Louise Douglas - Author

About the Author

Louise Douglas is a journalist and lives near Bristol with her three children. Her first novel, The Love of My Life, was followed in February 2010 by Missing You.

Featured books by Louise Douglas

Your Beautiful Lies

Your Beautiful Lies

Author: Louise Douglas Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/08/2014

Annie Howarth is living a restless life in a restless town. The mining strikes mean tensions are already running high, but when a murdered girl is found on the moors the community's anxiety levels are pushed to breaking point. Married to the Chief of Police, Annie should feel safe - William can be secretive, but surely whatever he's hiding is for her own good. But Annie is keeping her own secrets. Ten years ago the man she loved was ripped from her life in a scandal that still haunts the both of them, and his return has led her to put everything she has at risk...An atmospheric and suspenseful novel you'll find impossible to put down, from the talented Richard & Judy bestseller.

Other books by Louise Douglas

The Secret by the Lake

The Secret by the Lake

Author: Louise Douglas Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/11/2015

A FAMILY TRAGEDY When a tragedy forces the family Amy works for as a nanny to retreat to a small lakeside cottage, she realises she cannot leave them now. A SISTER'S SECRET But Amy finds something unsettling about the cottage by the lake. This is where the children's mother spent her childhood - and the place where her sister disappeared mysteriously at just seventeen. A WEB OF LIES Soon Amy becomes tangled in the missing sister's story as dark truths begin rising to the surface. But can Amy unlock the secrets of the past before they repeat themselves? Your favourite authors love Louise Douglas . . . 'Crackles with repressed longing . . . the explosive ending took my breath away' C.L. TAYLOR, author of THE ACCIDENT and THE LIE

In Her Shadow

In Her Shadow

Author: Louise Douglas Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/07/2013

What would you do if your past came back to haunt you? A dark, thrilling story for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop From the author of THE SECRETS BETWEEN US, part of the 2012 Richard and Judy Summer Reads, comes this mesmerising novel that is perfect for your book group. Hannah Brown never thought she'd have a best friend like Ellen Brecht. Ellen is everything she isn't - beautiful, daring, glamorous and fierce. Growing up together in rural Cornwall, life seems perfect. But their idyllic childhood is shattered by obsession, betrayal and, ultimately, tragedy. Hannah has tried for twenty years to forget what happened during that terrible summer. Then, one ordinary morning at work, she glimpses a woman who is identical to Ellen. Can it really be her? And has Ellen returned to forgive her - or to punish her?

The Love of My Life

The Love of My Life

Author: Louise Douglas Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/01/2009

`I miss him with every breath and heartbeat. He should have been my happy ending. Instead, he is the sad beginning to my story.' Olivia and Luca Felicone had known each other nearly all their lives, but when they fell in love as teenagers and eloped to London, they broke the hearts of those closest to them. Luca's parents run Marinella's restaurant, the colourful hub of life in the otherwise bleak north-eastern seaside town of Watersford, and his mother, Angela, has never forgiven Olivia for causing such a rift in her beloved family. On a freezing January night Olivia's life is shattered when she learns that Luca has been killed in a car accident on the M1. She is left with nothing, and after suffering from weeks of overwhelming grief, she abandons her job and returns North to where Luca has been buried in Watersford, just to be close to him - even though she knows she will not be welcome at Marinella's. Olivia's chance meeting with Luca's married twin brother, Marc, leads to the realization that he is experiencing a loss almost as painful as her own. Their desolation draws them into an affair which both know has no future, but fills the space where Luca should be. It is a course of action that can only spiral out of control, and when it does, the consequences are both explosive and cruel. The Love of My Life by Louise Douglas is a beautiful novel that portrays both the innocence of childhood, and the dynamics of love and loss with deftness and sensitivity. It is, above all, a stunning debut from an author with a unique and natural narrative voice.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.louisedouglas.co.uk/index.html

Author's Facebook

Find Louise Douglas on Facebook