Hannah Tinti - Author

About the Author

Hannah Tinti grew up in Salem, Massachusetts. Her work has appeared in publications including Story, Epoch, Alaska Quaterly Review and Best American Mystery Stories 2003. She earned her M.A. from New York University's Graduate Creative Writing Program and has been awarded residency fellowships from, among others, the New York State Writers Institute. She is currently the editor of One Story magazine.

Featured books by Hannah Tinti

Other books by Hannah Tinti

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/02/2018

Bursting with imagination, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as 'One part Quentin Tarantino, one part Scheherazade' (Ann Patchett) and will appeal to fans of the Coen Brothers' True Grit or Emma Cline's The Girls. Hero. Villain. Father... After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley and his daughter Loo finally settle in Olympus, Massachusetts. Hawley takes up fishing, while Loo struggles with friendship and first love, and tries to piece together the puzzle surrounding her mother's death. Haunting them both are the twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that is about to spill over into Loo's present, with explosive consequences.

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/04/2017

A roller-coaster father-daughter road trip for fans of PULP FICTION or THE GIRLS: 'Pacy and violent, poignant and sensitive' Daily Mail, Best Reads for the Beach 2017 After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter Loo to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife's hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mother's mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that eventually spills over into his daughter's present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. Both a coming of age novel and a literary thriller, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY explores what it means to be a hero, and the price we pay to protect the people we love most.

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/03/2017

Bursting with imaginative exuberance, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as 'One part Quentin Tarantino, and one part Scheherazade' (Ann Patchett) and will appeal to fans of The Sisters Brothers or The Watchmaker of Filigree Street. After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter Loo to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife's hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mother's mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that eventually spills over into his daughter's present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. Both a coming of age novel and a literary thriller, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY explores what it means to be a hero, and the price we pay to protect the people we love.

The Good Thief

The Good Thief

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/03/2009

Set in the wild, seamy and extremely strange America of the nineteenth century: a historical novel so brilliantly-written, so richly involving and so touching that you never want it to end. Young Ren is missing his parents and a hand and doesn't know what happened to any of them. So he is beginning to fear that he will never be claimed from his cold New England orphanage: that his dream of a family - of a life - will come to nothing. But one day a glamorous stranger arrives at the orphanage. To Ren's astonishment, the handsome, charming Benjamin Nab says he is his brother, come to bring him home. And even when his stories grow more and more extraordinary, when he puts Ren's life in danger again and again and sets him first to theft and then to grave-robbing, Ren cannot quite abandon hope. That one day all the hunger and danger and unwanted excitement will be worth it, that he will find a family, at last. But whether Benjamin is to be trusted is another story

Animal Crackers

Animal Crackers

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/03/2005

A zoo worker, cautiously washing down Marysue the elephant, considers the strange, grim fragments he's heard of his co-workers' lives. Giraffes demand better living conditions and stage a mock group suicide. A girl escapes her repressive finishing school to find freedom with the monkeys in the African jungle. Snake or dog, buffalo, cat or turkey, each animal in Hannah Tinti's brilliant, darkly comic collection holds up a disturbing mirror to the human beings around it.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.hannahtinti.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Hannah Tinti on Facebook