Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Jefferson Bass - Author

About the Author

Jefferson Bass is the writing team of Dr Bill Bass and Jon Jefferson. Dr Bass, a world-renowned forensic anthropologist, founded the Body Farm 25 years ago. Jefferson is a journalist, writer and documentary film maker. His writings have appeared in the New York Times, Newsweek and USA Today.

 

Author photo © Erik Bledsoe

Featured books by Jefferson Bass

Other books by Jefferson Bass

The Bone Thief

The Bone Thief

Author: Jefferson Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/09/2018

Contains free paperback of Bones of Betrayal! Bill Brockton is exhuming a body to obtain a bone sample for a paternity test. A simple enough job until he discovers that the body's limbs have all been removed. Digging deeper, he soon finds himself embroiled in the massive and very illegal market for human body parts. He becomes drawn into the enterprise, selling donated corpses to the postmortem chop shop - in league with the FBI, hoping to bring the organization down. All the while, his friend and Medical Examiner, Eddie Garcia, is struggling with the aftermath of their last case. A massive dose of radiation has left him missing one hand and most of the fingers from the other. He's on the waiting list for a transplant, but with so many parts around, Brockton is sorely tempted to jeopardize the investigation - and his own principles - to help his friend. Will he be able to live with himself if he does? Will he be able to live with himself if he doesn't?

Without Mercy A Body Farm Novel

Without Mercy A Body Farm Novel

Author: Jefferson Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/05/2017

In the most suspenseful installment of the New York Times nestselling Body Farm series to date, forensic anthropologist Dr. Bill Brockton investigates a bizarre murder-and confronts a deadly enemy he thought he'd put behind bars for good. Forensic anthropologist Bill Brockton has spent twenty-five years solving brutal murders-but none so bizarre and merciless as his latest case: A ravaged set of skeletal remains is found chained to a tree on a remote mountainside. As Brockton and his assistant Miranda dig deeper, they uncover warning signs of a deadly eruption of hatred and violence. But the shocking case is only the beginning of Brockton's trials. Mid-case, the unthinkable happens: The deadliest criminal Brockton has ever foiled-the sadistic serial killer Nick Satterfield-escapes from prison, bent on vengeance. But simply killing Brockton isn't enough. Satterfield wants to make him suffer first, by destroying everything he holds dear: Brockton's son, daughter-in-law, grandsons; even Miranda, his longtime graduate assistant, now on the verge of completing her Ph.D. and launching a forensic career of her own. The dangers from all directions force Brockton to question two things on which he's based his entire career-the justice system, and the quality of mercy-and to wonder: can the two co-exist? If not, which will Brockton choose in his ultimate moment of truth?

Madonna and Corpse

Madonna and Corpse

Author: Jefferson Bass Format: eBook Release Date: 10/05/2012

'If you like Kathy Reichs, you'll like Jefferson Bass' The Times.Dr Bill Brockton is leaving the Body Farm and heading to Europe for the most fascinating case of his career, The Bones of Avignon. But first, in this exclusive short story prequel, trouble awaits. Inspector Ren Descartes of the French National Police is awoken in the middle of the night to investigate a break-in at the Petit Palais in Avignon - the medieval town's museum. What Descartes discovers plunges him into a labyrinth of art-lined walls, leading to a master forger's lair. And inside, a charred corpse.And as he closes this case, he will be called to an altogether more intriguing death scene - and one of the greatest mysteries of human history.

Inquisitor's Key

Inquisitor's Key

Author: Jefferson Bass Format: eBook Release Date: 08/05/2012

The real deal.Kathy ReichsThe Sherlock Holmes for bones.Katherine Ramsland, author of The Forensic Science of C.S.I.The most riveting and ambitious novel to date in Jefferson Bass New York Times bestselling Body Farm mystery series, The Inquisitors Key takes forensic investigator Dr. Bill Brockton to Avignon, France, and embroils him in a deadly religious mystery that could shake the Vatican itself to its very foundations. Another sterling crime novel in the vein of Patricia Cornwell, Kathy Reichs, and Karin Slaughter, as well as TVs C.S.I., The Inquisitors Key adds a touch of James Rollins and The Da Vinci Code to the typically acclaimed Jefferson Bass mix of suspense, surprise, and finely detailed forensic investigation.

Madonna and Corpse

Madonna and Corpse

Author: Jefferson Bass Format: eBook Release Date: 24/04/2012

Renowned bone detective Bill Brockton and his intrepid assistant, Miranda, are about to get immersed in murder and intrigue in Avignon, France, home of the popes for most of the fourteenth century. But first, in this artful prequel to The Inquisitor's Key, other mischief is afoot in the ancient walled city. Inspector Ren Descartes of the French National Police is roused from a deep sleep to investigate a break-in at the Petit Palais, Avignon's museum of medieval masterpieces. Descartes's discovery plunges him into an elaborate, art-lined labyrinth: a labyrinth that leads him to a master forger's studio . . . and to a charred corpse. Just as he's finally closing the case, Descartes gets called to an even more bizarre death scene, where his pathand his fatewill collide with those of Brockton and Miranda.

Bone Yard

Bone Yard

Author: Jefferson Bass Format: eBook Release Date: 08/03/2011

[Bass is] the real deal.Kathy ReichsThe sixth electrifying forensic mystery by author Jefferson Bass (a fresh voice in the crime novel arena Seattle Post-Intelligencer), The Bone Yard is the most gripping installment yet in the New York Times bestselling Body Farm series. Called away from Tennessees renowned Body Farm (the real life human decomposition laboratory around which these remarkable thrillers are based), Dr. Bill Brockton discovers the dark side of the Sunshine state when hes called in to investigate human remains found on the grounds of a Florida boys reform school. Rich in authentic forensic detail and featuring a protagonist as involving as crime fictions most popular medical examinersincluding Patricia Cornwells Kay Scarpetta, Karin Slaughters Sara Linton, and Kathy Reichss star forensic anthropologist Temperance BrennanThe Bone Yard is unassailable evidence that this series just keeps getting better (Booklist).

Bone Thief

Bone Thief

Author: Jefferson Bass Format: eBook Release Date: 23/03/2010

The Body Farm novels have become bestsellers because of their attention to the fine details of forensics combined with great plot lines.Deseret News (Salt Lake City)The latest Body Farm novel from New York Times bestseller Jefferson Bass, The Bone Thief is a must for fans of Patricia Cornwell and TVs C.S.I. The hero of four previous thrillersCarved in Bone, The Devils Bones, Flesh and Bone, and Bones of BetrayalDr. Bill Brockton must stop a grisly black market dealing in body parts and cadavers in this white-knuckle adventure written by the man widely considered to be the worlds foremost expert in forensic anthropology. Read The Bone Thief and discover why Kathy Reichs calls Bass, The real deal.

Bones of Betrayal

Bones of Betrayal

Author: Jefferson Bass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/03/2010

Things have taken a dangerous turn at the Body Farm. Dr Bill Brockton and his graduate assistant, Miranda, have been called to a death scene. A body has been found in a frozen swimming pool. The dead man is found to have been a renowned engineer, responsible for the Manhattan Project, which produced the atomic bombs of 1945. And he's been poisoned by a radiation source. Now Brockton, Miranda and the ME who carried out the autopsy are in grave danger ...Suffering radiation sickness and worrying for his friends, Brockton delves into the town's gruesome past to discover the dark secrets and lies that have lead to this engineer's murder and to find out who else the killer has in their sights.

Devil's Bones

Devil's Bones

Author: Jefferson Bass Format: eBook Release Date: 05/02/2008

In two previous New York Times bestselling novels, Jefferson Bass enthralled readers with ripped-from-the-headlines forensic cases, memorable characters, and plots that "e;rival Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell"e; (Seattle Post-Intelligencer). Drawing on research at the Body Farmthree acres of land in the backwoods of Tennessee, where bodies are left to the elements to illuminate human decompositionBass has moved fiction to a fascinating new realm, with forensics expertise drawn from his five decades of work as the world's leading forensic anthropologist. But this latest novel cements Jefferson Bass as one of the finest writers of suspense working today, and in a work of drama, cunning, and heartbreak, thrills the reader with fiction that feels all too real. A woman's charred body has been found inside a burned car perched atop a hill in Knoxville. Is it accidental death, or murder followed by arson? Forensic anthropologist Bill Brockton's quest for answers prompts an experiment straight from Dante's Inferno: In the dark of night, he puts bodies to the torch, researching how fire consumes flesh and bone. In the meantime, Brockton is sent a mysterious packagea set of cremated remains that looks entirely unreal. With the help of a local crematorium, he investigates and discovers a truth too horrifying to believe: A facility in another state has not been disposing of bodies properly, instead scattering them all around the grounds.Little does Brockton know that his research is about to collide with realitywith the force of a lit match meeting spilled gasoline. En route to trial, his nemesis, medical examiner Garland Hamilton, has escaped from custody. What follows is a deadly game of cat and mouse, played for the ultimate stakes: Brockton's own life. With help from his loyal graduate assistant, Miranda, and ace criminalist Art Bohanan, Brockton eventually tracks Hamilton, but when the police arrive, they find only a smoldering ruin. Sifting through the ashes, Brockton finds the incinerated remains of Hamilton . . . or does he? The answeralong with Brockton's ultimate testcomes in a searing moment of truth.

Flesh and Bone

Flesh and Bone

Author: Jefferson Bass Format: eBook Release Date: 23/01/2007

Dr. Bill Brockton, the founder of the world-famous Body Farm, is hard at work on a troubling new case. A young man's battered body has been found in nearby Chattanooga, and it's up to the talented Dr. Brockton to assemble the pieces of the forensic puzzle. Brockton is brought into the case by the rising star of the state's medical examiners, Jess Carter. Just as they're on the verge of breaking the case open, events take a terrifying turn. Brockton has re-created the gruesome Chattanooga death scene at the Body Farm, but a killer places another corpse at the site, putting Brockton's career and even his life in jeopardy. Soon Brockton is accused of the horrific new crime, and the once-beloved professor becomes an outcast. Brockton must use all of his forensic skills to prove his own innocence...before he ends up behind bars with some of the very killers he's helped to convict.Flesh and Bone is another roller-coaster ride into the world of forensic anthropology, raising powerful questions about the nature of justice, loyalty, honor, and evil. This astonishing novel confirms Jefferson Bass as one of our most talented authors of suspense.Performed by Erik Singer