Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

win prizes tudor queens series
Search our site
Once A Pilgrim by James Deegan Read the opening extract of the brand new James Deegan book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Anne Berry Book and Novel

Anne Berry - Author


Anne Berry was born in London in 1956, then spent much of her infancy in Aden, before moving on to Hong Kong at the age of six, where she was educated, first at Little Peak School, then Big Peak School, finally at the Island School, where she completed her A levels. She worked for a short period as a journalist for the South China Morning Post, before returning to Britain. After completing a three-year acting course at the Guildford School of Acting, and attaining LAMDA diplomas with honours in acting, teaching and speech therapy, she embarked on a career in theatre. She played pantomime to Shakespeare, and everything in between, shuttling around regional theatres. Most memorable were seasons spent at Theatre Clwyd Wales, Theatre Royal Windsor and Regents Park Open Air Theatre.

Waylaid by love and marriage, Anne and her husband settled in Surrey with their four children. In 1992 they moved to their present home in the village of Bookham. Here Anne founded a small drama school, running it for over ten years. Throughout this period she wrote over thirty plays, performed by the pupils of the school.

Anne's first love is writing, and it is now her full-time occupation. She remembers loving nothing so well as being given an imaginative composition for English homework at Peak School in Hong Kong. Coming a close second is theatre, with an unbridled passion for Shakespeare. She is an art lover, with Vermeer and Caravaggio being particular favourites. Anne is also a keen swimmer and walker. She has had undiminished support from her family in her writing career.

If you like Anne Berry you might also like to read books by Susan Lewis, Roma Tearne and Rose Tremain.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Anne Berry

The Adoption by Anne Berry
The Adoption
Anne Berry
'I was fourteen when my mother said that she needed to speak to me... And then she told me - just like that. I was adopted. And what I felt was not shock or grief but the most enormous sense...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/02/2013
The Water Children by Anne Berry
The Water Children
Anne Berry
Four lives. Four defining moments which will bring them together. This is a deeply moving novel bringing to life the elemental power of the past and the liberating force of reconciliation and redemption. Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell, Audrey...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/01/1970
The Hungry Ghosts by Anne Berry
The Hungry Ghosts
Anne Berry
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2010. The Desmond Elliott Prize is an annual award for a first novel written in English and published in the UK. Worth £10,000 to the winner, the prize is named...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/03/2010
The Hungry Ghosts by Anne Berry
The Hungry Ghosts
Anne Berry
June 2009 Debut of the Month. A superb novel from a great new talent. The story unfolds told from the different perspectives of each family member and from Alice’s “Ghost”. Unloved by...
Format: Hardback - Released: 28/05/2009

Loading other books by Anne Berry...


Author Info

Loading twitter updates...

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Anne Berry and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools