LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Anne Fine - Author

About the Author

Fly in the Ointment is Anne Fine's seventh novel. Her first was the critically acclaimed The Killjoy, which was runner up for the David Higham Prize for Fiction. Taking the Devil's Advice and Telling Liddy have both been adapted for radio. The Observer referred to her novel In Cold Domain as ‘a glorious tirade against the grind of motherhood’ and the Evening Standard described All Bones and Lies as ‘splendid, clever, cruel and funny ’. Anne Fine’s work has been translated into over thirty languages. She has two grown up daughters and lives in County Durham.

Featured books by Anne Fine

Other books by Anne Fine

Eating Things on Sticks

Eating Things on Sticks

Author: Anne Fine Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/12/2019

Eating Things on Sticks

Eating Things on Sticks

Author: Anne Fine Format: Audio disc Release Date: 01/12/2019

The Tulip Touch

The Tulip Touch

Author: Anne Fine Format: Audio disc Release Date: 01/10/2019

The Tulip Touch

The Tulip Touch

Author: Anne Fine Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/10/2019

Crummy Mummy and Me

Crummy Mummy and Me

Author: Anne Fine Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/09/2019

Crummy Mummy and Me

Crummy Mummy and Me

Author: Anne Fine Format: Audio disc Release Date: 01/09/2019

Goggle-Eyes

Goggle-Eyes

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/06/2019

The classic award winning story from Anne Fine. Kitty Killin is not just a brilliant story-teller, but also the World's Great Expert when it comes to mothers having new and unwelcome boyfriends. So it's no surprise that she's the one chosen to sort out classmate Helly, who's gone into meltdown. Kitty decides to share her story about old Goggle-eyes - possibly one of the worst episodes in her life...

Into the Bin

Into the Bin

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2019

Mr Frost's classroom is always in a mess, and now his class are on a mission to send all the things they don't need off to a charity shop - including the rubbish bin that falls over at the slightest touch! From books to old toys, they bring in all sorts of items to send away in the bin, but little do they know that what one person doesn't want might be just the thing someone else has been looking for. A fun and quirky tale on the wonders of recycling! Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 8+

Reading Planet KS2 - The Brave Little Tailor - Level 2: Mercury/Brown band

Reading Planet KS2 - The Brave Little Tailor - Level 2: Mercury/Brown band

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/02/2019

A man as brave as I am, who can kill seven at one blow, should become a king! declared the brave little tailor as he set off to seek his fortune. Before long, a royal reward lies before him - but only if he can defeat a pair of troublesome giants. Will he rid the kingdom of them armed with only his wits, a lump of cheese and a rescued bird? He may just need to be very lucky... The Brave Little Tailor is part of the Reading Planet range of books for Stars (Lime) to Supernova (Red+) band. Children aged 7-11 will be inspired to love reading through the gripping stories and fascinating information books created by top authors. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and questions to support reading at home and develop comprehension skills. Reading age: 7-8 years

Anneli the Art Hater

Anneli the Art Hater

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/08/2018

A classic children's story from one of our best-loved authors, former Children's Laureate Anne Fine. Anneli hates art. She doesn't like looking at it or thinking about it, and when the paints come out in the art class at school, she just can't stand it. But behind a hidden door in her house, Anneli finds a painting that draws her into an extraordinary story . . . Anne Fine's fun school stories have been delighting children for more than 20 years, winning her awards such as the Smarties Book Award and Carnegie Medal along the way. Perfect for boys and girls aged 6 and up, and for fans of Jeremy Strong and Pamela Butchart's Wigglesbottom Primary series.

The Chicken Gave it to Me

The Chicken Gave it to Me

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/08/2018

A classic children's story from one of our best-loved authors, former Children's Laureate Anne Fine. Gemma doesn't believe a chicken could have written a book - chickens can't even read! But here in front of them is The True Story of Harrowing Farm, and its scratchy pages definitely look, well, chickeny. It is an epic tale of cruelty and bravery, the story of a chicken who flies frillions of miles, reaching the heights of intergalactic superstardom, to try to save us humans . . . Perfect for boys and girls aged 6 and up, and for fans of Jeremy Strong and Pamela Butchart's Wigglesbottom Primary series. Anne Fine's fun school stories have been delighting children for more than 20 years, winning her awards such as the Smarties Book Award and Carnegie Medal along the way.

The Tulip Touch

The Tulip Touch

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/08/2018

Reissued for the Originals series of powerful teen fiction. Nobody wants Tulip in their gang. She skives off school, cheeks the teachers and makes herself unpopular with her classmates by telling awful lies. None of this matters to Natalie who finds Tulip exciting. At first she doesn't care that other people are upset and unnerved by Tulip's bizarre games, but as the games become increasingly sinister and dangerous, Natalie realises that Tulip is going too far. Much too far. Racing, in fact, to the novel's shocking ending.

Back on Weird Street

Back on Weird Street

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/06/2018

Asim, Laila and Tom like nothing more than spooking each other out with tales of the unexpected. This summer they're back with three more stories to chill you to the bone. Can your dreams really grant you fortunes and riches? What lurks in the shadows of Number 17? And is Grandma's house really haunted, or is it all just a fun imaginary game? Get ready to head back to Weir(d) Street. It's time for more tales of terror and woe...Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 8+

Saving Miss Mirabelle

Saving Miss Mirabelle

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/05/2018

A classic children's story from one of our best-loved authors, former Children's Laureate Anne Fine. Lancelot's lovely teacher, Miss Mirabelle, is in big trouble. She's told a giant whopper and unless she can come up with a brilliant plan, she's going to look very, very silly. Can Lancelot help this damsel in distress? Little does he know that Ivan will leave a lasting influence, and that he himself will never enjoy listening to nursery rhymes ever again . . . Anne Fine's fun school stories have been delighting children for more than 20 years, winning her awards such as the Smarties Book Award and Carnegie Medal along the way.

How to Write Really Badly

How to Write Really Badly

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/05/2018

A classic children's story from one of our best-loved authors, former Children's Laureate Anne Fine. Chester Howard can see Joe's project `How to Write Neatly' can only be a disaster. Joe makes a terrible mess of his work, jumbling letters and numbers up together. But a project called `How to Write Really Badly' - now there's something Joe can do better than anyone else. And Chester is about to find there's a lot more to Joe than he expected . . . Anne Fine's fun school stories have been delighting children for more than 20 years, winning her awards such as the Smarties Book Award and Carnegie Medal along the way.

On Planet Fruitcake

On Planet Fruitcake

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/02/2018

A classic children's book from best-loved Bill's New Frock author, former Children's Laureate Anne Fine. Perfect for readers aged between 7 and 9 and fans of David Walliams' The Midnight Gang and Pamela Butchart's Wigglesbottom Primary series. Philip has an incredible imagination, and when he lets it run riot in school one day it really gets his classmates thinking. Purple cows . . . brains in pots . . . a clever and beautiful chicken . . . What will they think of next?! Anne Fine's fun school stories have been delighting children for more than 20 years, winning her awards such as the Smarties Book Award and Carnegie Medal along the way. `Fine has a rare genius for building a funny, enriching and moving story around the nuts and bolts of school life' The Times

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.annefine.co.uk/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more