LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Paul Dowswell - Author

About the Author

Paul Dowswell has worked in publishing for over twenty years. He went freelance in 1999 after eight years with Usborne, where he was a senior editor. Before that he worked for Time-Life, BBC Books, the Science Museum and the National Sound Archive.

History is his specialist subject but he also enjoys writing about natural history, science, geography, in fact almost anything, apart from golf and mechanical engineering. He has a shamefully encyclopaedic knowledge of popular music, and have recently begun presenting occasional music programmes on local radio station WCR 101.8 FM.

He has written over 60 books for UK publishers. Most of them have been published in the United States, Commonwealth countries, Europe and elsewhere.

Featured books by Paul Dowswell

Other books by Paul Dowswell

Book of War Stories

Book of War Stories

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/08/2015

A collection of true stories which recount some of the most heroic, devastating and pivotal moments of World Wars One and Two, providing young readers with an insight into the human stories behind the conflicts. Stories range from those of the soldiers on the front line and the riveting tales of spies to those on the home front.

Escape

Escape

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2015

Locked doors, high prison walls and barbed wire are formidable enough obstacles, but many escaping prisoners also face savage dogs and armed guards who shoot to kill. From Alcatraz to Devil's Island, this book tells the extraordinary tales of men who risked their lives for their freedom.

Bomber

Bomber

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2015

ONE IN FIVE NEVER RETURNED. Every boy dreams of flying, but in war that dream can turn into a nightmare. Harry Friedman is the gunner of the Macey May, an American Flying Fortress stationed in East Anglia. The Second World War is raging and the Nazis have swept over Europe. The crews of every Flying Fortress face terrible odds on their bombing missions. To make it through alive, Harry will need luck on his side and courage ... Courage to keep going when he has watched close friends die. Courage to confront a terrible evil. And the courage to make it home from deep behind enemy lines. Nail-biting tension and compelling storytelling combine with Dowswell's meticulous research to deliver a page-turner for fans of John Boyne, Morris Gleitzman and Marcus Zusak.

True Spy Stories

True Spy Stories

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2015

'Spies' is a collection of chilling tales from the world of espionage - from the glittering domain of Mata Hari in turn of the century Paris, to the clinical Cold War professionals of Washington and Moscow.

True Stories of Heroes

True Stories of Heroes

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2015

This volume contains stories about the men and women whose extraordinary courage has captured the imagination of millions. From spies to test pilots, doctors to explorers, it recounts their spirit, integrity or resolve in detail.

The First World War

The First World War

Author: Paul Dowswell, Henry Brook Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/09/2014

Offering an approachable insight into key events, this book contains true stories of courage, heroism and disaster from the First World War.

The Story of the Second World War

The Story of the Second World War

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2014

This title provides a far-reaching account of the story of the Second World War, showing how the war affected nations and people all over the world. Colour photographs and maps give an atmospheric period feel.

Red Shadow

Red Shadow

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/05/2014

Russia, 1940. Fifteen-year-old Misha's life is about to transform when his father is offered a job in Stalin's inner circle. They move into a luxurious apartment in the Kremlin, but doubts about the glorious new Russia quickly surface. Misha realises that the secret police can do whatever they like. His own mother is arrested and sent to prison, but Misha and his father daren't complain. Then as German troops advance on Moscow, the atmosphere in the Kremlin ignites. Misha and a friend find themselves at the heart of a battle against the mighty state in this powerful evocation of one of the most turbulent places and periods of the 20th century, told by a master storyteller.

True Stories of the Second World War

True Stories of the Second World War

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2014

This text recounts the stories of some of the most heroic, devastating and pivotal moments of the war. It gives young readers a strong sense of the suffering, but also the bravery involved in war.

Pirate Attack

Pirate Attack

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/08/2011

Joe's thrilled when Dan and his family invite him to join them on a sailing holiday in the Seychelles. But when some lost Somali pirates board the ship with AK-47s, he's the only one they don't notice - and the only one who can call for help - Thrilling adventure. Particularly suitable for dyslexic, relucatant and struggling readers.

The Cabinet of Curiosities

The Cabinet of Curiosities

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/02/2011

When Lukas Declercq is orphaned, his uncle summons him to Prague, a refuge for Europe's greatest alchemists and natural philosophers, offering to take him on as an apprentice. Uncle Anselmus is court physician to Rudolph II, the reclusive and unstable Emperor. He is also curator of Rudolph's bizarre Cabinet of Curiosities, a series of vast rooms stuffed with wonders and scientific marvels such as a nail from Noah's Ark, phoenix feathers and monstrous freaks of nature, which fascinate Lukas. As Rudolph retreats further into his fantasy world, the threat of rebellion hangs in the air. Dorantes, a diplomat from Spain, comes with his daughter, Celestina, on a mission from Philip II to persuade Rudolph to give up his heretical ways. But he discovers the court is full of diplomats who have been waiting months or years for an audience with the Emperor. Dorantes notices how some had wormed their way into the Emperor's favour by presenting him with fantastic gifts for his Cabinet, and sets about creating a device that he says will stop time. But it works only in the presence of the Emperor. Lukas knows the terrible truth behind Dorantes's mission. But sinister forces have plans for Lukas too, and before he can thwart the plot against the Emperor, Lukas must gamble on Celestina's loyalty in order to save his own life.

Amazing World of Witches

Amazing World of Witches

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/08/2009

Discover the weird and wonderful world of witches and warlocks down the centuries - the facts, the myths, the folk tales and the horrifying truths. This title features over 300 colour photographs and illustrations that include medieval drawings, step-by-step instructions, maps, and cross-section of a wizard's workshop. It provides lots of magical things to make and do with 12 step-by-step projects - including making masks and costumes, carving a Halloween pumpkin, and making charms and spell-bags. It offers fact-boxes and accessible information for home reference and school projects. This is a stimulating and enjoyable reference and activity book for 8- to 12 year-olds at home and school. Seek out the practice of magic around the world and through the ages, from the spirit-worship of ancient civilizations to the spells and potions of modern-day witches. To help you find out more about this magical world, there are 12 step-by-step projects to make learning fun and challenging. Fact-boxes and accessible information make this the perfect introduction to the subject: the book is ideal for home reference and school projects. Over 300 photographs and historic illustrations include medieval drawings, astrological symbols, step-by-step instructions, fine art paintings, maps, and cut-aways of the amazing inside view of the wizard's workshop.

Auslander

Auslander

Author: Paul Dowswell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/03/2009

When Peter's parents are killed, he is sent to an orphanage in Warsaw. Then German soldiers take him away to be measured and assessed. They decide that Peter is racially valuable. He is Volksdeutscher: of German blood. With his blond hair, blue eyes, and acceptably proportioned head, he looks just like the boy on the Hitler-Jugend poster. Someone important will want to adopt Peter. They do. Professor Kaltenbach is very pleased to welcome such a fine Aryan specimen to his household. People will be envious. But Peter is not quite the specimen they think. He is forming his own ideas about what he is seeing, what he is told. Peter doesn't want to be a Nazi, and so he is going to take a very dangerous risk. The most dangerous risk he could possibly choose to take in Berlin in 1942.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.pauldowswell.co.uk/

Author's Facebook

Find Paul Dowswell on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more