Zoe Heller - Author

About the Author

Zoë Heller was born in London. She was educated at Oxford University and Columbia University in New York. Her first novel, Everything You Know, was published by Viking (Penguin) in 1999, her second, Notes of a Scandal, (also published by Viking) was recently made into a feature film starring Cate Blanchett and Judi Dench. Her latest novel is The Believers (2008). Zoë Heller writes a column for the Daily Telegraph and was Columnist of the Year for 2002. She lives in New York.

Featured books by Zoe Heller

Other books by Zoe Heller

Everything You Know

Everything You Know

Author: Zoe Heller Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/05/2009

Everything You Know is the first novel from the bestselling author of Notes on a Scandal, Zoe Heller. The women in Willy Muller's life are trouble. His mother insists he eat tofu. His dopey girlfriend, Penny, wants him to overcome his personal space issues - while Karen, his other, even dopier, girlfriend, just wants more sex. Meanwhile, his oldest daughter, Sophie, wants him to finance her husband's drug habit. But it's his youngest daughter, Sadie, who's giving him the biggest headache. Just before committing suicide three months ago, she sent Willy her diaries. Poring over the record of her empty life, he feels pangs of something unexpected . . . remorse. But isn't it a bit late for such sentimental guff? Set in London, Hollywood and Mexico, Everything You Know is a supremely witty take on love, death and the age-old battle of the sexes. 'Instantly ranks her among the most interesting and exciting of British writers' Will Self 'Sharp and feisty, a riotous read' Tatler 'Fast paced and finely timed, veering from tragedy to farce to back again . . . full of brilliant observations' Harpers and Queen 'Seamlessly blends the sarcastic and the sincere, the comic and the tragic . . . stylish and spirited' New York Times Zoe Heller is the author of three novels, Everything You Know, Notes on a Scandal, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2003 and The Believers. The 2006 film adaptation of Notes on a Scandal, starring Cate Blanchett and Judi Dench, received four Oscar nominations. She lives in New York.

The Believers

The Believers

Author: Zoe Heller Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/05/2009

Hailed by The Sunday Times as 'one of the outstanding novels of the year', The Believers explores big ideas with a light touch, delivering a tragic, comic family story as unsparing as it is filled with compassion. When Audrey makes a devastating discovery about her husband, she is forced to re-examine everything she thought she knew about their forty-year marriage. Their children will soon have to come to terms with this unsettling secret, but for the meantime, they are trying to cope with their own dilemmas. Rosa, a disillusioned revolutionary; Karla, an unhappily married social worker; and, adopted brother Lenny who is back on drugs again. In the course of battling their own demons and each other, every member of the family is called upon to decide what - if anything - they still believe in. This recording is unabridged. Typically abridged audiobooks are not more than 60 per cent of the author's work and as low as 30 per cent with characters and plotlines removed.

Believers

Believers

Author: Zoe Heller Format: eBook Release Date: 03/03/2009

[Zoe Heller] is an extraordinarily entertaining writer, and this novel showcases her copious gifts, including a scathing, Waugh-like wit.New York Times Best-selling author Zoe Heller has followed up the critical and commercial success of What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal with another tour-de-force on the meaning of faith, belief, and trust: The Believers. Tragic and comic, witty and intense, The Believers is the story of a dysfunctional family forced by tragedy to confront their own personal demons. In the vein of Claire Messud and Zadie Smith, Zoe Heller has written that rare novel that tackles the big ideas without sacrificing page-turning readability.

Notes on a Scandal

Notes on a Scandal

Author: Zoe Heller Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/12/2008

A Hay Festival and The Poole VOTE 100 BOOKS for Women Selection Shortlisted for the 2003 Man Booker Prize, Zoe Heller's Notes on a Scandal is a darkly compelling novel that explores the taboo subject of pupil/teacher relationships, obsession and betrayal. From the first day that the beguiling Sheba Hart joins the staff of St George's history teacher Barbara Covett is convinced she has found a kindred spirit. Barbara's loyalty to her new friend is passionate and unstinting and when Sheba is discovered having an illicit affair with one of her pupils, Barbara quickly elects herself as Sheba's chief defender. But all is not as it first seems in this dark story and, as Sheba will soon discover, a friend can be just as treacherous as any lover. 'Brilliant, nasty, gripping' Zadie Smith 'Compelling, dark, sexy' Observer 'Superbly gripping. One of the most compelling books I've read in ages' Daily Telegraph 'Deliciously sinister' Daily Mail Zoe Heller is the author of three novels, Everything You Know, Notes on a Scandal, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2003 and The Believers. The 2006 film adaptation of Notes on a Scandal, starring Cate Blanchett and Judi Dench, received four Oscar nominations. She lives in New York.

Notes on a Scandal

Notes on a Scandal

Author: Zoe Heller Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/01/2007

Film tie-in edition of Zoe Heller's darkly compelling Booker shortlisted novel. The film of Notes on a Scandal received four Oscar nominations and stars Cate Blanchett and Judi Dench. From the first day that the beguiling Sheba Hart joins the staff of St George's history teacher Barbara Covett is convinced she has found a kindred spirit. Barbara's loyalty to her new friend is passionate and unstinting and when Sheba is discovered having an illicit affair with one of her pupils, Barbara quickly elects herself as Sheba's chief defender. But all is not as it first seems in this dark story and, as Sheba will soon discover, a friend can be just as treacherous as any lover. 'Brilliant, nasty, gripping' Zadie Smith 'Compelling, dark, sexy' Observer 'Superbly gripping. One of the most compelling books I've read in ages' Daily Telegraph 'Deliciously sinister' Daily Mail Zoe Heller is the author of three novels, Everything You Know, Notes on a Scandal, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2003 and The Believers. The 2006 film adaptation of Notes on a Scandal, starring Cate Blanchett and Judi Dench, received four Oscar nominations. She lives in New York.

What Was She Thinking?

What Was She Thinking?

Author: Zoe Heller Format: eBook Release Date: 01/01/2006

Schoolteacher Barbara Covett has led a bitter, lonely life as a self-made careerist. Sheba Hart is the ethereal, inexperienced new pottery teacher at St. George's school. When Barbara hears of Sheba's problems in the classroom, her sympathy soon leads to friendship and confidence. But Barbara is unprepared for the secret she will learn: that Sheba has begun a passionate affair with an underage male student. Barbara's confusion, disapproval, and jealousy are helpless to prevent the coming disaster. When the story comes to light and Sheba falls prey to the inevitable media circus, Barbara decides to write an account in her friend's defense, an account that reveals not only Sheba's secrets but her own. What results is a complex psychological portrait framed as a wicked satire, a story of passion and repression, mercy and betrayal.

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more