Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Matt Rees - Author

About the Author

Matt Rees was born and raised in South Wales. He has covered the Middle East as a journalist for a decade, including six years as Time magazine's Jerusalem bureau chief. He is author of the non-fiction work Cain's Field: Faith, Fratricide, and Fear in the Middle East. The Bethlehem Murders is his first novel. His second Omar Yussef novel, The Saladin Murders, is published by Atlantic books in 2008.

Featured books by Matt Rees

Other books by Matt Rees

Damascus Threat

Damascus Threat

Author: Matt Rees Format: eBook Release Date: 09/08/2016

A former Middle East foreign correspondent, Matt Rees is an expert on the war on terror. With his new ICE Thriller series, he opens the door to a part of United States Homeland Security that has rarely been explored before.ICE Special Agent Dominic Verrazzanos vigilance pays off when he uncovers a plot to launch a chemical attack in New York, but he doesnt know what the target is or how deep the conspiracy goes.The only woman who could have answered his questions is murdered just before she reaches him. In her last moments, she manages to send him a single clue. It will have to be enough. Her tip leads him to Syria, where he must negotiate the treacherous alleys of the casbah in the midst of civil war to track the weapon before it's too late--unless its already too late.Sharp as a scimitar and relentlessly suspenseful, Matt Rees's The Damascus Threat is perfect for fans of Showtime's Homeland and readers of Alex Berenson's John Wells novels.

Mozart utolso ariaja

Mozart utolso ariaja

Author: Matt Rees Format: eBook Release Date: 15/07/2014

1791 oktobereben Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart azt mondta a felesegenek, hogy megmergeztek. Masfel honap mulva mar nem volt az elok soraban. Novere, a szinten zongoravirtuozkent indult Nannerl sogornojetol ertesul a fajdalmas hirrol, es nyomban Becsbe indul, de nem csak a temetesre. Eltokeli, hogy kideriti az igazsagot, es megtudja, valoban gyilkossag aldozata lett-e Mozart, es vajon kinek allt utjaban. Bcs veszlyes vrosnak bizonyul: Nannerl stt titkokkal, sszeeskvsekkel, a csszri udvarban zajl intrikkkal szembesl, a szabadkA mA vesek rejtlyes sszejvetelein tallja magt, mikzben letben elA szr tli az igaz szerelmet. s mindennek kzpontjban Mozart utols operja, A varzsfuvola ll. Az olvas a korabeli Bcs arisztokrata szalonjainak s hangversenytermeinek nyzsgA vilgt lthatja mintegy fggny mgl, mikzben fel-felcsendl Mozart halhatatlan zenje, s fny derl a szrnyA titokra.

Award-winning Omar Yussef Mysteries

Award-winning Omar Yussef Mysteries

Author: Matt Rees Format: eBook Release Date: 04/07/2013

Three acclaimed novels in the Omar Yussef series in one volume, from an award-winning author.The Bethlehem MurdersFor decades, Omar Yussef has taught history to the children of Bethlehem. When a favourite former pupil, George Saba, is arrested for collaborating with the Israelis in the killing of a Palestinian guerrilla, Yussef is convinced that he has been framed and sets out to prove his innocence. The Saladin MurdersWhen Omar Yussef learns that a fellow teacher has been accused of links to the CIA, and jailed, his suspicions are immediately aroused. The more Yussef investigates the arrest, the more people seem to be implicated, and the murkier his search for the truth becomes. The Samaritan's SecretWhen Omar Yussef travels to Nablus, the West Bank's most violent town, to attend a wedding, he little expects the trouble that awaits him. An ancient Torah scroll belonging to the Samaritans, descendants of the biblical Joseph, has been stolen. But when the dead body of a young Samaritan is discovered, a seemingly straightforward theft inquiry takes an unexpected turn.

A Name in Blood

A Name in Blood

Author: Matt Rees Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/07/2013

Italy, 1605: For the ruling Borgia family, Rome is a place of grand palazzos and frescoed cathedrals. For the lowly artist Caravaggio, it is a place of rough bars, knife fights, and grubby whores. Until he is commissioned to paint the Pope... Soon, Caravaggio has gained entry into the Borgia family's inner circle, and becomes the most celebrated artist in Rome. But when he falls for Lena, a low-born fruit-seller, and paints her into his Madonna series as a simple peasant woman, Italian society is outraged. Discredited as an artist, but unwilling to retract his vision of the woman he loves, Caravaggio is forced into a duel - and murders a nobleman. Even his powerful patrons cannot protect him from a death sentence. So Caravaggio flees to Malta, where, before he can be pardoned, he must undergo the rigorous training of the Knights of Malta. His paintings continue to speak of his love for Lena. But before he can return to her, as a Knight and a noble, Caravaggio, the most famous artist in Italy - simply disappears...

Mozart's Last Aria

Mozart's Last Aria

Author: Matt Rees Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2012

It is 1791 and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is enlightenment Vienna's brightest star. Master of the city's music halls and devoted member of the Austrian Freemason's guild, he stands at the heart of an electric mix of art and music, philosophy and science, politics and intrigue. Six weeks ago, the great composer told his wife he had been poisoned. Yesterday, he died. The city is buzzing with rumours of infidelity, bankruptcy and murder. But Wolfgang's sister Nannerl, returned from the provinces to investigate, will not believe base gossip. Who but a madman would poison such a genius? Yet as she looks closely at what her brother left behind - a handwritten score, a scrap of paper from his journal - Nannerl finds traces of something sinister: the threads of a masonic conspiracy that reach from the gilded ballrooms of Viennese society to the faceless offices of the Prussian secret service. Only when watching Wolfgang's bewitching opera, The Magic Flute, does Nannerl truly understand her beloved brother once again. For, encoded in his final arias, is a subtly crafted blueprint for a radical new tomorrow. Mozart hoped to change his future. Instead he sealed his fate.

The Samaritan's Secret

The Samaritan's Secret

Author: Matt Rees Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/07/2009

When Omar Yussef travels to Nablus, the West Bank's most violent town, to attend a wedding, he little expects the trouble that awaits him. An ancient Torah scroll belonging to the Samaritans, descendants of the biblical Joseph, has been stolen. But when the dead body of a young Samaritan is discovered, a seemingly straightforward theft inquiry takes an unexpected turn. As Omar sets out to find the perpetrators of this murder, he is driven down into the murky alleys and tunnels of the old casbah in Nablus. Here, as he uncovers the secret deals of one of the region's richest businessmen, and the shadowy world of the tiny Samaritan community, he begins to wonder whether he will be able to attend the wedding after all...

The Saladin Murders

The Saladin Murders

Author: Matt Rees Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2008

'Outstanding... Dark, gripping and often moving.' Economist It is a blistering morning in Gaza, as Omar Yussef struggles along the uneven streets to carry out a school inspection. But when he learns that a fellow teacher has been accused of links to the CIA, and jailed, his suspicions are immediately aroused. And the more Yussef investigates the arrest, the more people seem to be implicated, and the murkier his search for the truth becomes. With the police force, the military and Gaza's most powerful gang all out to silence him, Yussef must face the terrifying realisation that he is no longer fighting to save his colleague - but himself.

The Saladin Murders

The Saladin Murders

Author: Matt Rees Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2008

It's a hot, dusty day when Omar Yussef arrives in Gaza. He discovers that there's been an arrest: a fellow teacher has been brutally thrown in jail without trial. Omar Yussef instinctively smells a rat, and determines to help the unknown man. The person responsible for the arrest is Colonel Fara, the most powerful - and dangerous - man in the area. His friends urge him not to get involved, but Omar Yussef confronts the colonel, and unwittingly becomes embroiled in a deadly private war. When his colleague is kidnapped and another is murdered, his struggle for justice intensifies, and he begins to understand why people tell him that, in Gaza, all crimes are connected. As the dust storm swirls around him, Omar Yussef is faced with the terrible realisation that he is fighting to save not just his colleague, but himself.