tudor queens series
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Anne Berry Book and Novel

Anne Berry - Author

Anne Berry was born in London in 1956, then spent much of her infancy in Aden, before moving on to Hong Kong at the age of six, where she was educated, first at Little Peak School, then Big Peak School, finally at the Island School, where she completed her A levels. She worked for a short period as a journalist for the South China Morning Post, before returning to Britain. After completing a three-year acting course at the Guildford School of Acting, and attaining LAMDA diplomas with honours in acting, teaching and speech therapy, she embarked on a career in theatre. She played pantomime to Shakespeare, and everything in between, shuttling around regional theatres. Most memorable were seasons spent at Theatre Clwyd Wales, Theatre Royal Windsor and Regents Park Open Air Theatre.

Waylaid by love and marriage, Anne and her husband settled in Surrey with their four children. In 1992 they moved to their present home in the village of Bookham. Here Anne founded a small drama school, running it for over ten years. Throughout this period she wrote over thirty plays, performed by the pupils of the school.

Anne's first love is writing, and it is now her full-time occupation. She remembers loving nothing so well as being given an imaginative composition for English homework at Peak School in Hong Kong. Coming a close second is theatre, with an unbridled passion for Shakespeare. She is an art lover, with Vermeer and Caravaggio being particular favourites. Anne is also a keen swimmer and walker. She has had undiminished support from her family in her writing career.

If you like Anne Berry you might also like to read books by Kate Atkinson, Rose Tremain and Heather Gudenkauf.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Anne Berry

The Adoption by Anne Berry
The Adoption
Anne Berry
'I was fourteen when my mother said that she needed to speak to me... And then she told me - just like that. I was adopted. And what I felt was not shock or grief but the most enormous sense...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/02/2013
The Water Children by Anne Berry
The Water Children
Anne Berry
Four lives. Four defining moments which will bring them together. This is a deeply moving novel bringing to life the elemental power of the past and the liberating force of reconciliation and redemption. Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell, Audrey...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/01/1970
The Hungry Ghosts by Anne Berry
The Hungry Ghosts
Anne Berry
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2010. The Desmond Elliott Prize is an annual award for a first novel written in English and published in the UK. Worth £10,000 to the winner, the prize is named...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/03/2010
The Hungry Ghosts by Anne Berry
The Hungry Ghosts
Anne Berry
June 2009 Debut of the Month. A superb novel from a great new talent. The story unfolds told from the different perspectives of each family member and from Alice’s “Ghost”. Unloved by...
Format: Hardback - Released: 28/05/2009

Loading other books by Anne Berry...

Author Info

Loading twitter updates...

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Anne Berry and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane