Shaw

Other books by Ali Shaw

Beautiful Chaos A Life Worth Living with Bipolar

Beautiful Chaos A Life Worth Living with Bipolar

Author: Ali Shaw Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/11/2018

Bipolar? No one really knows what it is. Even today it's still misunderstood and badly affected by stigma. Ali Douglas was no different when she was diagnosed in 2009. Beautiful Chaos is the story of one woman's triumph against Bipolar II and a no-holds-barred account of the reality that comes with the diagnosis. An established television presenter for more than 20 years, Ali Douglas presented the ITN national news, and made history by becoming the first woman to present football's Scottish Premier League. Despite her outwardly glamorous, showbiz lifestyle, mixing with sports personalities and TV celebrities, Ali was secretly fighting wild mood swings and devastating depression, and turned to drugs and alcohol as a way to escape. At her lowest point, she came dangerously close to ending her life. After 35 years of battling serious mental illness, Ali was eventually diagnosed with bipolar disorder II. The diagnosis changed her life beyond recognition. In a journey of self-discovery, healing and acceptance, Ali's first non-fiction book, `Beautiful Chaos', describes her chaotic, heart wrenching, but at times amusing existence, prior to receiving treatment and finding the determination to seek out a meaningful and happy life. Compassionate, informative and funny, `Beautiful Chaos' depicts a breathtakingly honest account of what it's really like to live with bipolar.

The Trees

The Trees

Author: Ali Shaw Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/09/2016

A compulsive, mesmerising and wildly imaginative novel in the vein of Pan's Labyrinth and Station Eleven from the award-winning author of The Girl with Glass Feet There came an elastic aftershock of creaks and groans and then, softly softly, a chinking shower of rubbled cement. Leaves calmed and trunks stood serene. Where, not a minute before, there had been a suburb, there was now only woodland standing amid ruins... There is no warning. No chance to prepare. The trees arrive in the night: thundering up through the ground, transforming streets and towns into shadowy forest. Adrien Thomas has never been much of a hero. But when he realises that no help is coming, he ventures into this unrecognisable world. Alongside green-fingered Hannah and her teenage son Seb, Adrien sets out to find his wife and to discover just how deep the forest goes. Their journey will take them to a place of terrible beauty and violence, to the dark heart of nature and the darkness inside themselves.

Das Madchen mit den glasernen Fuen

Das Madchen mit den glasernen Fuen

Author: Ali Shaw Format: eBook Release Date: 16/12/2013

Seltsame Dinge gehen auf St. Hauda's Land vor: Eigentumliche geflugelte Kreaturen schwirren umher, in schneebedeckten Waldern versteckt sich ein Tier, das mit seinem Blick alles in Wei verwandelt, im Meer sind wundersame Feuerwerke zu beobachten ... und Ida Maclaird verwandelt sich langsam, von den Fuen aufwarts, zu Glas. Nun kehrt sie an den Ort zurck, wo alles begann, in der Hoffnung, hier Hilfe zu finden. Doch stattdessen findet sie die groe Liebe: Mit ihrer traurigen und trotzigen Art schafft Ida es, die Knoten in Midas' Herzen zu lsen. Gemeinsam versuchen sie nun, das Glas aufzuhalten.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more