Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Steve Toltz - Author

About the Author

Steve Toltz was born in Sydney, Australia. A Fraction of the Whole, his first novel, was
released in 2008 to widespread critical acclaim. It was shortlisted for the 2008 Man
Booker Prize and the 2008 Guardian First Book Award. He currently lives in New York.

 

Author photo © Prudence Upton

Featured books by Steve Toltz

Other books by Steve Toltz

Quicksand

Quicksand

Author: Steve Toltz Format: eBook Release Date: 15/09/2015

A daring, brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz, for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace: a fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends.Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop. Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster. As Aldos luck worsens, Liam is inspired to base his next book on his best friends exponential misfortunes and hopeless quest to win back his one great love: his ex-wife, Stella. What begins as an attempt to make sense of Aldos mishaps spirals into a profound story of faith and friendship. With the same originality and buoyancy that catapulted his first novel, A Fraction of the Whole, onto prize lists around the worldincluding shortlists for the Man Booker Prize and the Guardian First Book AwardSteve Toltz has created a rousing, hysterically funny but unapologetically dark satire about fate, faith, friendship, and the artists obligation to his muse. Sharp, witty, kinetic, and utterly engrossing, Quicksand is a subversive portrait of twenty-first-century society in all its hypocrisy and absurdity.

Quicksand

Quicksand

Author: Steve Toltz Format: eBook Release Date: 28/04/2015

Steve Toltz follows his Booker-shortlisted A Fraction of the Whole with a novel that's just as edgy, hilarious and compelling: Quicksand, at once unmistakeably Toltzean and unlike anything that's come before. 'Why should I let you write about me?''Because you'll inspire people. To count their blessings.'Aldo has been so relentlessly unlucky - in business, in love, in life - that the universe seems to have taken against him personally. Even Liam, his best friend, describes him as 'a well-known parasite and failure'. Aldo has always faced the future with optimism and despair in equal measure, but this last twist of fate may finally have brought him undone.There's hope, but not for Aldo.Liam hasn't been doing much better himself: a failed writer with a rocky marriage and a dangerous job he never wanted. But something good may come out of Aldo's lowest point. Liam may finally have found his inspiration. Together, maybe they can turn bad luck into an artform.What begins as a document of Aldo's disasters develops into a profound story of love lost, found and betrayed; of freedom and incarceration; of suffering and transcendence; of fate, faith and friendship; of taking risks - in art, work, love and life - and finding inspiration in all the wrong places.Quicksand is a fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy that looks contemporary life unblinkingly in the eye. It confirms Steve Toltz as one of our most original and insightful novelists.

A Fraction Of The Whole

A Fraction Of The Whole

Author: Steve Toltz Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2009

Steve Toltz's A Fraction of the Whole is a riotously funny explosion of a novel SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2008 From his prison cell, Jasper Dean tells the unlikely story of his scheming father Martin, his crazy Uncle Terry and how the three of them upset - mostly unintentionally - an entire continent. Incorporating death, parenting (good and bad kinds), one labyrinth, first love, a handbook for criminals, a scheme to make everyone rich and an explosive suggestion box, Steve Toltz's A Fraction of the Whole is a hilarious, heartbreaking story of families and how to survive them. 'A fat book but very light on its feet, skipping from anecdote, to rant, to reflection, like a stone skimming across a pond . . . it is brilliant' Guardian 'Sparkling comic writing . . .It gives off the unmistakeable whiff of a book that might just contain the secret of life' Independent 'With tinges of magical realism and buckets of misanthropic humour it's a clever and funny debut' Observer 'If first novels were sandwiches, Steve Toltz's would be a juicy, swaggering doorstop of a sarnie, overflowing with eccentrically combined but delicious ingredients . . . Toltz is a superb phrase-maker with an acute eye for humanity's shortfalls'Big Issue Steve Toltz was born in Sydney. After graduating from Newcastle University in 1994, he has lived in Sydney, Montreal, Vancouver, Barcelona and Paris, working primarily as a screenwriter and freelance writer, but also doing stints as both a private investigator and an English teacher. A Fraction of the Whole is his first book.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.stevetoltz.com/stevetoltz/Home.html

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×