LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Helena Pielichaty - Author

About the Author

Helena Pielichaty (Pierre-li-hatty) lives in Nottinghamshire. She has published over thirty books for children. Her book Simone's Letters was nominated for the Carnegie medal.

Featured books by Helena Pielichaty

Other books by Helena Pielichaty

Girls FC 3: Are All Brothers Foul?

Girls FC 3: Are All Brothers Foul?

Author: Helena Pielichaty, Sonia Leong Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/08/2009

Girls FC: the best team for football and friendship The under eleven girls' league is well underway and Lucy Skidmore is her team's best defender. Bright, sporty and happy-go-lucky, her parents' divorce doesn't seem to have affected her at all. The same is not true of her older brother, Harry. He is so badly behaved! Lucy overcompensates by trying to please both parents all the time. But with a dad living miles away, a mum stressed out and a sulky brother to contend with, Lucy is feeling the pressure.

Girls FC 1: Do Goalkeepers Wear Tiaras?

Girls FC 1: Do Goalkeepers Wear Tiaras?

Author: Helena Pielichaty, Sonia Leong Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/08/2009

Girls FC: the best team for football and friendship Nine-year-old Megan Fawcett loves football and is desperate to be on her school team. She tries everything to get the coach to notice her, even wearing a tiara! But nothing works... Then she has a brainwave - she'll set up her own team. An all-girls team! Now all she needs is a pitch, a coach ... and ten other players.

Clubbing Again

Clubbing Again

Author: Helena Pielichaty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2006

A bumper bind-up of two fantastic stories about the friends from the After School Club. In 'Sammie's Back', all Sammie wants is for her mum and dad to get back together - so she makes a wish and tries to make it come true. But the reality is not nearly as good as the dream, and when things go horribly wrong Sammie feels like a failure. Especially as all her friends seem to have such perfect families - why can't hers be like that? Brody's also having problems in 'Brody's Back' - she's finding life a bit hard. Everyone always relies upon her - but there's nobody there for her when she need some help. Even her best buddy's let her down. She decides that enough's enough - Mrs Fryston can find someone else to captain the Book Quiz, and all the others can just get off her case.

Clubbing Together

Clubbing Together

Author: Helena Pielichaty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/05/2005

Sammie, Brody, Alex, and Jolene are the fabulous, feisty girls from the After School Club and each has their own story to tell. They all have very different lives and all have families who can be a complete pain, but through all their ups and downs they have one common bond . . . even when they're not the best of friends.

Simone's Diary

Simone's Diary

Author: Helena Pielichaty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/04/2003

Simone has just started secondary school and has agreed to help a student teacher with his research by filling in questionnaires, and keeping a diary about all her experiences. In true Simone style she sometimes finds herself writing not only about school, but also about her interesting, and very funny, life outside school too. This book is ideal for fans of Jacqueline Wilson. 'I warmed to Simone and her realistic approach to life - she's Adrian Mole without the angst.' - School Librarian.

Simone's Website

Simone's Website

Author: Helena Pielichaty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/04/2003

Simone's school project is to design and build a website, and she's been assigned to work with horrid Anthony Bent. But Anthony is in hospital recovering from a burst appendix so Simone has to communicate with him via e-mail. As well as their discussions about the website, we also hear all about Simone's mum's pregnancy, and Simone's fears that the new baby will take her place in her mother's affections.

Simone's Letters

Simone's Letters

Author: Helena Pielichaty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/04/2003

The first of three books about the unstoppable and much-loved character, Simone, charts her final year at primary school. Her funny and often touching letters tell the reader all about the ups and downs of her life - her friendships, her family, and her hilarious exploits. 'A sharp, funny story with an insight into a child's psyche and the primary school pecking order. I predict a film.' - The Times . 'Wickedly perceptive about school life written with vivacious wit.' - Times Educational Supplement .

Jade's Story

Jade's Story

Author: Helena Pielichaty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/03/2002

Jade doesn't know how to cope when her father starts behaving oddly. He sits in a chair all day, staring into space, not even bothering to get dressed - until Jade is too embarrassed to bring her friends home. And then, to cap it all, he wrecks his own shop, makes a scene in the middle of the road, and has to be escorted off to hospital by the police. Jade doesn't know how to cope with her father's strange behaviour - and it's only as she comes to understand him better that she come to terms with what's happening to him. This is an insightful study of what it's like to have a parent break down, handled with sensitivity and humour.

Vicious Circle

Vicious Circle

Author: Helena Pielichaty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/11/2000

Louisa May wants to be normal, like everyone else, but doesn't know how to go about it. Her mother, Georgette, lives in a fantasy world, fuelled by the endless romances she reads. They both live in the world of the homeless, drifting from one lodging to another. Told with sympathy and a strong sense of humour, this is a novel of the strong bonds that exist between mother and daughter, how one supports the other, and of their struggles to find a way out of the vicious circle of poverty. It is now being reissued in a smaller, mass-market paperback format.

Simone's Letters

Simone's Letters

Author: Helena Pielichaty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/11/1999

When ten-year-old Simone starts writing letters to Jem Cakebread, the leading man of a touring theatre company, she begins a friendship that will change her life. This collection of funny letters charts Simone's final year at primary school.