LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Linzi Glass - Author

About the Author

Featured books by Linzi Glass

Other books by Linzi Glass

Year the Gypsies Came

Year the Gypsies Came

Author: Linzi Glass Format: eBook Release Date: 16/06/2015

Set in apartheid South Africa, this powerful and lyrically written novel is Linzi Glass's debut.As twelve-year-old Emily Iris explains it, her mother and father have always been eager to take in travelers and vagabonds, relying on the presence of outsiders to ease the tension between them. Emily has her gentle older sister, Sarah, and Buza, the old Zulu nightwatchman, for company and comfort. But her parents' continuing discontent leads them to welcome some peculiar strangers. One spring, a family of wanderers-a wildlife photographer, his wife, and two boys-comes to stay, and their strange, compelling, and dangerous presence will leave the Iris family infinitely changed.

Ruby Red

Ruby Red

Author: Linzi Glass Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/07/2007

In Ruby Winters' world, colour opens some doors and slams others shut. Her opulent Johannesburg neighbourhood is a far cry from the streets of Soweto where anger and hatred simmer under the surface. Ruby can't resist the blue-eyed Afrikaans boy who brings her the exciting rush of first love, but whose presence brings hushed whispers and disapproving glances. She might not see race, colour or creed - but it seems everybody else does. For Ruby, making some choices means letting others go, and as the darkness begins to descend, she must find a way to follow a brighter path...This dazzling novel will entrance teenage and adult readers alike.

The Year the Gypsies Came

The Year the Gypsies Came

Author: Linzi Glass Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/04/2007

Emily Iris looks forward to the times her parents welcome house guests to their family's unhappy home. As long as the visitors are there, her mother and father will put their quarrels aside. But one spring a family of wanderers - an Australian couple and their two boys - comes to stay, starting a chain of events that will shatter Emily's world forever. This book will appeal to readers of Jennifer Donnelly's A Gathering Light and Barbara Kingsolver's The Poisonwood Bible . Presented on hardback publication, this fabulous first novel attracted stunning acclaim.

The Year the Gypsies Came

The Year the Gypsies Came

Author: Linzi Glass Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/03/2006

'In the spring of 1966, there was no one living with us, and the tension between my parents was left to grow like untended weeds. It was then that the gypsies came.' Emily Iris looks forward to the times her parents welcome house guests to their family's unhappy home on the edge of Johannesburg. For a while, for as long as the visitors are there, her mother and father will put their quarrels aside and be like a real family. One spring, a family of wanderers - an Australian couple and their two boys - comes to stay. But the arrival of these 'gypsies' starts a chain of events that will shatter Emily's hopes of a happy family life and change them all forever.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.linziglass.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more