Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Hannah Tinti - Author

About the Author

Hannah Tinti grew up in Salem, Massachusetts. Her work has appeared in publications including Story, Epoch, Alaska Quaterly Review and Best American Mystery Stories 2003. She earned her M.A. from New York University's Graduate Creative Writing Program and has been awarded residency fellowships from, among others, the New York State Writers Institute. She is currently the editor of One Story magazine.

Featured books by Hannah Tinti

Other books by Hannah Tinti

Animal Crackers

Animal Crackers

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/10/2018

A zoo worker, cautiously washing down Marysue the elephant, considers the strange, grim fragments he's heard of his co-workers' lives. Giraffes demand better living conditions and stage a mock group suicide. A girl escapes her repressive finishing school to find freedom with the monkeys in the African jungle. Snake or dog, buffalo, cat or turkey, each animal in Hannah Tinti's brilliant, darkly comic collection holds up a disturbing mirror to the human beings around it.

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/02/2018

Bursting with imagination, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as 'One part Quentin Tarantino, one part Scheherazade' (Ann Patchett) and will appeal to fans of the Coen Brothers' True Grit or Emma Cline's The Girls. Hero. Villain. Father... After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley and his daughter Loo finally settle in Olympus, Massachusetts. Hawley takes up fishing, while Loo struggles with friendship and first love, and tries to piece together the puzzle surrounding her mother's death. Haunting them both are the twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that is about to spill over into Loo's present, with explosive consequences.

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/04/2017

A roller-coaster father-daughter road trip for fans of PULP FICTION or THE GIRLS: 'Pacy and violent, poignant and sensitive' Daily Mail, Best Reads for the Beach 2017 After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter Loo to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife's hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mother's mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that eventually spills over into his daughter's present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. Both a coming of age novel and a literary thriller, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY explores what it means to be a hero, and the price we pay to protect the people we love most.

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/03/2017

Bursting with imaginative exuberance, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as 'One part Quentin Tarantino, and one part Scheherazade' (Ann Patchett) and will appeal to fans of The Sisters Brothers or The Watchmaker of Filigree Street. After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter Loo to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife's hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mother's mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that eventually spills over into his daughter's present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. Both a coming of age novel and a literary thriller, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY explores what it means to be a hero, and the price we pay to protect the people we love.

Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: eBook Release Date: 28/03/2017

A father protects his daughter from the legacy of his pastand the truth about her mothers deathin this thrilling new novel from the prize-winning author of The Good Thief.After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter, Loo, to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wifes hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mothers mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal pasta past that eventually spills over into his daughters present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. This father-daughter epic weaves back and forth through time and across America, from Alaska to the Adirondacks. Both a coming-of-age novel and a literary thriller, The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley explores what it means to be a hero, and the cost we pay to protect the people we love most.Praise for Hannah TintiShe is an adventuress who lays bare her characters hearts with a precision and a fearlessness that will leave you shaken.Junot DazThe key to Tintis success . . . is the constant tension between tenderness and peril.The Washington Post

Good Thief

Good Thief

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: eBook Release Date: 26/08/2009

Richly imagined, gothically spooky, and replete with the ingenious storytelling ability of a born novelist, The Good Thief introduces one of the most appealing young heroes in contemporary fiction and ratifies Hannah Tinti as one of our most exciting new talents. Twelve-year-old Ren is missing his left hand. How it was lost is a mystery that Ren has been trying to solve for his entire life, as well as who his parents are, and why he was abandoned as an infant at Saint Anthonys Orphanage for boys. He longs for a family to call his own and is terrified of the day he will be sent alone into the world. But then a young man named Benjamin Nab appears, claiming to be Rens long-lost brother, and his convincing tale of how Ren lost his hand and his parents persuades the monks at the orphanage to release the boy and to give Ren some hope. But is Benjamin really who he says he is? Journeying through a New England of whaling towns and meadowed farmlands, Ren is introduced to a vibrant world of hardscrabble adventure filled with outrageous scam artists, grave robbers, and petty thieves. If he stays, Ren becomes one of them. If he goes, hes lost once again. As Ren begins to find clues to his hidden parentage he comes to suspect that Benjamin not only holds the key to his future, but to his past as well.

Animal Crackers

Animal Crackers

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: eBook Release Date: 01/06/2009

With bravura storytelling, daring imagination, and fierce narrative control, this dazzling debut introduces that rare writer who finds humanity in our most unconventional behavior, and the humor beneath our darkest impulses. In these strange, funny, and unnerving stories, animals become the litmus test of our deepest fears and longings. In the title story, an elephant keeper courts danger from his gentle charge; in Miss Waldrons Red Colobus, a headstrong young woman in Africa is lured by the freedom of the monkeys in the trees; in Talk Turkey, a boy has secret conversations with the turkeys on his friends familys farm; in Slims Last Ride, a child plays chilling games with his pet rabbit; in Gallus Gallus, a pompous husband projects his anger at his wife onto her prized rooster. This fresh, inventive debut will introduce Hannah Tinti as one of the most gifted writers of her generation. Enter her world at your own risk, and you will come away bewitched.

The Good Thief

The Good Thief

Author: Hannah Tinti Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2009

Set in the wild, seamy and extremely strange America of the nineteenth century: a historical novel so brilliantly-written, so richly involving and so touching that you never want it to end. Young Ren is missing his parents and a hand and doesn't know what happened to any of them. So he is beginning to fear that he will never be claimed from his cold New England orphanage: that his dream of a family - of a life - will come to nothing. But one day a glamorous stranger arrives at the orphanage. To Ren's astonishment, the handsome, charming Benjamin Nab says he is his brother, come to bring him home. And even when his stories grow more and more extraordinary, when he puts Ren's life in danger again and again and sets him first to theft and then to grave-robbing, Ren cannot quite abandon hope. That one day all the hunger and danger and unwanted excitement will be worth it, that he will find a family, at last. But whether Benjamin is to be trusted is another story