LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Zoe Heller - Author

About the Author

Zoë Heller was born in London. She was educated at Oxford University and Columbia University in New York. Her first novel, Everything You Know, was published by Viking (Penguin) in 1999, her second, Notes of a Scandal, (also published by Viking) was recently made into a feature film starring Cate Blanchett and Judi Dench. Her latest novel is The Believers (2008). Zoë Heller writes a column for the Daily Telegraph and was Columnist of the Year for 2002. She lives in New York.

Featured books by Zoe Heller

The Believers

The Believers

Author: Zoe Heller Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/04/2009

A dysfunctional famlily saga that begins in London in 1962 and then moves to Manhattan 40 years later. Heller has created some very memorable characters and skillfully handles them, as a revelation causes the Litvinoff family to reconsider their lives.

Other books by Zoe Heller

Notes on a Scandal

Notes on a Scandal

Author: Zoe Heller Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/08/2011

We don't have secrets, Sheba and I From the first day that the beguiling Sheba Hart joins the staff of St George's, history teacher Barbara Covett is convinced that she has found a kindred spirit. Barbara's loyalty to her new friend is passionate and unstinting and when Sheba is discovered having an illicit affair with one of her young pupils, Barbara quickly elects herself as Sheba's chief defender. But all is not as at first it seems in this dark story and, as Sheba will soon discover, a friend can be just as treacherous as any lover.

Everything You Know

Everything You Know

Author: Zoe Heller Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/05/2009

Everything You Know is the first novel from the bestselling author of Notes on a Scandal, Zoe Heller. The women in Willy Muller's life are trouble. His mother insists he eat tofu. His dopey girlfriend, Penny, wants him to overcome his personal space issues - while Karen, his other, even dopier, girlfriend, just wants more sex. Meanwhile, his oldest daughter, Sophie, wants him to finance her husband's drug habit. But it's his youngest daughter, Sadie, who's giving him the biggest headache. Just before committing suicide three months ago, she sent Willy her diaries. Poring over the record of her empty life, he feels pangs of something unexpected . . . remorse. But isn't it a bit late for such sentimental guff? Set in London, Hollywood and Mexico, Everything You Know is a supremely witty take on love, death and the age-old battle of the sexes. 'Instantly ranks her among the most interesting and exciting of British writers' Will Self 'Sharp and feisty, a riotous read' Tatler 'Fast paced and finely timed, veering from tragedy to farce to back again . . . full of brilliant observations' Harpers and Queen 'Seamlessly blends the sarcastic and the sincere, the comic and the tragic . . . stylish and spirited' New York Times Zoe Heller is the author of three novels, Everything You Know, Notes on a Scandal, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2003 and The Believers. The 2006 film adaptation of Notes on a Scandal, starring Cate Blanchett and Judi Dench, received four Oscar nominations. She lives in New York.

Believers

Believers

Author: Zoe Heller Format: Ebook Release Date: 03/03/2009

[Zoe Heller] is an extraordinarily entertaining writer, and this novel showcases her copious gifts, including a scathing, Waugh-like wit.New York Times Best-selling author Zoe Heller has followed up the critical and commercial success of What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal with another tour-de-force on the meaning of faith, belief, and trust: The Believers. Tragic and comic, witty and intense, The Believers is the story of a dysfunctional family forced by tragedy to confront their own personal demons. In the vein of Claire Messud and Zadie Smith, Zoe Heller has written that rare novel that tackles the big ideas without sacrificing page-turning readability.

What Was She Thinking?

What Was She Thinking?

Author: Zoe Heller Format: Ebook Release Date: 01/01/2006

Schoolteacher Barbara Covett has led a bitter, lonely life as a self-made careerist. Sheba Hart is the ethereal, inexperienced new pottery teacher at St. George's school. When Barbara hears of Sheba's problems in the classroom, her sympathy soon leads to friendship and confidence. But Barbara is unprepared for the secret she will learn: that Sheba has begun a passionate affair with an underage male student. Barbara's confusion, disapproval, and jealousy are helpless to prevent the coming disaster. When the story comes to light and Sheba falls prey to the inevitable media circus, Barbara decides to write an account in her friend's defense, an account that reveals not only Sheba's secrets but her own. What results is a complex psychological portrait framed as a wicked satire, a story of passion and repression, mercy and betrayal.

What Was She Thinking

What Was She Thinking

Author: Zoe Heller Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/06/2004

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more